We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 night Dance Break ' the Wessex Hotel Bournemouth” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wessex Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Wessex Hotel to your Saves list
Wessex Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   West Cliff Rd, Bournemouth BH2 5EU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 71 Hotels in Bournemouth
glos
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“4 night Dance Break ' the Wessex Hotel Bournemouth”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Dance organiser's extremely good, dancing to live music morning and evening.
Hotel
Reception and bar freshly refurbished, staff extremely obliging and professional.
Food good but mainly meat and two veg.
Rooms and corridors very dated and tired, badly in need of updating and refurbishment.
Our room looking very tired heated towel rail in bathroom or radiator in bedroom did not work. On arrival given typed note telling residence that due to a pump failure to take showers in the morning as there may be no water in the evening.
Hotel reasonable if you manage to secure a discount.

Room Tip: select rooms on the upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    71
    51
    24
    19
See reviews for
24
99
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

we stayed for 3 days at the wessex,although a little tired, the staff were very approachable and helpful,the breakfast a great start to the day,our room lacked for nothing and was larger than a lot of hotels ,we will certainly stay here again when in bournemouth as it represents excellent value for money

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Chose this hotel as it's dog friendly and a reasonable price. Our room was OK, warm and spacious with lovely high ceilings. Pity there was no proper shower, but the one over the bath worked well. The bar area was very comfortable but now the best part... the bar staff were absolutely smashing people. Very happy and helpful especially the lovely Ebony. The management should be very proud of the bar manager, a true professional.

Room Tip: If you stay at the weekend try to get a room that is not over the function room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was a trip using a voucher deal for a 2 night deal; we arrived to check in but our room wasn't ready although were able to leave the car whilst we had a walk around the town centre, and it was ready on our return. Location is great, handy for all the shops, restaurants, museums, and beach promenade in central Bournemouth.

Staff were reasonably helpful and we had a comfortable stay, the only small points to make are firstly that it's a bit "tired" and could do with an update. The shower was over the bath and a bit "iffy" with regards to water temperature, either too hot or cold, and the tap continued dripping after usage... did report this on departure. The TV was also one of the annoying ones mentioned by another reviewer, needed re-turning to select channels each time it was turned on.

Building is a bit of a "rabbit warren" with various stairways to access the upstairs rooms; but sadly there's only 1 very tiny lift to serve the whole hotel (apparently more than 300 rooms) which we thought was unbelievable. This we felt was worsened by the distinct lack of signage to find the stairs, which we felt needed addressing to avoid the queuing at check-in next to the lift.

A simple set of signs pointing to the stairs for the appropriate room numbers (there are at least 2 sets at opposite ends of the building) would have avoided our very long trek up and around to find our room, carrying suitcases! Once we located the room, the way down by stairs was obvious and we came out in reception within a few minutes, thus allowing us to use that method from then on. If only we had known in advance which stairs to use!

Meal included in the deal was very good with a choice of dishes. There's an on site spa with pool, which was available if we wanted it, although we didn't have time to explore that. Had really good sunny weather and took a lovely trip down to Lulworth Cove on the 2nd day which was Easter Monday.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Headley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel reception area was lovely and clean. The receptionist didn't give any information on Breakfast times, or where to have breakfast nor did she explain about the WI-fi (apparently you have to get a password & username from reception) but this wasn't really a problem as there is an information booklet in the room.
Lots of parking spaces and we were given a permit to put in the window. I would avoid the lift, it was really tiny and rickety and barley fitted me and my friend with our luggage.
The room (373) was lovely and spacious and clean - beds were really comfortable. The TV was a bit annoying as you have to search for the channels every time you switch the TV on (unless it was me being thick). Also the room was very quiet in the morning we couldn't hear our neighbours or people walking past.
Breakfast was good, plenty to choose from on the buffet, although the grapefruit segments were fizzy. But the cooked breakfast was great.
All in all i would stay again, as it was in a good location and it was clean and comfy. Just in desperate need of an update as it looked very old fashioned upstairs but didn't ruin the stay.

Room Tip: Free wi-fi but you have to ask for a username and password at reception. I had room 373 and it had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

On arrival we had a warm welcome from the reception check in was 2 o'clock so got a voucher for the car and went into bournemouth. Arrived back to check in our room. On arrival at the room we were pleasently supprised as reports were not good. The room was a bit dated but adequate,clean and tidy.
The next morning we made our way to breakfast. The breakfast was buffet style with plenty of cereal, juices, tea and coffee. And so to the cooked breakfast plenty of choice eggs were runny, my personal choice, bacon, sausages,and every thing you associated with a full English all hot.
All in all a lovely stay and would stay again

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed here at Easter on an Amazon deal of a 2 night break, bed and breakfast with dinner on the 1st night. I only committed to a cheap deal as my husbands dementia condition fluctuates with stress and travel resulting in sometimes having to cut short our stay and return home.
All I expect for such a price is a comfortable bed,cleanliness, helpful staff and some breakfast. I am really not bothered by some petty things that some people find to moan about such as peeling paint and worn carpets.I had a delightful stay with my husband. It was the excellent attitude of the staff that helped reduce my husbands anxiety and make our stay so pleasant.
The dinner on the first night was excellent, with my husbands dietary requirements as a coeliac sufferer being well catered for. Breakfast was great value and lovely gluten free bread provided for my husband. We didn't use the bar facilities so I cannot comment.

As most people say, the hotel has an ideal location with easy access to the beach and the town. Although my husband gets tired quickly we managed to walk down to the beach and along to East Cliff where we took the cliff lift then a short stroll to visit The Russell-Cotes Art Gallery/Museum which I recommend. Walked back down the hill then along beach back to West Cliff and took lift to top again. This way it avoids the worst hills.
Can't wait to get back! We will do soon I hope.
The Wessex staff are the heart of gold that beats inside a hotel that has character but is slightly in need of a makeover. A bit like me!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wessex Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wessex Hotel

Address: West Cliff Rd, Bournemouth BH2 5EU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wessex Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, LateRooms, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Wessex Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wessex Hotel Bournemouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wessex Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.