We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wessex Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Wessex Hotel to your Saves list
Wessex Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   West Cliff Rd, Bournemouth BH2 5EU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 70 Hotels in Bournemouth
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The en-suite is clean and well-serviced. Facilities include LCD televisions with digital channels, complimentary wireless Internet access, climate control, and coffee/tea makers.

Not greatly impressed with the leisurely area as I noticed a cockroach when shown the Sauna area. I did not return to use it.

Staff were pleasant. Breakfast is included in the price and was of decent quality with a choice of hot and cold options.

Ok, overall.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    36
    30
    20
    14
See reviews for
12
55
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed at a very quiet time - few rooms seemed occupied though there were quite a few Christmas functions on. We were upgraded to a premier room. Room was very large: OK cleanliness, bathroom functional rather than luxurious. Breakfast again OK without being anything special. Other reviewers comment that the place is a bit shabby away from the public areas and I'd agree with that - floors creak, paint's worn on doors etc. It's also a warren of a place and you need a satnav to find your way around. On the plus side the location's good - an easy 15 min or so walk to town and attractions like the BIC. But it's uphill on the way back! Overall, for the price we paid, reasonable and a 3* rating is fair. But - I did think about dropping it to 2*: and that is because of the smokers' debris on the entrance steps and the disgusting bins with cigarette ends there. I accept (reluctantly!) that smokers have to go somewhere but it's up to the hotel to keep the area clean since smokers generally won't - unclean, unclean. So cleanliness rating is a general one - the entrance steps rate 1* only! A narrow escape from downgrading to poor or worse overall on that count. It's under fairly new ownership, apparently - it will be interesting to see if they can pull their socks up.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants, UK
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have just had a weekend away in this hotel staying in room 353 from Friday 12th December to Sunday 14th December. On arrival we were impressed with the inside of the hotel, reception area and bar area. Our room was adequate for our needs however it seemed quite shabby and old furniture, dirty carpet and the shower was a bit hit and miss. The bed was very comfortable with clean sheets although the top blanket was a bit grubby. The room was warm with heating on and there were coffee and tea making facilities in the room.

I think if we stayed again I would prefer a room towards the back of the hotel as room 353 was very noisy in the middle of the night due to the volume of traffic.

The lift was terrifying and was not sure if we were going to get stuck in it at all.

We opted to have a few drinks in the bar before venturing out Friday evening. Service was very slow as the staff were more interested in serving the party guests at the hotel first. This was the same occurrence on Saturday night as well. It was nice though just sitting in the hotel bar having a couple before going out.

We never used the pool but had a look at it and it seemed nice.

The staff we met were friendly and attentive.

Breakfast was good on both mornings. Plenty of choice and hot.

We were going to stay another night and when speaking to the receptionist he said that we would have to move rooms so decided against it as didn't want to pack belongings up to move would have preferred to stay where we were.

We would definitely stay in this hotel again as it was excellent value for money although I would imagine very expensive in the summer months.

The outside of the hotel looked very shabby and needed a good painting. When looking out of our window in the room the balcony was very dirty and shabby as well.

All in all a good weekend away.

Room Tip: Opt for the back of the hotel probably less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked this hotel to relax in the facilities after Christmas shopping. We stayed on Tuesday 9th December, booking through Late Rooms.

On arrival we were given Room 340, furthest away on the Eastern corner of the Hotel. Once past the reception, and the restaurant, the rest of the Hotel was very, very shabby and was probably last decorated in the days of Basil Fawlty. The room itself was not too bad, Bathroom again a bit shabby, but it was very cold, heating hadn't come on and so on phoning Reception a convector heater was delivered, so good response and service by the friendly staff. I did note during the stay that every member of staff was Eastern European, not a problem in that they were very nice and efficient, but indicative of the Hotel policy in terms of employing people on the lowest rates possible.

We then went to use the pool and facilities. Changing rooms very worn out, poor condition, only 1 locker in the male changing room with a lock fitted.

Pool area was in a very poor condition. Roof tiles missing, pool tiles missing, paint peeling from walls, and the water was not warm, certainly not warm enough to relax in for long. It felt like a shabby outdoor lido which has been open to the elements (i.e. the Atlantic coast). We then went to use the Sauna, but this was out of order. The good news was that the Steam room was working. After this, we decided to shower and go back to the room - changing room showers were luke-warm. Back at the room, I had to lay a coat in front of the room door to seal the gap and stop the draft. Note, I could get my hand under the door, and this was a fire door fitted with an intumescent strip to prevent smoke. Luckily for us there was no fire,

After a night of broken sleep (flat roof, either rodents, gulls or squirrels, not sure which, but these were not quiet, not the Hotel's fault), I tried to have a shower. Very little water pressure from the shower nozzle, i.e. a dribble. It was not possible to shower properly. After drying I realised that the shower nozzle pipe was too long for the gap and was kinked.

Very fed up by this time. Complained to the duty manager, but this was a lost cause. In fact the only good thing was breakfast which was reasonable.

I have stayed in 'Russian' Hotels in Poland before with better facilities than this hotel. I would not stay at this hotel again, nor any others in the chain - be warned.

I have photos of the shower and the door, so am not making this up.

Alec

Room Tip: Try another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We booked through buyagift, on arrival the hotel looked dated and in need of new decor throughout. Marked carpets and flaking paint, wallpaper pealing away from the wall in areas and a poorly layed out bathroom with a loo roll holder that could not be reached from the toilet.

We then proceded to the bar area for an evening snack spent 15mins stood at the bar due to a party night. Then the barman fails to get the drinks without been reminded after moving onto another party night goer! The second evening I enquire if there is food been served as stated in the in room book to be rudely told no the kitchen is busy with 350 party night orders!

The only positive been breakfast which was of decent quality and hot but a real lack of service no names used although they ask for a room number.

In summary this hotel needs to focus on staying guests not just the party goers! With the amount of choice of hotels in Bournemouth simliarly priced I would urge everyone to look elsewhere and if it wasnt booked through buy a gift I would be looking for a part refund to compensate the abismal customer service

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wessex_Management, Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your review Adambroadhead1985,

Im sorry you did not find the wessex to your liking and in particular, the christmas parties that we were holding. It is to be expected that any medium/large hotel in December will be holding parties, especially on a weekend. But I can only apologise if this was to your dissatisfaction.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here for our wedding anniversary and took our baby. The facilities were good and we used the pool both days: the towels provided for use by the pool need changing as they didn't dry you at all! The restaurant and bar was lovely and we had a great meal. Customer service was excellent and the room was big and provided us with an idea base x

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wessex_Management, Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your review Sarah H,

Im delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Wessex and we hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have just got back from a weekend at the Wessex. we had a great time .Our room was warm comfortable and clean. All staff we met were friendly,helpful and polite. The Wessex is a three star hotel and as such fits that bill well.We didn't eat at the hotel except for a sharer platter one lunchtime and that was the best sharer platter we have had .Well done to all at the Wessex. I think sometimes people expect five star accommodation etc for peanuts as I said the Wessex is a good value for money hotel we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wessex_Management, Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thankyou for your review Jenny6052,

Im delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed the sharing platter (their nice arent they). I will pass on your comments to the team and I hope to welcome you back to the wessex in the future.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wessex Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wessex Hotel

Address: West Cliff Rd, Bournemouth BH2 5EU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wessex Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Wessex Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wessex Hotel Bournemouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wessex Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.