We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Night Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30 West Hill Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5PH, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 71 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wedding Night Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

My partner and I stayed in the Junior Orchid Suite on our wedding night and were impressed by the lovely touches the hotel made to make the room extra special. We couldn't have wanted a better room - it was spacious, very comfortable, had a fabulous bathroom and a balcony. The room and the hotel were spotlessly clean and tidy. The breakfast was delicious and just what we needed after a night of celebrating. One of our guests also stayed here as he does when he makes trips down to visit which I think says a lot of good about this hotel to repeat book. I would have no hesitation in booking here again or recommending to others. Thank you to them for an enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2011
Dear Victoria H

A great day was clearly had by all and we really appreciate your great review - 5/5 for everything, thank you very much indeed. Come and see us when you get back from your honeymoon.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,793 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,192
    418
    119
    42
    22
See reviews for
261
926
77
190
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (436)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

From the receptionists to all the staff we had any contact with,
everyone made us feel we were wanted there.
Quite often it felt a shame to disturb the beautifully presented dishes of food,
however after tasting the guilt soon disapeared.
The hotel always had a good clean look and refreshing smell, and a very comfortable bed. Without doubt we certainly are recommending the Connaught to our friends, and anyone else who's interested in a warm comfortable and caring hotel,

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2011
Dear Nonsence1

It's always good to read how much the guests enjoy dining in Blakes - Nicky and his team provide a great atmosphere and David, the Head Chef, and his team in the kitchen, such wonderful food. Thank you so much and delighted read the "Guilt" was so short-lived!!

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

The Connaught met my expectations - it was easy to find on the West Cliff and was clean and well-maintained. The staff were polite and efficient but not particularly friendly. My room was very warm but comfortable and well appointed. The basement swimming pool was an added bonus, and was available all day. Breakfast was excellent and was available outside on the rear terrace. I would happily use this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2011
Dear Andy N

Thank you very much for your very kind review but a little sorry to read that we didn't come across as being very friendly. I don't know if this was across the board or just an isolated case but if you care to write to me at davidmiller@theconnaught.co.uk I would be very grateful for a little more information.

Best wishes and thank you again

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bungay, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

Excellent services, staff, food and facilities. Had a double superior room with balcony overlooking the garden, which is what we asked for but it was not the spacious room shown on the website when we booked and it only had one armchair, why is that? I'm sure if we had asked for another one we would have got it, there was room for it, just, but a room for two should have both surely? Leisure facilities great and enjoyed the pool. Breakfasts to die for and now on the diets again. Took advantage of free Wi-fi, an added bonus.

Room Tip: Car park a bit a a sqeeze for not so slim cars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConnaughtGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2011
Dear 876Marion

Thank you very much for your wonderful review.and I was delighted read just how much you enjoyed your visit. With regard to the armchair we decided on the top floor to provide 1 high backed chair and 1 armchair in order to give better access to the balcony but, as you said, had you wanted 2 armchairs that would not have been a problem.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best wishes

Paul Plumley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

From the efficient and curtious checkin we felt welcomed to the Connought. We were very early but by the time we had ordered some sandwiches and drinks we were told our room was ready. Dinner was a good standard and there was an excellent choice, the staff were friendly, well informed and efficient. Breakfast was excellent and checkout efficient and friendly. The rooms are warm but we kept a window open and it wasn't noisy until the bins were emptied!

Room Tip: A room with a balcony is a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2011
Dear Twolancastrians

Great to read that we looked after you so well and even exceeded your expectations - thank you very much indeed. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

We have just spent a week staying in the Connaught Hotel in Bournemouth and despite staying in many hotels over the years, we can honestly say that this is one of the very best.
Having spent a week here, we managed to meet most of the hotel team and they could not have been any more friendly or helpful. Every single member of staff, from the general manager, restaurant manager, waiters, waitresses, house-keepers and bar-staff were attentive and they all went out of their way to make us feel welcome.

We stayed in a standard room, which was large, clean and well equipped.

As if the excellent service and great staff wasn’t enough, in-between meal times we were able to chill out in the very large hotel swimming pool, sauna, Jacuzzi and steam rooms. We tended to wander down each afternoon and the leisure centre was always clean, supervised and never busy.

The icing on the cake for us was meal-times. The standard and choice of food was excellent and just when we thought the standard couldn’t get any better, it did. We would like to say an extra special thank you to the whole restaurant team.

Would we recommended the hotel to others ....... oh yes!

Syd & Debbie Kassim (yes, still together after 30 long, long, long years)! 8-))

Room Tip: We opted for the standard room in the main hotel, which was very nice. the hotel also has an annex b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2011
Dear Syd and Deb

We were all so pleased to be able to share your 30th wedding anniversary with you have been so kind in not only writing this superb review but also writing to us directly to compliment us about our hotel, the facilities, the food and above all the staff. We all look forward to seeing you for your 31st - please don't wait another 10 years for your 40th!!!

Best wishes and thank you again

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

very nice hotel,lovely food, lovely staff,and excellent lesiure facilities.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2011
Dear Sandgrownens

Thank you for your wonderful review and I was delighted to read just how much you enjoyed all the facilities the hotel has to offer. Due to the anonymity of the Trip Reviews I am unable to work out which room you occupied. Please drop me a line at davidmiller@theconnaught.co.uk with your room number and I will do something about the location of the hospitality tray.
Thank you once again and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel

Address: 30 West Hill Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5PH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#1 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This AA 4 star BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel is Trip Advisor's No 1 Bournemouth Hotel with a magnificent spa, an award-winning double rosette restaurant and 54 beautifully decorated en-suite bedrooms, including 3 junior suites, 6 executive rooms, superior, standard and single rooms, some with their own private balcony or terrace. The hotel is centrally located on the West Cliff and is less than 500m to the town centre, with all its bars, clubs and restaurants, the BIC, Pavilion Theatre, pier and beaches. Free WiFi, Free Parking and Free Membership of the Spa and Leisure Club await you. The Bluewater Spa offers 2 gymnasiums, an 18m swimming pool and spa pool, a luxurious, fully tiled eucalyptus steam room, a superb sauna and a beauty and 3 massage therapy suites, to include a double. After a relaxing day in the Spa enjoy a fine dinner and top class wine in our award-winning, double rosette restaurant, Blakes, where Nick Rutigliano, the Maitre d', and his team will serve you with superb food, freshly prepared by Ben Nicol, the Head Chef. The hotel was again awarded the highly coveted Silver Shield in 2013 by Green Tourism for Business for its contribution to the environment and local community. Trip Advisor has once again awarded the 2014 Certificate of Excellence to the Hotel, the Spa and to Blakes Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bournemouth
Bournemouth Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.