We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overnight stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30 West Hill Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5PH, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Ranked #1 of 70 Hotels in Bournemouth
St. Helier, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“overnight stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Very comfortable with a swimming pool, sauna and jacquzi.

Good standard breakfast. Lots of parking.Reserved space close to door as I am disabled. We have stayed here before as it is convenient for the ferry to the Channel Islands. We are booked for our next trip.

Room Tip: Use the lodge adjacent as it is cheaper
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Looking forward to seeing you next time around Wonkypin; thank you for your tip top review.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,031
    368
    109
    41
    22
See reviews for
238
808
69
168
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Lovely room, excellent food, staff second to none.
We spent a long weekend in Bournemouth to see Caro Emerald in concert.
We always stay in Best Westerns throughout the country because of there overall level of hotels and service.
From the moment we arrived, however, we realised that this little gem of a hotel was somthing really special. Clean, beautifully decorated and comfortable, first impressions were excellent. Then we began to experience the quality of the staff. Wow! What an absolutely superb team - all the way from the management to the cleaners - no one could expect better.
And the food - stunning - absolutely beautiful from breakfast through to dinner.
There were only two drawbacks with our visit - the pain in our stomachs from all the lovely food and the laughter with the staff and fellow customers - and the fact that we had to leave.
We cant wait to go back again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
A "sheer delight" Kevin. Thank you very much for your charming review.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We had 2 nights at this hotel,and enjoyed every moment.From the receptionist to the bar staff,and waiting staff,they were all very attentive and very well trained.The breakfasts were excellent,and evening meal in the restuarant, although not a big choice was very good,and the lounge menu was also good.Beds were comfortable and everything that is needed was privided.
We will be staying again next time we visit Bournemouth,and recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Many thanks Sandra, your 5 star review made for very enjoyable reading.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Stayed here meany times, As per all the comments about this Hotel, it only gets better. On arrival the reception area has been modernised,(lovely) Paul the manager recognised us straight away, and expalined there are meany more impovements. Went for Dinner and Nicky and a few of the staff also recognised us. I dont wont to go on but everything only improves.The team are a credit to You David.
Tony And Ju.. Ps: Cheltenham for 4 days i bet you are Glued.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
I'd like to echo that sentiment Tony - hopefully you'll extend it on your next visit!! Didn't make Cheltenham this year as we were far too busy.

Best wishes and many thanks for the brilliant review.

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

This is a return visit to this hotel,nothing has changed, if anything its got better. We stayed there for two nights. From the car parking to room, its a first class establishment. See you soon, if you have room

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Many thanks Lin and Steve for your super, 5 star review - short, sweet and very much to the point!! Looking forward to a return visit so hope to see you soon.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed at the Connaught for my husband 70th birthday ,the room was wonderful spotless and very modern the bed was so comfy and the service was excellent,all that I had asked for to be done for my husband birthday was so perfect and the food was lovely had evening meal which were super, We felt the service and hotel was more better than the rating it is, as it is a beautiful wonderful place to stay excellent value,the pool area is smaller than other best westerns we have stayed at but it is still relaxing and lovely place to relax and chill .
The staff all work together the the feel of the place is so nice and the staff are so genuine that you feel as they do really want to please which i found better than the other places we have stayed,The hotel is a great place to stay good value for money and would reccommend

Room Tip: We had a balcony we loved it
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Wonderful!! What more can I say Han. Thank you so much for your splendid review - we were all so delighted that your planned celebrations were such a success. Hope to see you all again soon.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We booked this hotel as an overnight stop after seeing Harry Hill because of its central location and were very impressed with the friendly, smart and efficient staff. The hotel was clean and had a good homely atmosphere but was also modern in its decor. The ensuite was very well designed with an excellent large shower. We didn't have time to use the spa facilities but the breakfast was very tasty - good quality food and helpful waiters of which there were many - a nice change to other hotels which seem to constantly understaff their establishments. I would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you very much Willingreviewer for your "Great Experience" review. I was so pleased to read that we ticked all the right boxes for you and I hope you enjoyed Harry Hill as much as you enjoyed staying with us.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel

Address: 30 West Hill Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5PH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#1 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#1 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This AA 4 star BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel is Trip Advisor's No 1 Bournemouth Hotel with a magnificent spa, an award-winning double rosette restaurant and 54 beautifully decorated en-suite bedrooms, including 3 junior suites, 6 executive rooms, superior, standard and single rooms, some with their own private balcony or terrace. The hotel is centrally located on the West Cliff and is less than 500m to the town centre, with all its bars, clubs and restaurants, the BIC, Pavilion Theatre, pier and beaches. Free WiFi, Free Parking and Free Membership of the Spa and Leisure Club await you. The Blue Water Spa and Leisure Club offers 2 gymnasiums, an 18m swimming pool and spa pool, a luxurious, fully tiled eucalyptus steam room, a superb sauna and a beauty and massage therapy suite. After a relaxing day in the Spa enjoy a fine dinner and top class wine in our award-winning, double rosette restaurant, Blakes, where Nick Rutigliano, the Maitre d', and his team will serve you with superb food, freshly prepared by Ben Nicol, the Head Chef. The hotel was again awarded the highly coveted Silver Shield in 2013 by Green Tourism for Business for its contribution to the environment and local community. Trip Advisor has once again awarded the 2014 Certificate of Excellence to the Hotel, the Spa and to Blakes Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bournemouth
Bournemouth Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.