We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Connaught Hotel, Bournemouth at New Year” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30 West Hill Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5PH, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 70 hotels in Bournemouth
Sheffield
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Connaught Hotel, Bournemouth at New Year”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

My wife and I had such a good time at the Connaught over New Year 2011 (which encompasses our wedding anniversary) that we returned for 2012. This time we had booked one of their two suites, and so were even more comfortable than last time. The suite had been freshly decorated and the very large en-suite looked brand new.
All of the meals and entertainment were excellent, and the staff always friendly and obliging.
Two of our friends from our home town in Yorkshire have an apartment in Bournemouth, and were able to join us for the evenings of New Year's Eve and New Year's Day, We enjoyed ourselves so much that we have already made our reservations for 2013 to repeat the experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
This is good news David P and we are looking forward to seeing you for our next New Year celebrations - thank you for writing such a great review. Hopefully we'll see more of your friends in Blakes over the coming months..

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,361 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    896
    315
    90
    39
    21
See reviews for
213
689
62
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
buckingham
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

After an excellent Xmas break 2011, we returned to find that this year was even better!
The food, as always, was excellent and punches well above its weight! The dining room was supervised with great efficiency and charm by Nicky and his team of enthusiastic and well trained staff. The hotel continues to maintain its high standards of decor and the rooms are beautifully presented.
This remains an excellent example of how an hotel should be operated and stands out from the opposition in a picturesque but competitive location.
We will have no hesitation in going for the Xmas hat-trick in 2013.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Nice one Steve, thank you very much. Looking forward to the "hat-trick!!

Best wishes and a very happy New Year to you all.

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

A party of 8 of us stayed at the Connaught for New Year.
What a fabulous hotel. Service impeccable. Cuisine amazing. This is quite a chef and brigade.
Breakfast was yummy and served with a smile.Nothing was too much trouble and the staff have
been trained to a very high standard.Rooms were beautifully designed beds comfy with lovely
white linen-bathrooms super with drawers and cupboards-most unusual.
New Years Eve Tables were spectacular black white and silver tiaras toppers masks, all high
quality.Ooh and I had a swim-great pool &spa.
Congratulations to the owner -good job done. MaureenX

Room Tip: We were on the top floor coast side in a superior room and the sun was pouring in.......not on 31st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Happy New Year Maureen and thank you for your truly delightful review. I hope you've booked again for next year!!

Best wishes to you and your family

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Have just returned from our 3rd new year break at the connaught. And as ever it was a wonderfull stay. The thing that always makes it for me apart from the superb food which i would challenge anyone to find better anywhere, Is the staff they are just so polite,attentive and nothing is ever to much trouble. They are always happy in there work and always have time to stop for a chat. To me its like one big happy family and one that i feel very proud to be a little part of. See you all again soon

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
We're looking forward to seeing you again JBS, many thanks for your very complimentary review - we were delighted to know just how much you enjoyed your New Year celebrations.

Best wishes to you and your family for 2013.

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Visited this hotel with a large group of freinds for our annual New Year Break and found all of the staff at this hotel to be the best I have come across in 24 years of visiting Bournemouth. They made our trip and I would have no hesitation in recommending the Connaught to all travellers young and old alike.

Well done

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
A very happy New Year to you and your family Roger and thank you for your massive vote of confidence. See you "next year"!!

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I've stayed at the Connaught a couple of times whilst on business in Bournemouth and would never go anywhere else again. First time I got a single room over the reception area which was very quirky, second time a double at the rear of the hotel.
The spa facilities are a must, set off early to get your use of them, a decent sized pool that you can get rid of your travelling stiffness with. Staff very polite and friendly and the breakfast is delightful. I would have liked the kippers but refused to pay extra for them, my poached eggs were cooked to perfection.
The restaurant is fantastic and well worth a visit, highly recommended for a business or holiday stay.

Room Tip: The single room over the reception was a little noisy but only because some idiot was arguing with t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Many thanks for this review Whizzcornwall and also for taking the trouble to write a separate, also fantastic, review for Blakes Restaurant. Hope to see you again in 2013.

Best wishes and a very happy New Year

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I spent this Christmas at the Connaught. I had my own room but was with other family members who were also staying there. The Roomwas very comfortable and clean, the Staff and the service were very helpful and excellent, activities good and appropriate, and the food was just gorgeous. Close t the Beach and the Pavilion where we walked to watch the Pantomime on Boxing Day, I would throughly recommend this hotel. :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you Elsie for your 5 star review - so glad you all enjoyed yourselves and we look forward to seeing you again.

Best wishes and a very happy New Year to you all.

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel

Address: 30 West Hill Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5PH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This AA 4 star BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel is Trip Advisor's #1 Bournemouth Hotel with a magnificent spa and an award-winning double rosette restaurant. Free WiFi, Free Parking and Free Membership of the Spa and Leisure Club awaits you. Centrally located on the West Cliff, the hotel is less than 500m to the town centre, with all its bars, clubs and restaurants, the BIC, Pavilion Theatre, pier and beaches. The Blue Water Spa and Leisure Club offers 2 gymnasiums, an 18m swimming pool and spa pool, a luxurious, fully tiled eucalyptus steam room, a superb sauna and a beauty and massage therapy suite. After a relaxing day in the Spa enjoy a superb dinner and top class wine in our award-winning, double rosette restaurant, Blakes, where Nick Rutigliano, the Maitre d', and his team will serve you with superb food, freshly prepared by the Head Chef. The hotel was again awarded the highly coveted Silver Shield in 2013 by Green Tourism for Business for its contribution to the environment and local community. The hotel has 56 beautifully decorated en suite bedrooms, including 2 junior suites, 6 executive rooms, superior, standard and single rooms, some with their own private balcony or terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bournemouth
Bournemouth Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.