We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service at its best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30 West Hill Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5PH, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 76 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

1,996 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,320
    483
    129
    42
    22
See reviews for
279
1,053
91
203
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (503)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

You can't fault the public areas of the hotel, clean and beatiful. The Bar, pool and Blake's restaurant are lovely and the staff are lovely and so helpful! Although the majority (not all) of the reception staff were rude, unhelpful and unapproachable, the rooms were not upto a £170 per night standard at all! The only reason we chose this hotel was because we wanted a jacuzzi in our room which didn't work and then didn't work properly! The unhelpful duty manager gave us £30 off our just under £700 bill! Not acceptable. The beds sloped hugely. But to end on a good point, there was a guy who worked there called Dennis and he was absolutely amazing!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Apologies for the unhelpfulness of our receptionist SuSu - if you drop me a line with more detail and in particular about the bed, which is brand new, I will investigate. Room 37 is an executive room with a Jacuzzi and the £30 reduction is based on the fact it is charged at the Executive room rate plus £10 per night for the Jacuzzi bathroom - the bath is newly installed and the power pack has failed, my sincere apologies.

Best wishes and I look forward to hearing from you.

David F Miller
Managing Director

More and more guests are now booking direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and in particular the bath or shower that you want - don't leave it to chance call now!! As a guide our standard rooms average 135 sq ft., superior rooms with a balcony 155 sq ft. superiors without a balcony 175 sq ft and executives 215 sq ft
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

I have to say i was expecting a better overall experience that I got. Lets start with the positives: very friendly staff, helpful and always approachable. The breakfast was also brilliant and the spa facitilities, including the swimming pool was great.

What was disappoiniting was the room, though stated 'superior; it didnt feel like it. When checking in, I was asked what paper I would like in the mornings. Now having stayed at many 4* star hotels before, i didnt think to ask if it was part of the deal (paying £140+ per night, you'd think it was but it wasnt) so when checking out I received the bill for the papers. I explained that it was not made clear that I would have to pay. Though the lady on reception was very nice, it was clear that she couldnt do anything, Don't get me wrong, I like paying my way, just wish it had been made clear when i checked in that i would have to pay.

The hotel is lovely, and when you walk in you can see a lot of attention has been paid to decor etc. The rooms for me to be a bit better.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Sounds as though you enjoyed your stay overall Prit and thank you for your review. Superior for us is about size and these rooms, without a balcony, are on average 40 sq ft larger than our standard rooms. Apologies about the newspapers - not something I have come across before but I will check it out.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

More and more guests are now booking direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and in particular the bath or shower that you want - don't leave it to chance call now!! As a guide our standard rooms average 135 sq ft., superior rooms with a balcony 155 sq ft. superiors without a balcony 175 sq ft and executives 215 sq ft
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Which 4 star hotel chain or franchise does not have air conditioning?
Even the Premier Inn has ac. This hotel compensated no ac by providing electric desk fans given its 24-25 degrees outside.

This hotel strategically markets its product/service, they should make clear there is no air conditioning rather than surprising the customer. Checked in late evening in room 35 which backs onto the patio where noise occurs. The heat, noise, no ac and long journey made the sleep not so comfortable.

Stayed one night, paid good money to book a SUPERIOR room with double bed but allocated room 35, yes it was a double bed that fits into a standard double room. Having stayed at the likes of Hilton, Marriott, various Accor brands like Sofitel and comparably the Novotel, I know what a superior double room size looks like. Disappointed from the outset.

Other negatives for this 4 star:
No bathrobe,
no slippers,
lack of towels (had to call for these),
hot tub button not functioning properly (had to call for Ms P at the desk),
no swimming costume drainer/spinner (see pictures),
broken lockers in men's changing room (see pictures),
bathroom shower opens onto the WC (flawed design, see pictures),
charge for newspaper (waived off at check out),
breakfast was included (but charged, re-adjusted at check out)
gym spa men's shower was nicer than bedroom shower! - see pic

Positives:
Swift, polite,helpful and friendly customer service in regards to towels etc.
Delicious breakfast, including fresh hot toast, swift preparation of the vegetarian sausage and generous large pot of tea,
pool and hot tub (once working) were amazing- partially compensate for the no ac and superior room let down.
complimentary glass of wine.
Clean hotel and rooms, charming decorations and furniture, immaculate communal areas.

The above was conveyed over the phone shortly after check in and on check out.

In all, only if the ac installed, I would return and only then I would my rating to 4 star, but based on this visit, its a 3 or 3.5.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Thank you for your review Paul and I was truly sorry to read of your disappointment. Overall it seems the lack of A/C was a big problem for you and I am sorry but less than 10% of the hotels in Bournemouth have this facility - mainly due to the age of the buildings as is the case with us (1851). The chains that you mentioned are nearly all new build where the installation of A/C takes the place of the old style central heating. The description of our rooms (standard and superior is one of size and nothing else, as we state on our website and very clearly also after every review on TripAdvisor - standard rooms average 135 sq ft and superiors 175 sq ft. Bathrobes are available on request as per all Best Western Plus hotels and are automatically supplied in our executive rooms and suites. I have asked our GM to contact you to discuss your problems in more detail.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

More and more guests are now booking direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and in particular the bath or shower that you want - don't leave it to chance call now!! As a guide our standard rooms average 135 sq ft., superior rooms with a balcony 155 sq ft. superiors without a balcony 175 sq ft and executives 215 sq ft
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Recently stopped for 5 nights, having stopped 2 years ago after a major operation,this time I could enjoy the swimming bath which was good, all the staff were very friendly and worked hard to make the stay enjoyable.
Issue around the room - Twin with a small balcony, not really big enough for 2 Adults, and certainly no storage space apart from a wardrobe and a couple of drawers probably big enough for 1 Adult and 1 Child.
Restaurant - if you love fish you will enjoy the evening menu, only 1 dish change each day, slightly disappointing choice, but food was well cooked and presented, don't agree that on tariff paid you should pay extra for rib steak and especially the cheese

Room Tip: If you are on the 3rd Floor choose number 53 or 54 more space, if 1 +1 child then 45 would be big en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Andrew,

Firstly thank you very much for your review and I have asked our general manager to call you to discuss in detail. For the sake of good order however R45 - your room - measures approximately 164 sq ft., rooms 54 and 53 both measure 160 sq ft. As you will note on TripAdvisor we advise guests after every review that the average Balcony room measures 155 sq ft so your room is in fact 10 sq ft larger than that publicised!! The rate for dinner in our double rosette restaurant is just £27 - £6 for starters, £15 for a main course, including vegetables and £6 for pudding, all inclusive of service. The rib-eye steak is of the finest quality and the cheeses offer you up to 4 different types for your enjoyment - neither are available in a restaurant of similar standing at £15 and £6 respectively hence the small extra charge - delighted however that you enjoyed what we had to offer. I hope you have made a good recovery after your major operation.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

More and more guests are now booking direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and in particular the bath or shower that you want - don't leave it to chance call now!! As a guide our standard rooms average 135 sq ft., superior rooms with a balcony 155 sq ft. superiors without a balcony 175 sq ft and executives 215 sq ft
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tring, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

The good....
Nice reception with good receptionist.
Friendly staff were always happy, friendly and polite.
Balcony with patio doors meant we had a nice, light room.
Free car parking.
Five minutes walk to the cliff, five more to get down to the lovely beach

The not so good...
No air conditioning meant that the room was hot, even with a fan.
Breakfast was okay, but nowhere near the best hotel breakfast we've had.
The electric razor socket didn't work in our room, though it was fixed after a day or so.
The bed sloped on my wife's side, so her sleep wasn't as good as it could have been.
The bathroom was small and the door made it awkward for us to both be in it at the same time.

Room Tip: We had room 44. Would definitely recommend upgrading to the 3rd floor and getting a room with a balc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Many thanks for your review Marc but this is the warmest time of the year and in common with most Bournemouth hotels I'm afraid that we don't have A/C. Delighted you liked your balcony room 44 which, coincidentally, is the same size as R45 mentioned in the review that follows yours. Being a town house hotel the available space is given over to the bedrooms so our bathrooms in general are not big; I have asked housekeeping to look at the bed - apologies for that!!

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

More and more guests are now booking direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and in particular the bath or shower that you want - don't leave it to chance call now!! As a guide our standard rooms average 135 sq ft., superior rooms with a balcony 155 sq ft. superiors without a balcony 175 sq ft and executives 215 sq ft
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Great hotel, ideal location, very chilled and relaxed vibe. There wasn't anything I could fault with the hotel, really impressed. Gym and leisure facilities were fantastic, very clean and a great pool. Room was fantastic, perfect size for the two of us. Will be back for another weekend.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
A great 5 star review Jack, glad you enjoyed our hotel so much - thank you.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

More and more guests are now booking direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and in particular the bath or shower that you want - don't leave it to chance call now!! As a guide our standard rooms average 135 sq ft., superior rooms with a balcony 155 sq ft. superiors without a balcony 175 sq ft and executives 215 sq ft
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#8 of 76 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 stars 2,403 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Bournemouth Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
1.0 mi away
Menzies East Cliff Court Bournemouth
0.8 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#4 of 76 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 stars 577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel

Address: 30 West Hill Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5PH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#1 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#1 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This AA 4 star BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel is Trip Advisor's No 1 Bournemouth Hotel with a magnificent spa, an award-winning double rosette restaurant and 54 beautifully decorated en-suite bedrooms, including 3 junior suites, 6 executive rooms, superior, standard and single rooms, some with their own private balcony or terrace. The hotel is centrally located on the West Cliff and is less than 500m to the town centre, with all its bars, clubs and restaurants, the BIC, Pavilion Theatre, pier and beaches. Free WiFi, Free Parking and Free Membership of the Spa and Leisure Club await you. The Bluewater Spa offers 2 gymnasiums, an 18m swimming pool and spa pool, a luxurious, fully tiled eucalyptus steam room, a superb sauna and a beauty and 3 massage therapy suites, to include a double. After a relaxing day in the Spa enjoy a fine dinner and top class wine in our award-winning, double rosette restaurant, Blakes, where Nick Rutigliano, the Maitre d', and his team will serve you with superb food, freshly prepared by Ben Nicol, the Head Chef. The hotel was again awarded the highly coveted Silver Shield in 2013 by Green Tourism for Business for its contribution to the environment and local community. Trip Advisor has once again awarded the 2014 Certificate of Excellence to the Hotel, the Spa and to Blakes Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bournemouth
Bournemouth Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.