We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Gervis Road, Bournemouth BH1 3EQ, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 22% off stays!
Ranked #12 of 70 Hotels in Bournemouth
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Lovely staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights on business this week. It's a homey hotel about 15 minutes walk away from the beach.

The rooms are fine and have everything you need including a hair dryer, toiletries and tea/coffee but could do with a bit of updating.

The breakfast was delicious with a great selection of cereals, fruit and fried items.

The staff were so helpful and friendly and couldn't do enough to help you.

For the price, this hotel is a great option if staying in Bournemouth.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thehotelroyale, Owner at BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
KellyE
What a superb title - thank you from all the staff - who incidentally think all our customers are lovely too!! I really appreciate your taking the time to review us with such kind words. I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.
Kind regards
Michael Katzler
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

827 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    391
    276
    93
    44
    23
See reviews for
207
274
43
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Organising our annual trip down to Tankfest at the Bovington Tank museum, this hotel caught our eye because of the great reviews it had received. Taking these on-board, we booked two rooms for three nights arriving Friday June 27th 2014 (room numbers 125 and 126).

Until we arrived, we didn't realise there are a number of chalet type units built in a line around the edge of the car park at the rear of the hotel. Some are one storey and some are two. Rather than being allocated rooms in the main hotel, we were given two of these upper floor chalet rooms. It only takes a minute to walk from these rooms to the hotel front entrance so the distance is no big deal even in the rain. At first we were a little unsure as to what they were going to be like but we ended up being very pleasantly surprised. Both rooms shared a private outside entrance door and a short, fairly steep, stair case. The actual room doors were at the top of the landing, one either side.

Both rooms were generously large and tastefully decorated giving them a classy feeling. There were lots of windows to the rooms on the car park side and these were certainly needed. The one criticism of the rooms was that they got quite hot and it was necessary to leave the windows open overnight to cool them down. The hotel management must have recognised this issue as each room contains a large floor standing fan which proved to be invaluable. With the windows open, we only had a problem with outside noise on one occasion when a couple of drunken residents in a neighbouring chalet woke us at 4am one morning as they returned after a night out. On the window side, each room had it's own lockable internal door which joined the two rooms together by a short connecting passage over the stairs. Having a door at each end was a nice touch as it adds to the soundproofing.

There were some creaky floorboards in the rooms which made a noise at the slightest touch. This didn't pose us a problem but we wondered whether the occupants of the downstairs rooms were getting a bit annoyed with them. A good reason for insisting on an upper floor room.

During our stay the staircase walls were repainted whilst we were out. Having said that, when we first walked in I can't recall that they looked in desperate need of redecoration.

Looking through previous reviews we could find very little information about the parking at the hotel so here's what we thought. There are parking areas at the front of the hotel, on the left hand side and at the rear. There's an automatic barrier which goes up when you drive into the hotel but you'll need to key in a pass code to raise the exit barrier on the way out. Parking costs £2 per night. Some parking spaces are end to end ones whilst others are in a row. A few of them are a bit narrow but most are ok. Unlike other nearby hotels there look to be an adequate number of spaces (even when the hotel is full) and we always found a space. Down the road, some of the hotels we walked past really do have parking issues. Although their car parks might have been bigger, at times they were absolutely jam packed with some cars blocking the driving lanes. However we had no complaints about the parking at this hotel.

The inside of the main hotel was again tastefully decorated and had a classy feel to it. The breakfast room was nicely furnished and was a really nice environment to eat in. There was a good help yourself breakfast selection including a cooked a breakfast.

I can't remember a hotel where the staff have all been so nice and polite without exception. The reception staff were lovely as were the staff in the breakfast area. At the previous hotel we stayed at you could see that there been a drive by the hotel management to introduce good customer service which felt a bit gimmicky. Here it was absolutely effortless making it feel all the more sincere.

The hotel it located down a wide quiet leafy road and it's only a 3-4 minute walk to the seafront. You're quite high up the cliff so you need to walk down steps to the lower promenade and beach. Bournemouth pier is a short 8-10 minute stroll away. It's downhill on the way there but uphill on the way back. There's a large Harry Ramsden's fish restaurant on the hotel side of the pier overlooking the beach.

Going in the other direction, the walk to Boscombe pier is very pleasant.

Room Tip: If you go for an outside chalet, get an upper floor one to avoid the sounds of creaking floor boards...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thehotelroyale, Owner at BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Krizz00
What an amazing review! Thank you so much for taking the trouble to write such a glowing report on the hotel, the staff especially and the area. I am sure it will prove to be of great use to other prospective visitors. I can't tell you how much we appreciate your comments and opinions - thank you! and please do come and visit us again
Kind regards
Michael Katzler
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Just spent 2 nights in this hotel. My husband and I were very pleased. Staff were great, nothing too much trouble. We stayed in a family room at the back next to the car park. Not actualy in the hotel, but still nice. Very clean indeed, and I am very fussy..... breakfast was also great, overall great place.

Room Tip: Flats on side of hotel nice and quiet
See more room tips
Green Features: Stickers about reusing towels very helpful, not real sure what other environment al factors hotel did have.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thehotelroyale, Owner at BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Sharon J
Thank you for the most complimentary review and I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are very proud of the staff's, and customers efforts in environmental issues and we have a Gold rating for this from Green Tourism. Please come and stay with us again
Kind regards
Michael Katzler
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Excellent Hotel providing easy access and parking (Charged). The facilities in the lounge dining, and bedrooms are in line with Best Western standards. The location of the hotel is suitable for the town and beaches. Major local bus routes are a 5min walk.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thehotelroyale, Owner at BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
PatriciaS
Thank you for the complimentary review of the hotel. I was delighted to read that all was to your satisfaction during your stay and I do hope that will chose us again when next in the area.
Kind regards
Michael Katzler
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

we got a room in the newer out building section that was clean and modern with a hint of luxury, great price fantastic food dinner and breakfast. Also to our surprise was a indoor swimming pool. staff are very friendly and could not do enough to help. Made my wifes birthday a great one.

Room Tip: Go for the chalets outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thehotelroyale, Owner at BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Matt-Teresa-Chilton
Thank you so much for the lovely review which was really appreciated by all the staff at the hotel. I was delighted you enjoyed your stay and that your wife had a good birthday in Bournemouth.
Kind regards
Michael Katzler
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We stayed in the BW Royale Bournemouth as a last minute solution to a book out with another hotel. I was recommended by a friend and took the booking as I was desperate after being let down.
I was pleasently surprised when we arrived to be greeted by an efficient and welcoming reception with easy car parking and a clean and tidy bedroom. Room was slightly on the small side but it was perfect for what we needed. A gift for my boyfriend was left which was a lovely gesture. The pool and leisure facilities were great and the hotel is perfectly situated to the beach front and offer a beautiful scenic work down to Bournemouth pier and shopping centre.

Breakfast was delicious and the staff are fantastic especially the breakfast duty manager on Saturday 5th and 6th, he was so welcoming and funny, was a wonderful atomsphere for the morning.

We throughully enjoyed our stay in this hidden gem of Bournemouth- highly recommended!

Room Tip: Ask maybe for a larger room if you are staying for more than 1 night. We struggled with space in a f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thehotelroyale, Owner at BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Kim P
Thank you for the lovely review and I was pleased that you chose us after your let down by another hotel! Thank you for the most positive feedback which is always a great tonic for the team who work so hard at this time of the year.
Kind regards


Michael Katzler
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale

Address: 16 Gervis Road, Bournemouth BH1 3EQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#11 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The privately owned Best Western Hotel Royale is situated on Bournemouth's exclusive and tranquil picturesque East Cliff. All 64 bedrooms - including eight spacious Studio family rooms - have been designed with comfort and relaxation in mind. The modern leisure club boasts a large and airy indoor swimming pool. Adjoining the leisure club are the hotel's beautiful sheltered gardens, ideal for soaking up the Bournemouth sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Royale
Best Western Bournemouth
Bournemouth Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.