We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but not that good.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30 West Hill Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5PH, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 71 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Tring, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good, but not that good.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

The good....
Nice reception with good receptionist.
Friendly staff were always happy, friendly and polite.
Balcony with patio doors meant we had a nice, light room.
Free car parking.
Five minutes walk to the cliff, five more to get down to the lovely beach

The not so good...
No air conditioning meant that the room was hot, even with a fan.
Breakfast was okay, but nowhere near the best hotel breakfast we've had.
The electric razor socket didn't work in our room, though it was fixed after a day or so.
The bed sloped on my wife's side, so her sleep wasn't as good as it could have been.
The bathroom was small and the door made it awkward for us to both be in it at the same time.

Room Tip: We had room 44. Would definitely recommend upgrading to the 3rd floor and getting a room with a balc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Many thanks for your review Marc but this is the warmest time of the year and in common with most Bournemouth hotels I'm afraid that we don't have A/C. Delighted you liked your balcony room 44 which, coincidentally, is the same size as R45 mentioned in the review that follows yours. Being a town house hotel the available space is given over to the bedrooms so our bathrooms in general are not big; I have asked housekeeping to look at the bed - apologies for that!!

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

More and more guests are now booking direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and in particular the bath or shower that you want - don't leave it to chance call now!! As a guide our standard rooms average 135 sq ft., superior rooms with a balcony 155 sq ft. superiors without a balcony 175 sq ft and executives 215 sq ft
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,905 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,263
    456
    122
    42
    22
See reviews for
269
996
82
197
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (474)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Great hotel, ideal location, very chilled and relaxed vibe. There wasn't anything I could fault with the hotel, really impressed. Gym and leisure facilities were fantastic, very clean and a great pool. Room was fantastic, perfect size for the two of us. Will be back for another weekend.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
A great 5 star review Jack, glad you enjoyed our hotel so much - thank you.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

More and more guests are now booking direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and in particular the bath or shower that you want - don't leave it to chance call now!! As a guide our standard rooms average 135 sq ft., superior rooms with a balcony 155 sq ft. superiors without a balcony 175 sq ft and executives 215 sq ft
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinderford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

The Hotel was excellent, from check in to check out! Nothing was too much trouble, for any request made. Blakes Restaurant is a must, as the food and service is excellent and ran very professionally by Nicky and Elkin (Mush). The breakfast has a great selection of hot and cold food and again we can'not fault the service. The room was very comfortable and clean, also nicely decorated but air conditioning would have been nice as it was an exceptionally hot weekend.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Many thanks for your super review Bradskis and delighted your anniversary treat was such a success. Hope to see you both again soon.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

More and more guests are now booking direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and in particular the bath or shower that you want - don't leave it to chance call now!! As a guide our standard rooms average 135 sq ft., superior rooms with a balcony 155 sq ft. superiors without a balcony 175 sq ft and executives 215 sq ft
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay, Ontario
Level Contributor
121 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Stayed 1 night on top floor with balcony. It was hot and there us no AC in this hotel so was too hot. Our view was okay looking over the lodge and outside dining, nothing special. No table on balcony. The room was very clean and was well stocked. It was really to hot to sleep. Instead if a comforter only should have top sheets in summer as well. Food in Brassier was not great just okay. We found a great restaurant Cliff Top just down the road which was fantastic. Walk to beach and town was easy with lift up from beach close by. The staff and service of the hotel deserve 5 stars but no AC and food in Brassier makes it a 4.

Room Tip: Top floor balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you very much Lynz for your most generous review about our staff and the level of service that you received.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

More and more guests are now booking direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and in particular the bath or shower that you want - don't leave it to chance call now!! As a guide our standard rooms average 135 sq ft., superior rooms with a balcony 155 sq ft. superiors without a balcony 175 sq ft and executives 215 sq ft
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Stayed here for business trip. Staff were very welcoming and accommodating. Excellent breakfast and spa facilities, short walk (straight down the road to the beach). Would definitely recommend. The only downside I found was a lack of air con system in my room, which was very hot. However the weather has been exceptionally hot and fans were provided in rooms. Overall would rate highly.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you very much Laura for your 5 star review and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

More and more guests are now booking direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and in particular the bath or shower that you want - don't leave it to chance call now!! As a guide our standard rooms average 135 sq ft., superior rooms with a balcony 155 sq ft. superiors without a balcony 175 sq ft and executives 215 sq ft
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Amazing hotel, service from all staff was exceptionally high, cleanliness 100%, comfy beds, immaculate linen and bathroom. Breakfast is fantastic, plenty of it, always piping hot. Will recommend to all, gym, sauna and beautiful swimming pool and relaxing lounge and bar, it has it all. This hotel made a great holiday, thank you!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
It was our pleasure Englishrose and we hope to see you back very soon. Thank you for your "Superb" review.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

More and more guests are now booking direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and in particular the bath or shower that you want - don't leave it to chance call now!! As a guide our standard rooms average 135 sq ft., superior rooms with a balcony 155 sq ft. superiors without a balcony 175 sq ft and executives 215 sq ft
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Just got back home after staying 3 nights at this excellent hotel. Very impressed with the service we received from all staff. Lovely rooms and breakfast. Although we did not eat in Blakes, the main restaurant, we did eat in the Brasseire, my husband had the beer battered cod and said the batter was so light and cod really fresh. The fajitas were great too! Took advantage of the spa facilties, excellent after being in the sun all day. Really relaxing, just what we needed.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thanks very much Sandra for your lovely review - hopefully you will get a chance next time around to try our award-winning restaurant, Blakes. Enjoy the Summer.


Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

More and more guests are now booking direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and in particular the bath or shower that you want - don't leave it to chance call now!! As a guide our standard rooms average 135 sq ft., superior rooms with a balcony 155 sq ft. superiors without a balcony 175 sq ft and executives 215 sq ft
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel

Address: 30 West Hill Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5PH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#1 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#1 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This AA 4 star BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel is Trip Advisor's No 1 Bournemouth Hotel with a magnificent spa, an award-winning double rosette restaurant and 54 beautifully decorated en-suite bedrooms, including 3 junior suites, 6 executive rooms, superior, standard and single rooms, some with their own private balcony or terrace. The hotel is centrally located on the West Cliff and is less than 500m to the town centre, with all its bars, clubs and restaurants, the BIC, Pavilion Theatre, pier and beaches. Free WiFi, Free Parking and Free Membership of the Spa and Leisure Club await you. The Bluewater Spa offers 2 gymnasiums, an 18m swimming pool and spa pool, a luxurious, fully tiled eucalyptus steam room, a superb sauna and a beauty and 3 massage therapy suites, to include a double. After a relaxing day in the Spa enjoy a fine dinner and top class wine in our award-winning, double rosette restaurant, Blakes, where Nick Rutigliano, the Maitre d', and his team will serve you with superb food, freshly prepared by Ben Nicol, the Head Chef. The hotel was again awarded the highly coveted Silver Shield in 2013 by Green Tourism for Business for its contribution to the environment and local community. Trip Advisor has once again awarded the 2014 Certificate of Excellence to the Hotel, the Spa and to Blakes Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bournemouth
Bournemouth Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.