We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short Break for Concert at the BIC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30 West Hill Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5PH, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 22% off stays!
Ranked #1 of 70 Hotels in Bournemouth
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Short Break for Concert at the BIC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

My partner and I stayed at The Connaught Hotel for two nights last week for a concert we were attending at the BIC. We had an extremely pleasant stay and were very impressed with the quality of the staff - their friendliness, professionalism and their enthusiasm to make sure our stay was enjoyable was without question. If I have just one gripe it would be that the hotel overall was far too hot and this was re-iterated by others present. Air Conditioning would be great. The breakfast was fantastic and set us up for the day. We didn't dine there in the evening though as we felt the menu in Blakes was rather expensive. The Brasserie menu looked more reasonable but we had made other arrangements. Would and have recommended this hotel to my friends.

Marianne, Waterlooville, Portsmouth

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
I hope you enjoyed the concert as much as you did our hotel Marianne, thank you. Blakes is a double rosette restaurant and as the No 1 fine dining restaurant in Bournemouth it is well priced against its peers - try it next time, you won't be disappointed!!

Best wishes and thank you again

David F Miller
Managing Director

More and more guests are now booking direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and in particular the bath or shower that you want – don’t leave it to chance call now!! As a guide our standard rooms average 135 sq ft., superior rooms with a balcony 155 sq ft. superiors without a balcony 175 sq ft and executives 215 sq ft
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    933
    339
    105
    41
    21
See reviews for
220
736
65
151
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Great value for money. Comfortable rooms and great facilities in the spa area. We will definitely consider staying again. The staff were very friendly and professional. Providing an excellent breakfast and service.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Short, sweet and to the point - thank you so much Helnol for you super review and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

More and more guests are now booking direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and in particular the bath or shower that you want – don’t leave it to chance call now!! As a guide our standard rooms average 135 sq ft., superior rooms with a balcony 155 sq ft. superiors without a balcony 175 sq ft and executives 215 sq ft
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Just to say we had read a lot of very good reviews on Trip Advisor so we were looking forward to our visit in July 2014. We were not disappointed, the service, staff and cleanliness you could not fault. So please keep up the good work, and we look forward to returning again in the near future. A. R. Stockley

Room Tip: Our room was lovely but a bit on the dark side in the evening due to it's location, but sunny in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you very much for your "Lovely Relaxing Stay" review Guernsey and we look forward to seeing you again soon.


Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

More and more guests are now booking direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and in particular the bath or shower that you want - don't leave it to chance call now!! As a guide our standard rooms average 135 sq ft., superior rooms with a balcony 155 sq ft. superiors without a balcony 175 sq ft and executives 215 sq ft
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Really loved this hotel, from start to finish cannot fault a single thing. Check in and reception staff friendly and efficient, after a few minutes in our room received a telephone call from reception to ask if everything was ok with our room, I requested an iron and it was brought up immediately. The room and bathroom was spotlessly clean as we're all the public areas. We stayed in a balcony room on the third floor and with the windows open can be a bit noisy, but it didn't bother us. We ate in the Brasserie and the food and service was very good. Breakfast was good, we sat outside in the pretty courtyard. Overall a very pleasant experience, lovely hotel, nicely furnished in all areas, friendly and professional staff, will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
A simply lovely review Chelsea, thank you so much - do come and see us again soon.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

More and more guests are now booking direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and in particular the bath or shower that you want – don’t leave it to chance call now!! As a guide our standard rooms average 135 sq ft., superior rooms with a balcony 155 sq ft. superiors without a balcony 175 sq ft and executives 215 sq ft
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carshalton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

By far the best hotel in Bournemouth. Our room was well appointed with a balcony overlooking the car park and towards the town. The leisure club in the basement was also excellent with a good size pool, hot tub, steam room and sauna. The staff and level of customer service was impeccable and made you feel very welcome. There is a restaurant and also a bar menu. The food was also very good, notably the tapas board and fajitas from the bar menu. Good selection of wine and beer. The buffet breakfast was good; which could be eaten on the terrace / garden on sunny days. The decor was clean and stylish with a touch of class!
The car park was busy, spaces available on a first come, first parked basis.
I have no negative points in this review and look forward to our next stay.

Room Tip: Room 44 was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
And we look forward to seeing you again too Malcom, thank you very much for your super review.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

More and more guests are now booking direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and in particular the bath or shower that you want – don’t leave it to chance call now!! As a guide our standard rooms average 135 sq ft., superior rooms with a balcony 155 sq ft. superiors without a balcony 175 sq ft and executives 215 sq ft
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glastonbury
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Lovely, clean rooms, good facilities, polite and friendly staff. Air conditioning would have made our stay better, although a fan was provided it did little to cool the room (in fairness the weather was very hot during our stay).

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Many thanks for your very generous review ggm and delighted you enjoyed your short break. I'm afraid well over 90% of the hotels in Bournemouth do not have air-conditioning and we are no exception, however fans are provided in all the rooms and they are pretty effective.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

More and more guests are now booking direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and in particular the bath or shower that you want – don’t leave it to chance call now!! As a guide our standard rooms average 135 sq ft., superior rooms with a balcony 155 sq ft. superiors without a balcony 175 sq ft and executives 215 sq ft
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Being a regular visitor to Bournemouth this is my 1st stay at the Connaught, although have stayed at it's 'sister' hotel The Royale. The facilities are excellent with rooms to a good standard, restaurants, bar and leisure facilities also to a high standard. The interior is light and pleasing to the eye and spotlessly clean. The hotel is in an ideal location being close to the beach and town centre and provides free, fast internet.
What made my stay particularly enjoyable was mainly down to the attentive staff; the most attentive I've experienced in my all my travels. They really do make you feel that your valued as a guest. A big thank you to David Miller, Paul, Charlotte, Petra and all the staff; you are certainly worthy of being the 'No1 hotel in Bournemouth' and look forward to seeing you all again in the foreseeable future.

Room Tip: If staying in 'The Lodge' I would recommend a room that is not facing the busy West Cliff Rd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
It was most certainly our pleasure Trevor and I'm delighted everything worked out well for you - I hope to see you again soon and thank you very much for the delightful review.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

More and more guests are now booking direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and in particular the bath or shower that you want – don’t leave it to chance call now!! As a guide our standard rooms average 135 sq ft., superior rooms with a balcony 155 sq ft. superiors without a balcony 175 sq ft and executives 215 sq ft
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel

Address: 30 West Hill Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5PH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This AA 4 star BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel is Trip Advisor's #1 Bournemouth Hotel with a magnificent spa and an award-winning double rosette restaurant. Free WiFi, Free Parking and Free Membership of the Spa and Leisure Club awaits you. Centrally located on the West Cliff, the hotel is less than 500m to the town centre, with all its bars, clubs and restaurants, the BIC, Pavilion Theatre, pier and beaches. The Blue Water Spa and Leisure Club offers 2 gymnasiums, an 18m swimming pool and spa pool, a luxurious, fully tiled eucalyptus steam room, a superb sauna and a beauty and massage therapy suite. After a relaxing day in the Spa enjoy a superb dinner and top class wine in our award-winning, double rosette restaurant, Blakes, where Nick Rutigliano, the Maitre d', and his team will serve you with superb food, freshly prepared by the Head Chef. The hotel was again awarded the highly coveted Silver Shield in 2013 by Green Tourism for Business for its contribution to the environment and local community. The hotel has 56 beautifully decorated en suite bedrooms, including 2 junior suites, 6 executive rooms, superior, standard and single rooms, some with their own private balcony or terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bournemouth
Bournemouth Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;