We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Menzies Carlton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Menzies Carlton Hotel to your Saves list
Menzies Carlton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   East Overcliff, Bournemouth BH1 3DN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 70 Hotels in Bournemouth
verwood
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Have stayed here a couple of times now very comfortable ,clean and the staff are all helpful. The swimming pool was clean and heated which was pleasant . The spa unfortunately there were no price lists and no therapists there to ask ? but good all round.

Room Tip: Just ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    158
    102
    49
    43
See reviews for
116
210
18
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Epping, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We stayed 5 nights in a sea view room. Yes, the décor is dated and 'of a type'. It is however still comfortable, very clean and well maintained. The staff were unfailingly helpful, efficient, polite, and friendly in a professional way - a big asset for the hotel and such nice people!
In the restaurant, the food is unfailingly excellent. Plenty of choice and of a very high standard. Service suffers if it coincides with a coach party dining and my concern for future visits is whether there will be enough waiting staff - there were more in evidence on previous stays. On one day there was a definite problem but it was ok at all other times.
We used the pool which was warm and clean.
View of the bay is very good, being situated across the road to the Red Arrows RAF memorials and by the zig-zag and cliff lift to the beach.
Overall a very enjoyable relaxing stay. We didn't have to complain about anything which is good because that spoils a trip and the staff were great. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We did not choose to go here as friends had booked it for us. The professional pictures do look amazing though, but the reality is that it's all a bit dated and old fashioned. I prefer more of a modern look, but don't mind the right kind of old fashioned, this was more granny style than classy real old rather then manufactured old.

Our room, nb 99 was dark, very large with tall ceilings, the horrible fluorescent light could not be switched off without also switching off the other soft nice lights.

The bathroom was clean and large.

The floor is very creaky, so walking around late at night trying not to wake our two young children was a challenge, the bed was also creaky but comfortable.

The room cleaning was amazing, we came back after breakfast and the room was tidied, it was such a mess I felt sorry for the cleaner.

The TV reception was not great.

The internet on the friday for some reason was incredibly, unusable slow. Saturday it improved. They use BT for the internet instead of their own.

The breakfast, I actually enjoyed it. But the service was rubbish, tea came late after we started eating. The horrible plastic baby chair needs throwing away, the baby kept sliding down and we had to keep putting her back up again.

They food was not kept topped up, it took ages for food to come, it was close to 10h which is when they stop food, but that's when people want breakfast, and if you pay for breakfast you want to be able to eat until 10h. So that was frustrating, but the food was pretty good, the fried break I really liked, the sausages were good quality and the bacon was nice tasting, better than normal, though towards 10h the sausages were replaced with the cheapest ones money can buy.

The outdoor swimming pool is the warmest pool I have been in, warmer than most indoor pools, it was just great. But the indoor part is all a bit grotty.

The location of the hotel was perfect, right on the top of the cliff, next to the cliff lift and also very close to town.

The lobby, bar etc are quite nice, but you can't stop thinking that this place was top years and years ago, not anymore.

Anyway bournemouth is a great place and it was nice being just on the edge of the cliff and close to the pier, I loved that.

Room Tip: See if you can request a see view with balcony, if you choose a ground floor one you feel like someo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
231 helpful votes 231 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

.

5th July 2014

Family Event at the Carlton Bournemouth.

This was my first visit to the Carlton and the occasion was to celebrate my uncle-in-law's 90th birthday.

The hotel was busy and there was a wedding celebration going on at the same time. The weather was fine and there were many people around the very pretty pool set in a small garden.

We had a function room near the entrance to the hotel. It looked like a former library and Was spacious with a nice high art deco ceiling with chandelier and stained glass. Plenty of windows and natural light. The wooden surfaces of the windowsills and large desk were polished and gleaming and everything looked clean. We were served champagne by Alex and Virginia. At first, the atmosphere was very formal and correct (as it should be) This did reflect the age group of the Party. Alex and Virginia did a good job topping up empty glasses and looked after the older members of the group well. Alex appeared to be training Virginia in an understated way. We were presented with a menu with a number of options 3 options for each course. This was appreciated as is often not the case with these sort of functions. I went for the lobster bisque followed by salmon with twice-cooked chips and, to finish, chocolate profiteroles. The soup was good, the bread rolls accompanied by lots of fresh butter (major plus point for me and no foil-wrapped packets of butter either!). The salmon was beautifully cooked and the sauce was delicate and well flavoured. No need for "masking" on this occasion. The chips were a bit soggy and therefore disappointing :-(

Alex and Virginia continued to give great service, discreet but friendly when asked questions. The wine was poured efficiently and food served promptly without flourish or fuss.

I took a stroll to the Ladies. The toilets were very clean and tidy - especially considering the number of people the hotel was dealing with that day - and more upmarket than I expected. There is an interesting problem with this place. The public rooms are all on the right hand side of a long corridor with the Service rooms on the left. This means a constant crossing of traffic between guests and staff. It must get quite frustrating! Everyone was very polite however!

In conclusion, I normally hate these sort of events as it often gives hotels the chance to serve bad quality food at rip-off prices. Not the case here. I would happily go back!




  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

My wife I stayed at the Carlton Hotel for one night last week. It has been several years since I last stayed here on business. The rooms have been upgraded but much of the reception and public area's have had little attention. The one lift the second down from the reception is still old and tired and needs a refurb. The room we had was rather small overlooking the rear car park and is not the best of views as incorporating some old buildings and a garage with a hole in the top, however the room was well appointed well furnished. We only had breakfast at the hotel which is £11.95 extra as advertised but a tip if you go to the reception (on the advise of the restaurant manager and obtain a voucher you only pay £7.50.) Over the road from Carlton is a lasting memorial to Jon Egging the Red Arrow who sadly lost his life having crashed during the display at the Bournemouth air show. As for Bournemouth it will always be something special as until last year we have been residents for 22years. Would we stay at the Carlton again- yes but a room larger and over the sea.

Room Tip: We stayed in 322 not the best of rooms as reported try and have one over the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Great service from all the staff. The outdoor swimming pool with heated water is really nice. The location close to the path down to the beach and with the pier and town in walking distance is just perfect. Large rooms. Squeaky floor in hallway and stairs

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I stayed here on a business trip, so thankfully I wasn't actually paying for this. My room was not very good and I had to ask for them to fix the extractor fan in my room (fixed next day). It was very noisy as the room was ground floor and you could hear everything above you. The staff were friendly and efficient and I thought the food was very good. I would not recommend a ground floor room and I wouldn't use my own money to stay here.

Room Tip: Don't get a room on the ground floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Menzies Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Menzies Carlton Hotel

Address: East Overcliff, Bournemouth BH1 3DN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#10 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Menzies Carlton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Menzies Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menzies Carlton Bournemouth
Hotel Menzies Carlton
Carlton Hotel Bournemouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Menzies Carlton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.