We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30 West Hill Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5PH, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 71 hotels in Bournemouth
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

Just returned from a lovely break at the Connaught Hotel. All the staff looked after us very well and nothing was too much trouble. Superior double room 19 was spacious and spotlessly clean. The food in the restaurant and bar was always well presented and tasted wonderful, staff very attentive and polite. We would definately return to this hotel again and have no hesitation in recommending it to others. Thank you everyone for a relaxing break.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2011
Dear GD

Thank you very much for giving us a 5 out of 5 rating for everything - delighted you had a wonderful holiday and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,360 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    895
    315
    90
    39
    21
See reviews for
212
689
62
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

My wife and l have recently returned from spending a week at the Connaught Lodge/Hotel and I feel I must explain the reason why I say the Lodge/Hotel. When we booked through the website Booking.com the link gives you the option to reside in the Lodge or at the hotel. There is a vast difference between the two. Expecting to be staying at the hotel l did not read the email issued to me at the time of booking stating that it would be the lodge and not the hotel we would have. You arrive at the Hotel reception collect your key card for room access then walk 80 yards next door to the lodge, On arriving at the Lodge it is not that appealing. Its classified as affordable accommodation and it certainly is. I have to say that as soon as we stepped into the hall way the feeling l got was I either leave or move into the hotel. The Lodge room had all the amenities that you would need for your stay kettle with the usual coffee , tea mik etc , a hair-dryer and the room was on the large size , a family room with a double and a single bed. But the building is in need of a little TLC. Collecting our thoughts we made our way back downstairs to the ground floor using a outdated lift. Then left through the garden entrance that would lead across to the terrace to the restaurant in the main hotel. Well things got better from then on. We spoke with the reception and explained our concern and without any hesitation they managed to find a room for us in the hotel ,one called the superior suite. For a few hundred pounds more we went from basic to fantastic accommodation. and what a difference. I will have some photos of the basic and a video of the new room loaded in a while. From now on everything was what we wanted. Terrific meals in the restaurant and bar ( try the cod and chips mmmmmm) ,swimming pool with sauna ,etc used every afternoon for 2hours ,the lounge and finally the staff,just brilliant. Have to say a special thank you to a number of individuals The receptionist for putting up with my gripe thank you, thank you Natasha for serving us with drinks and always so happy, ( hope your mums wedding went well) The chambermaid who kept our suite spotless and finally the to the Restaurant Manager Rick a great guy, always rushing around making sure that you and everyone else was looked after at the highest level and yet still had the time to ask how had your day gone. This is a perfect place to stay for a short break or a weeks holiday in Bournemouth but please do read and make sure that you either happy with a room that is affordable or do you want to pay that little extra and have luxury which we all deserve at sometime. Yes I would return back to the Connaught maybe next time for two weeks.

Room Tip: Always choose the hotel for quality until the Lodge is upgraded to a higher standard. Hotel for me e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millerman1007, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2011
Dear Baronstjohn

What a lovely, truly comprehensive review, thank you very much indeed. You are absolutely right there is a difference between the two hotels, with the Best Western Connaught being the finest Spa Hotel in Bournemouth. However the main benefit of the comfortable and affordable Connaught Lodge is being able to enjoy all the superb facilities of the Best Western Hotel next door at a very affordable price which no other hotel can offer. However there is one point I should make - when booking on Booking.Com you have a choice of over 100 hotels that are advertised on that site and there is a website for the Connaught Lodge and there is a separate one for the Best Western Connaught Hotel - there is not one for both hotels and they most definitely have their own unique identity. For general information the lift in the Lodge is being refurbished in November and in October a beautiful new 200m2 dance floor is being installed in the Lodge Franklyn Suite - great improvements and more on the way in 2012. All the staff were absolutely delighted to be mentioned and asked me to pass on their appreciation.

Best wishes and thank you again

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

My partner and I stayed in the Junior Orchid Suite on our wedding night and were impressed by the lovely touches the hotel made to make the room extra special. We couldn't have wanted a better room - it was spacious, very comfortable, had a fabulous bathroom and a balcony. The room and the hotel were spotlessly clean and tidy. The breakfast was delicious and just what we needed after a night of celebrating. One of our guests also stayed here as he does when he makes trips down to visit which I think says a lot of good about this hotel to repeat book. I would have no hesitation in booking here again or recommending to others. Thank you to them for an enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2011
Dear Victoria H

A great day was clearly had by all and we really appreciate your great review - 5/5 for everything, thank you very much indeed. Come and see us when you get back from your honeymoon.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

From the receptionists to all the staff we had any contact with,
everyone made us feel we were wanted there.
Quite often it felt a shame to disturb the beautifully presented dishes of food,
however after tasting the guilt soon disapeared.
The hotel always had a good clean look and refreshing smell, and a very comfortable bed. Without doubt we certainly are recommending the Connaught to our friends, and anyone else who's interested in a warm comfortable and caring hotel,

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2011
Dear Nonsence1

It's always good to read how much the guests enjoy dining in Blakes - Nicky and his team provide a great atmosphere and David, the Head Chef, and his team in the kitchen, such wonderful food. Thank you so much and delighted read the "Guilt" was so short-lived!!

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

The Connaught met my expectations - it was easy to find on the West Cliff and was clean and well-maintained. The staff were polite and efficient but not particularly friendly. My room was very warm but comfortable and well appointed. The basement swimming pool was an added bonus, and was available all day. Breakfast was excellent and was available outside on the rear terrace. I would happily use this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2011
Dear Andy N

Thank you very much for your very kind review but a little sorry to read that we didn't come across as being very friendly. I don't know if this was across the board or just an isolated case but if you care to write to me at davidmiller@theconnaught.co.uk I would be very grateful for a little more information.

Best wishes and thank you again

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bungay, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

Excellent services, staff, food and facilities. Had a double superior room with balcony overlooking the garden, which is what we asked for but it was not the spacious room shown on the website when we booked and it only had one armchair, why is that? I'm sure if we had asked for another one we would have got it, there was room for it, just, but a room for two should have both surely? Leisure facilities great and enjoyed the pool. Breakfasts to die for and now on the diets again. Took advantage of free Wi-fi, an added bonus.

Room Tip: Car park a bit a a sqeeze for not so slim cars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConnaughtGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2011
Dear 876Marion

Thank you very much for your wonderful review.and I was delighted read just how much you enjoyed your visit. With regard to the armchair we decided on the top floor to provide 1 high backed chair and 1 armchair in order to give better access to the balcony but, as you said, had you wanted 2 armchairs that would not have been a problem.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best wishes

Paul Plumley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

From the efficient and curtious checkin we felt welcomed to the Connought. We were very early but by the time we had ordered some sandwiches and drinks we were told our room was ready. Dinner was a good standard and there was an excellent choice, the staff were friendly, well informed and efficient. Breakfast was excellent and checkout efficient and friendly. The rooms are warm but we kept a window open and it wasn't noisy until the bins were emptied!

Room Tip: A room with a balcony is a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2011
Dear Twolancastrians

Great to read that we looked after you so well and even exceeded your expectations - thank you very much indeed. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel

Address: 30 West Hill Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5PH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#1 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This AA 4 star BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel is Trip Advisor's #1 Bournemouth Hotel with a magnificent spa and an award-winning double rosette restaurant. Free WiFi, Free Parking and Free Membership of the Spa and Leisure Club awaits you. Centrally located on the West Cliff, the hotel is less than 500m to the town centre, with all its bars, clubs and restaurants, the BIC, Pavilion Theatre, pier and beaches. The Blue Water Spa and Leisure Club offers 2 gymnasiums, an 18m swimming pool and spa pool, a luxurious, fully tiled eucalyptus steam room, a superb sauna and a beauty and massage therapy suite. After a relaxing day in the Spa enjoy a superb dinner and top class wine in our award-winning, double rosette restaurant, Blakes, where Nick Rutigliano, the Maitre d', and his team will serve you with superb food, freshly prepared by the Head Chef. The hotel was again awarded the highly coveted Silver Shield in 2013 by Green Tourism for Business for its contribution to the environment and local community. The hotel has 56 beautifully decorated en suite bedrooms, including 2 junior suites, 6 executive rooms, superior, standard and single rooms, some with their own private balcony or terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bournemouth
Bournemouth Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.