We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"The rise of the Connaught Hotel"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30 West Hill Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5PH, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Ranked #1 of 71 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Polegate
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“"The rise of the Connaught Hotel"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I have been visiting the "Connaught" on both business and pleasure since Mr David Miller, the present proprietor took over 9 years ago.
This is the first time I have been able to visit since the "Connaught" was awarded it's four star status.
Mr Miller has continued with improvements and the hotel justly deserves its four star status.
On this occasion I had my wife, daughter and son-in-law with me and we made full use of all the Spa facilities, both my wife and daughter had massages which they thoroughly enjoyed.
We also ate in the double rosette awarded "Blakes Resteaunt" which was absolutely fabulous and not expensive for such a fine dining experience.
Last but not least all the staff had smiles on their faces at all times and seemed to be really enjoying their jobs, nothing was too much trouble it would appear that The proprietor has enabled and trained the staff to treat guests as he would wish to be treated if he was a guest.
A special thanks to the Maitre d' Nikki who as always was very attentive to all our needs.
We can't wait to make a return visit.

Room Tip: All the ones that I have stayed in were excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,745 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,163
    403
    115
    42
    22
See reviews for
253
896
76
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Eating as a guest of Swiss friends staying at the hotel, I enjoyed the close attention to service as well as the fine cuisine offered: beautifully presented on the plate, home baked fresh bread, excellent wine, and a cheese board of Dorset cheeses to die for. We have eaten in the hotel restaurant several times before, and have never been disappointed. An all together comfortable and warming dinner experience in a traditional but cosy environment. This place is a real gem in Bournemouth.

Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I had the pleasure of staying here this week, and I mean pleasure. Not only did the hotel represent fantastic value for money but the service from every single member of the team. The room was fabulous (I stayed in the lodge 209) fab shower and comfy bed in a big room. The spa centre is well maintained but the stars are the team. Dinner was a steak cooked just as I like it and breakfast was a good buffet choice with great sausages. The only slight downer was the location. There is a good amount of building going on around the hotel but I must emphasise there was no late night or early morning noise.

Room Tip: The lodge is slightly annexed and you have to walk out side to get to the main part of the Hotel but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herts
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed at The Connaught in February as part of a 'Hen Weekend'...this beautiful hotel is very welcoming, the bar is well stocked, once the Lanson Rose was served, a cloth placed, and every time we emptied our glass (even with a very busy bar), the glass was replenished. I like good service!! The breakfast was plentiful and piping hot, and lots of choice for vegans.

The staff were lovely, so helpful and friends to the 30 or so women with which they were dealing.

The room I had was a king size bed, No32 I think? Beautifully clean, lovely corner bath and walk in shower. The bed very comfortable, mini bar, and a nice desk area and closet. I would happily book to stay in this hotel again. Everything about it, even the location, was great for the town and our 'nights out'....thank you Connaught for a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: One of the new rooms, really nicely dec'd out
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, yesterday
Thank you so much Paws for your "Perfect" review - delighted you all enjoyed your weekend with us.

Best wishes and thank you for choosing to stay with us.

David F Miller
Managing Director

Executive rooms booked direct with the hotel are now guaranteed their own, personal parking space!! Book direct - 01202 298020 - we guarantee the lowest prices and it ensures you get the room and the bath or shower that you want. Our standard rooms average 135 sq ft., superiors with a balcony 155 sq ft, superiors without 175 sq ft and Executives 210 sq ft.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

we chose to eat in blakes restaurant within the hotel.. what a good choice the food was lovely and service was fantastic... it even prompted me to order a good vintage bottle of champange... we retired to the lounge for a drink after and the bar staff were great... i will return soon....

Room Tip: room 40 one of the suites... the rose suite.. nice big room... seperate tv and lounge area.. and sep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, yesterday
Really pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us in the Rose Suite Julie and that you had a chance to sample the delights of our award-winning restaurant, Blakes. Thank you very much for your lovely review.

Best wishes and thank you for choosing to stay with us.

David F Miller
Managing Director

Executive rooms booked direct with the hotel are now guaranteed their own, personal parking space!! Book direct - 01202 298020 - we guarantee the lowest prices and it ensures you get the room and the bath or shower that you want. Our standard rooms average 135 sq ft., superiors with a balcony 155 sq ft, superiors without 175 sq ft and Executives 210 sq ft.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbury England
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

When in Bournemouth there are many 4* Hotels to choose from and most are on a par with each other so what makes one better than another ? It comes down to what you want from your stay. It is easy to nit pick at this level due to what you expect at this cost The Connaught ticks most of the boxes it is comfortable the food is very good both for an evening meal and breakfast the negative areas for us were a small bedroom on the side of the hotel with a kitchen outlet pipe just along side the window and the bread toast served at breakfast which is like rubber They bake superior bread served in Blakes restaurant in the evening so it would not take a lot to provide it at breakfast

Room Tip: Not over the kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, yesterday
Your point about the toast/bread Saxony is well made and is being re-examined, thank you and thank you very much for your very kind review. Please see below our room sizes for future reference.

Best wishes and thank you for choosing to stay with us.

David F Miller
Managing Director

Executive rooms booked direct with the hotel are now guaranteed their own, personal parking space!! Book direct - 01202 298020 - we guarantee the lowest prices and it ensures you get the room and the bath or shower that you want. Our standard rooms average 135 sq ft., superiors with a balcony 155 sq ft, superiors without 175 sq ft and Executives 210 sq ft.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This was our third stay in a year which perhaps gives a indication of our opinion of this hotel. We stayed in early March and although the weather was not brilliant, the accommodation, food and staff were all up to their usual very high standards that we have come to enjoy.

Our room was excellent with a very high level of room service both in terms of food delivery and housekeeping.

Cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Thank you so very much for you most generous review Alan and Karen, delighted everything was as expected!!

Best wishes and thank you for choosing to stay with us again.

David F Miller
Managing Director

Executive rooms booked direct with the hotel are now guaranteed their own, personal parking space!! Book direct - 01202 298020 - we guarantee the lowest prices and it ensures you get the room and the bath or shower that you want. Our standard rooms average 135 sq ft., superiors with a balcony 155 sq ft, superiors without 175 sq ft and Executives 210 sq ft.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel

Address: 30 West Hill Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5PH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#1 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#1 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This AA 4 star BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel is Trip Advisor's No 1 Bournemouth Hotel with a magnificent spa, an award-winning double rosette restaurant and 54 beautifully decorated en-suite bedrooms, including 3 junior suites, 6 executive rooms, superior, standard and single rooms, some with their own private balcony or terrace. The hotel is centrally located on the West Cliff and is less than 500m to the town centre, with all its bars, clubs and restaurants, the BIC, Pavilion Theatre, pier and beaches. Free WiFi, Free Parking and Free Membership of the Spa and Leisure Club await you. The Bluewater Spa offers 2 gymnasiums, an 18m swimming pool and spa pool, a luxurious, fully tiled eucalyptus steam room, a superb sauna and a beauty and 3 massage therapy suites, to include a double. After a relaxing day in the Spa enjoy a fine dinner and top class wine in our award-winning, double rosette restaurant, Blakes, where Nick Rutigliano, the Maitre d', and his team will serve you with superb food, freshly prepared by Ben Nicol, the Head Chef. The hotel was again awarded the highly coveted Silver Shield in 2013 by Green Tourism for Business for its contribution to the environment and local community. Trip Advisor has once again awarded the 2014 Certificate of Excellence to the Hotel, the Spa and to Blakes Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bournemouth
Bournemouth Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.