We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wessex Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Wessex Hotel to your Saves list
Wessex Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   West Cliff Rd, Bournemouth BH2 5EU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 70 Hotels in Bournemouth
Northants, UK
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We have just had a weekend away in this hotel staying in room 353 from Friday 12th December to Sunday 14th December. On arrival we were impressed with the inside of the hotel, reception area and bar area. Our room was adequate for our needs however it seemed quite shabby and old furniture, dirty carpet and the shower was a bit hit and miss. The bed was very comfortable with clean sheets although the top blanket was a bit grubby. The room was warm with heating on and there were coffee and tea making facilities in the room.

I think if we stayed again I would prefer a room towards the back of the hotel as room 353 was very noisy in the middle of the night due to the volume of traffic.

The lift was terrifying and was not sure if we were going to get stuck in it at all.

We opted to have a few drinks in the bar before venturing out Friday evening. Service was very slow as the staff were more interested in serving the party guests at the hotel first. This was the same occurrence on Saturday night as well. It was nice though just sitting in the hotel bar having a couple before going out.

We never used the pool but had a look at it and it seemed nice.

The staff we met were friendly and attentive.

Breakfast was good on both mornings. Plenty of choice and hot.

We were going to stay another night and when speaking to the receptionist he said that we would have to move rooms so decided against it as didn't want to pack belongings up to move would have preferred to stay where we were.

We would definitely stay in this hotel again as it was excellent value for money although I would imagine very expensive in the summer months.

The outside of the hotel looked very shabby and needed a good painting. When looking out of our window in the room the balcony was very dirty and shabby as well.

All in all a good weekend away.

Room Tip: Opt for the back of the hotel probably less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    36
    28
    20
    14
See reviews for
12
54
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Weymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We booked this hotel to relax in the facilities after Christmas shopping. We stayed on Tuesday 9th December, booking through Late Rooms.

On arrival we were given Room 340, furthest away on the Eastern corner of the Hotel. Once past the reception, and the restaurant, the rest of the Hotel was very, very shabby and was probably last decorated in the days of Basil Fawlty. The room itself was not too bad, Bathroom again a bit shabby, but it was very cold, heating hadn't come on and so on phoning Reception a convector heater was delivered, so good response and service by the friendly staff. I did note during the stay that every member of staff was Eastern European, not a problem in that they were very nice and efficient, but indicative of the Hotel policy in terms of employing people on the lowest rates possible.

We then went to use the pool and facilities. Changing rooms very worn out, poor condition, only 1 locker in the male changing room with a lock fitted.

Pool area was in a very poor condition. Roof tiles missing, pool tiles missing, paint peeling from walls, and the water was not warm, certainly not warm enough to relax in for long. It felt like a shabby outdoor lido which has been open to the elements (i.e. the Atlantic coast). We then went to use the Sauna, but this was out of order. The good news was that the Steam room was working. After this, we decided to shower and go back to the room - changing room showers were luke-warm. Back at the room, I had to lay a coat in front of the room door to seal the gap and stop the draft. Note, I could get my hand under the door, and this was a fire door fitted with an intumescent strip to prevent smoke. Luckily for us there was no fire,

After a night of broken sleep (flat roof, either rodents, gulls or squirrels, not sure which, but these were not quiet, not the Hotel's fault), I tried to have a shower. Very little water pressure from the shower nozzle, i.e. a dribble. It was not possible to shower properly. After drying I realised that the shower nozzle pipe was too long for the gap and was kinked.

Very fed up by this time. Complained to the duty manager, but this was a lost cause. In fact the only good thing was breakfast which was reasonable.

I have stayed in 'Russian' Hotels in Poland before with better facilities than this hotel. I would not stay at this hotel again, nor any others in the chain - be warned.

I have photos of the shower and the door, so am not making this up.

Alec

Room Tip: Try another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We booked through buyagift, on arrival the hotel looked dated and in need of new decor throughout. Marked carpets and flaking paint, wallpaper pealing away from the wall in areas and a poorly layed out bathroom with a loo roll holder that could not be reached from the toilet.

We then proceded to the bar area for an evening snack spent 15mins stood at the bar due to a party night. Then the barman fails to get the drinks without been reminded after moving onto another party night goer! The second evening I enquire if there is food been served as stated in the in room book to be rudely told no the kitchen is busy with 350 party night orders!

The only positive been breakfast which was of decent quality and hot but a real lack of service no names used although they ask for a room number.

In summary this hotel needs to focus on staying guests not just the party goers! With the amount of choice of hotels in Bournemouth simliarly priced I would urge everyone to look elsewhere and if it wasnt booked through buy a gift I would be looking for a part refund to compensate the abismal customer service

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wessex_Management, Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for your review Adambroadhead1985,

Im sorry you did not find the wessex to your liking and in particular, the christmas parties that we were holding. It is to be expected that any medium/large hotel in December will be holding parties, especially on a weekend. But I can only apologise if this was to your dissatisfaction.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for our wedding anniversary and took our baby. The facilities were good and we used the pool both days: the towels provided for use by the pool need changing as they didn't dry you at all! The restaurant and bar was lovely and we had a great meal. Customer service was excellent and the room was big and provided us with an idea base x

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wessex_Management, Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for your review Sarah H,

Im delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Wessex and we hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have just got back from a weekend at the Wessex. we had a great time .Our room was warm comfortable and clean. All staff we met were friendly,helpful and polite. The Wessex is a three star hotel and as such fits that bill well.We didn't eat at the hotel except for a sharer platter one lunchtime and that was the best sharer platter we have had .Well done to all at the Wessex. I think sometimes people expect five star accommodation etc for peanuts as I said the Wessex is a good value for money hotel we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wessex_Management, Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thankyou for your review Jenny6052,

Im delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed the sharing platter (their nice arent they). I will pass on your comments to the team and I hope to welcome you back to the wessex in the future.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here for 2 nights in October as a couple. We used a bed & breakfast + 1 meal on the first night voucher. The hotel looks tired from the outside but honestly, we stayed here for a relaxing weekend with my husband so it didn't bother us. Check in was quick and Wifi was free, which was a good point even if the connection was not the best. The lift was a bit strange, one of those old fashion one, allowing only 2 people in. Not great if you have a lot of luggage. The room was not amazing. It was simple and the decoration clearly dated. The bed was the most uncomfortable we had ever slept in.. TV, tea/coffee facilities, wardrobe and hair dyer. The bathroom looked old and the bathroom extractor fan was very noisy. It took a long time to get the hot water in the shower. Nice and soft towels.
We had a meal on the first evening, and it was great ! The food was freshly cooked, well presented and very tasty ! We had the chicken and prawn fajitas and we enjoyed it a lot. The service was not up to standards, waitress was not very attentive and did not seem to know the menu.
We had breakfast both mornings, it was ok but we would not have paid for it if we had not been using a voucher. Very expensive for what is is. Toast, tea, coffee, cereals, yoghurts and juice. Cooked food looked overlooked under the lights and was dry.

Overall it was ok for 2 nights, close to the town centre (around 15 mn walk) but not close to the station.. We would not go back as there is lots of other options in bournemouth for better value for money.

Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wessex_Management, Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thankyou for your review Emendra,

Im delighted you found your stay at the Wessex enjoyable and note all of your comments.

I hope that you decide to use the wessex again in the future.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Stayed here for two nights for a conference in Bournemouth. Staff we dealt with at the reception desk were not all very approachable and appeared to be occupied with chatting in the back room of the reception desk.

Rooms generally were quite a good size, bathroom attached was fine - some may say needs a touch up but all functional. The room was very warm when we first checked in, after turning down the radiators it was much more pleasant temperature in the room!

Lift was a bit old school only allowing two persons to use it at a time - maybe not ideal for those who use of a wheelchair?

Breakfast was continental and included the price we paid for the stay. The toast came out anaemic first time through and then burnt on the second time through (there was a sign to say not to change the settings of the toaster!) Full english breakfast was self service, unfortunately the sausages and bacon were very fatty leaving a very fatty residue on the tray which they were left on whilst on the hot plate - especially around the sausages - not very appealing at 8:30am. Most of the food on the hot plate looked like it had been there for quite some time and not particularly hot.

We did have access to the pool and gym during our stay, which was a nice benefit. Also able to Park at the Hotel for free over the duration of our stay.

Overall, it was a average hotel stay and perhaps was reflected in the price we paid.

Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wessex_Management, Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thankyou for your review hd44,

Im delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Wessex and we hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Wessex Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wessex Hotel

Address: West Cliff Rd, Bournemouth BH2 5EU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wessex Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Wessex Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wessex Hotel Bournemouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wessex Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.