We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently good.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Gervis Road, Bournemouth BH1 3EQ, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 71 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
corby
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Consistently good.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

My wife and I have stayed here three times and we've never been disappointed. Excellent staff-very friendly without familiarity. The food and restaurant are also good and from what I recall the pool is first class. Room 200 we stayed in, no complaints at all.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thehotelroyale, Owner at BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Bertthefish
Thank you so very much for the most complimentary review - it means a great deal to all of the staff here to be appreciated so much. It is especially rewarding when a Top Contributor with 128 reviews published says such nice things about us - thank you!
We hope you will visit us again soon

Kind regards

Michael Katzler
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

942 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    447
    317
    106
    48
    24
See reviews for
234
314
45
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Devizes
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

A family birthday celebration held at the Best Western Hotel Royale in Bournemouth went without a hitch. Excellent food in pleasant surroundings served by happy, helpful staff made for a memorable occasion. Even though a larger function was being held in another part of the hotel, we were made to feel welcome and important. We will be using this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thehotelroyale, Owner at BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Maxwell P
I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your birthday celebration with us and that all the arrangements were excellent. Thank you for taking the trouble to write the review it means a tremendous ammount to all the staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel hopefully in the near future.

Kind regards

Michael Katzler
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackwood, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Spent 2 nights at hotel with my husband and 8 year old daughter, hotel very good, staff very welcoming, breakfast delicious, and my daughter loved having the pool all to herself! Visited Christmas market and ice skating rink really lovely family break.
Apart from the noise we experienced on the Friday night from guests in the room beneath ours, until 1am in the morning when I contacted night porter, the noise did become less but did not stop completely until 2am, fortunately my daughter slept through but it left myself and my husband considerably weary for the next days outings!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thehotelroyale, Owner at BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
SimoenB
Thank you for the most complimentary review and I was delighted to read that you enjoyed the hotel and the attractions in Bournemouth. I am really sorry about the inconsiderate guests - some people can be so selfish and I do apologise for their noise and your subsequent disturbance. I do hope that you will come visit us again and I shall ensure that you are allocated a room away from any potential noisy revellers!
Kind regards

Michael Katzler
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

It was our first trip away with our 2 young boys and we were slightly worried about how the stay would be.
We were welcomed by Alan Gilmour who looked after us so well for our whole stay and made sure we had everything we needed.
The location was perfect, 2 mins from the beach and a short walk in to town, but the hotel pool and gardens meant we didn't really have to go any where.
The food was great, and the chef was very accommodating to our young son who has lots of allergies, a special thank you to Deili who looked after us at breakfast.
We cant wait to come back again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thehotelroyale, Owner at BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Joanne f
What can I say! A huge thank you for such a wonderful review which was really appreciated by all the staff. I can't stress enough how much we value the compliments and how much the staff really appreciate it when happy guests write about their experiences. So sincere thanks from all the team. We look forward to welcoming you back - hopefully soon!
Kind regards

Michael Katzler
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Clean nice hotel room. Staff really friendly even when we'd done our booking incorrectly they were happy to change it. The bed was comfy and room had a tv. Close to the bars and restaurants only a short walk. Very good value for money, only let down was quite noisy in the morning

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thehotelroyale, Owner at BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
BethP 123
Thank you for taking the trouble to write such a nice review. The staff were very happy that you enjoyed the stay with us and all arrangements were sorted out to your satisfaction. We do really appreciate the kind words in your review and do hope that you will visit us again

Kind regards

Michael Katzler
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Well it was time for our annual visit to the Hotel Royale (Bournemouth). As usual we were greeted with the same warm reception from the staff on duty at the time.

I would like to think that we're more like "old friends" now rather than guests, as we have been visiting this hotel for a number of years now.

We dined at the hotel every night and the menu and food was excellent, as usual, as was the bar after the meal(s)

ALL the staff were very friendly, so no change there then (LOL) I've added some staff photo's, but I have purposely NOT added their names.

All in all I can not recommend the Hotel Royale (and its staff) highly enough, roll on to our next visit.

Room Tip: The front rooms have a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thehotelroyale, Owner at BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
BigalW35
Thanks so much for the superb review and the photos which really cheered up all the staff! We loved having you to stay and look forward to welcoming you back again. Thank you for taking so much trouble to sing our praises we all appreciate very much the time and effort it takes so thank you! We all look forward to your next visit.
Kind regards

Michael Katzler
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale

Address: 16 Gervis Road, Bournemouth BH1 3EQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#13 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The privately owned Best Western Hotel Royale is situated on Bournemouth's exclusive and tranquil picturesque East Cliff. All 64 bedrooms - including eight spacious Studio family rooms - have been designed with comfort and relaxation in mind. The modern leisure club boasts a large and airy indoor swimming pool. Adjoining the leisure club are the hotel's beautiful sheltered gardens, ideal for soaking up the Bournemouth sun. At The BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale we are very conscious that the actions of each and every one of us may have an impact on the environment. This is the belief that everyone at the hotel works with each and every day to ensure we're doing our bit to help build a sustainable future. To this end we currently hold a Prestigious Gold Award in the Green Tourism Business Scheme of which we are extremely proud. The hotel has a Green Committee who meet regularly to ensure that the Green Policy and Green Aims are not only followed, but are constantly updated to ensure that our commitment to the environment and the principles and standards we set are at the forefront of our decision making. All staff at the hotel are required to comply with our policies and are trained accordingly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Royale
Best Western Bournemouth
Bournemouth Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.