We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30 West Hill Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5PH, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 22% off stays!
Ranked #1 of 70 hotels in Bournemouth
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Spent my youth having family holidays in and around Bournemouth, so really was magical coming back for the weekend. Check in was swift and done with smiles all round. Our room was simply lovely. We felt right at home. Cleanliness was to a high standard in all areas of the hotel. We spent all of our time out and about as we were very lucky with the weather. However it was a lovely feeling knowing after a tiring day of walking we had a big comfortable bed waiting for us back at the hotel! Full marks all round, already planned to revisit later on this year! Thank you all!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you very much DancingQueen for your truly "Wonderful" review. Glad your trip down memory lane was such a success.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and the facilities that you want and rightly expect. As a guide our standard rooms average 135 sq ft., superior rooms with a balcony 155 sq ft. superiors without a balcony 175 sq ft and executives 215 sq ft.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,419 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    923
    333
    102
    40
    21
See reviews for
218
723
65
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Had a really good stay here. Room and hotel decor nice. Facilities are great-the pool, sauna and steam room are worth a visit. Good quality breakfast. The only small niggle was that staff sometimes disappeared! For example no one around at the pool to get towels from and at the bar we had to wait as staff had gone somewhere. All staff were extremely helpful and friendly, a big plus for a hotel this size.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you for the 5 star review Goomie. Staff do get busy at times but your comments have been passed to them to make them more aware.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and the facilities that you want and rightly expect. As a guide our standard Rooms average 135 sq ft., Superiors with a balcony 155 sq ft. Superiors without a balcony 175 sq ft and executives 215 sq ft.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I have stayed in a few hotels in Bournemouth and this is the nicest one. Very clean and modern but with a classic touch. The bar /lounge was warm and cosy and it has a good gym and pool. Our room was nice - great shower.The breakfast was excellent. All the staff were very welcoming and friendly ,including the cleaners. Very close to town centre, beach etc .

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Simply the best Suzanne, thank you very much for your lovely review and delighted to know just how much you enjoyed your stay.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and the facilities that you want and rightly expect. As a guide our standard Rooms average 135 sq ft., Superiors with a balcony 155 sq ft. Superiors without a balcony 175 sq ft and executives 215 sq ft.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

A very well run modern hotel (a nice change from other Bournemouth hotels we have stayed in). Lovely bar and restaurant area, rooms well furnished - walls a little thin so lots of noise from adjacent rooms. Staff really good - 1st class service and all with a big smile on face. Great value for money, well done Connaught!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you NewburySkyBlue for your "Very Good" review - short, sweet and very much to the point. Hope to see you again soon.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and the facilities that you want and rightly expect. As a guide our standard Rooms average 135 sq ft., Superiors with a balcony 155 sq ft. Superiors without a balcony 175 sq ft and executives 215 sq ft.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We booked the Orchid Suite. A nice room, very tidy and housekeeping was good. All the staff are excellent and very attentive. Unfortunately, on the first night we were woken by people returning drunk to their nearby rooms, once at 1am and again at 4.30am when we had a person repeatedly trying to access our room, (we could hear the keycard being repeatedly being tried in our door). We had booked a table in the restaurant on Saturday night and having dressed for dinner went down to enjoy a drink in the bar. The large bar area was catering for a birthday party and when we went into the small bar a large wide screen TV had been placed in the room and this had been taken over by guests watching the rugby. It was pretty loud and we were not alone in commenting were should we go? This went on until 7.15pm and rather ruined a quiet pre dinner drink. On the plus side the meal was very good. The car park is too small and I and great difficulty getting out as the hotel allow people to double park.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Hi Tony, many thanks for the review and apologies on behalf of the noisy guests - quite a rarity but for peace of mind it is vital to call the night porter to nip this sort of behaviour in the bud. Delighted to read you enjoyed the Orchid Suite and dinner - I have put a stop to the TV being placed in the drawing room when the conservatory is occupied. I hope we have the opportuntiy to look after you again.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and the facilities that you want and rightly expect. As a guide our standard rooms average 135 sq ft., superior rooms with a balcony 155 sq ft. superiors without a balcony 175 sq ft and executives 215 sq ft.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hertfordshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Wife and I stayed between Xmas & new year having booked direct with the hotel. The room we were allocated was tiny & boiling hot. The bathroom was no bigger than a good sized cupboard although room contained the expected sundries. The remote control for TV didn't work & was not fixed despite 2 requests. No one else seems to have noticed the threadbare carpets in communal corridors or the very expensive bar. Breakfast very good and staff (apart from remote control fixer) were excellent.

Room Tip: Some are quite clearly smaller than others
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
The reason no one has "noticed" the carpets Bream-Man is because we posted notices everywhere in the hotel to say that they were being replaced in January - I am delighted to confirm, once again, that the work has been completed and the halls, stairs and landings look wonderful - even if I do say so myself!!!
I have tried to contact you regarding your room but so far without success - please do call me as it helps enormously to get things right for everyone.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and the facilities that you want and rightly expect. As a guide our standard Rooms average 135 sq ft., Superiors with a balcony 155 sq ft. Superiors without a balcony 175 sq ft and executives 215 sq ft.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel

Address: 30 West Hill Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5PH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#1 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#1 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This AA 4 star BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel is Trip Advisor's #1 Bournemouth Hotel with a magnificent spa and an award-winning double rosette restaurant. Free WiFi, Free Parking and Free Membership of the Spa and Leisure Club awaits you. Centrally located on the West Cliff, the hotel is less than 500m to the town centre, with all its bars, clubs and restaurants, the BIC, Pavilion Theatre, pier and beaches. The Blue Water Spa and Leisure Club offers 2 gymnasiums, an 18m swimming pool and spa pool, a luxurious, fully tiled eucalyptus steam room, a superb sauna and a beauty and massage therapy suite. After a relaxing day in the Spa enjoy a superb dinner and top class wine in our award-winning, double rosette restaurant, Blakes, where Nick Rutigliano, the Maitre d', and his team will serve you with superb food, freshly prepared by the Head Chef. The hotel was again awarded the highly coveted Silver Shield in 2013 by Green Tourism for Business for its contribution to the environment and local community. The hotel has 56 beautifully decorated en suite bedrooms, including 2 junior suites, 6 executive rooms, superior, standard and single rooms, some with their own private balcony or terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bournemouth
Bournemouth Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.