We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and Clean.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wessex Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Wessex Hotel to your Saves list
Wessex Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   West Cliff Rd, Bournemouth BH2 5EU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 71 Hotels in Bournemouth
Hartfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Comfortable and Clean.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

I was expecting worse in view of the reviews here. The fact is that this was probably one of the cheapest hotels available in Bournemouth on the night in question so given the price, it was a surprisingly good offer of accommodation for the price, to include breakfast.

Firstly, the hotel has very spacious public areas and plenty of parking for guests. The room, although admittedly not decorated in anything exciting stylistically, was very comfortable and not at all cramped for a single room. The bathroom was even less exciting in terms of decor, it was basic and yes, dated, but nothing could be faulted as to the standard of hygiene. All was spotlessly clean and room was with wifi.

Breakfast was good. It's a buffet to include full English. Staff are attentive. OK, food not cooked to order but that means not waiting and this is a fairly budget hotel so no different than most others at this price range and above.

There is a indoor swimming pool and it was empty at 8.30am. Again, it could do with a lick of paint but it's a pleasant area and a bonus as many other local hotels have no pool.

If I wanted to be picky, I would have liked some hair conditioner in the room as there was just a general wash all your bits liquid in a mini plastic pot. The other thing is the hotel exterior that gives away its now slightly downtrodden status. This was no doubt once a grand hotel but badly needs a bit of exterior and interior painting and decorating to reclaim its previous position. So don't book it if you want to impress but if you are realistic about what to expect for a fairly budget price, you should not be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wessex_Management, Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you for your review S_frost209,

I thought that was a very honest and balanced review.

Im delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I hope to welcome you back in the future.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    39
    30
    20
    14
See reviews for
13
57
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Stayed for one night for my birthday and daughters birthday, when booking central reservation could not have been better telling us they would try and place our two rooms close together, however on arrival rooms were ground floor and fourth floor the receptionist was not a friendly warm person and I don't understand this as her work would be more enjoyable if she interacted with guests. She made no attempt to sort anything for us and although there is no guarantee rooms can be near each other we were informed by duty mngr that no one had communicated our wishes just like no one communicated the fact it was our birthdays and my daughter is a vegetarian so no option for her at breakfast even although we asked, it was not our fault they don't communicate yet we are the ones who miss out. On the positive side rooms are clean and large having a shower and a bath was great.

Room Tip: We had premier rooms and these were very roomy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wessex_Management, Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you for your review Sandyvickery,

Its my understanding that you booked through Expedia, looking at your booking I can confirm that your request for your rooms to be close together was not passed onto the hotel. And as the hotel was at near full occupancy, the receptionist was not able to assist you.

We do advise that if you do book through third parties and have special requests, that you contact the hotel direct to ensure these requests were passed onto ourselves.

I hope to welcome you back to the Wessex again in the future

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

We have been staying as a family at The Wessex now for many years- also meeting up with friends in recent years.
Over the past couple of visits we have made comments about how the hotel badly needed a refurb and a good tidy up of the appearance outside.
Well I am pleased to say that I was pleasantly surprised . The hotel has recently been taken over and the new management are trying. Work is being done on painting the outside and other work I understand is being planned.
We were also pleasantly surprised by the hotel food- pretty awful last year but we had a good meal this.
So......give them a chance !!

Room Tip: Premier rooms are pretty good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wessex_Management, Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you for your review colin057,

The most enjoyable part of the summer for me has been speaking with regulars such as yourselves who have seen the improvements that have been made over the recent months. We are under no illusions however, we have a long way left to go.

We look forward to seeing you again next summer and hopefully we will have more improvements to show you.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KENT
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Sad,tired & dated. The decor in the bedroom was shabby, the bathroom was rank & the lift was an experience. We were at the front of the hotel, very noisy Saturday evening at 3 in the morning through traffic & shouting people. Perhaps the back would have been quieter. On the up side - comfy bed & clean. Hot water came out of the shower with enough pressure even though it was a mixer running off the bath taps.

Room Tip: No good rooms in this hotel. Asked the cleaning staff & she said they were all the same - rubbis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wessex_Management, Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you for your review btsread,

We are sorry that the hotel was not to your liking, St James Hotels acquired the hotel in March this year and are aware of its tired decor. We are in the process of a property improvement program and we hope that you would consider using the Wessex again once this has advanced.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

public areas at front look swish ie reception and dining but behind the scenes the rooms are tatty, the bedding stained. It looks positively grubby although in fairness the decorating is so poor its a filth trap. Booked with on site therapy at Only Way Is Wessex - they did not bother turning up for two appts and the hotel could not care less as they lease the space.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wessex_Management, Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you for your review Sarah 996,

We are sorry that the hotel wasnt to your liking, the hotel was taken over by St James Hotels in March this year and we are in the process of improve the standards both in service and decor.

I can only apologise on behalf of The Only Way is Wessex, this Salon is independently owned and operated and has no affiliation with the hotel. I will however pass on your comments to the owner.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

My boyfriend & I stayed here on Sunday 3rd August for 2 nights as we were visiting his family so only wanted a hotel as a base really. We checked in at 10pm and the receptionist was lovely. We made our way to our room and were shocked as to how warm it was, we opened the windows and eventually it cooled down! The room was fine for what we needed apart from the wallpaper peeling off the wall and the bed linen having an awful stench! I understand the hotel has been taken over and is being refurbished but why sell a room in that condition. The bathrooms are very dated with a shower that trickles.
We had breakfast included in our room rate which was ok, the young girl pointed us in the direction of a table and that was it, we slowly worked out we had to get our own tea and coffee as well as breakfast, this isn't an issue but to be informed of this would be a better idea maybe. By 9.10am there was no juice of any kind or sausage or bacon and this happened both mornings.
On check out I was kept waiting for 10 minutes while the receptionist finished her telephone call, she was working alone so that's not a problem but an apology for being kept waiting would have been nice. I would have told the receptionist my above issues if she would have asked how my stay was on check out.
I work Front of House in a hotel myself and know that not everything is perfect behind the scenes with certain aspects such as room renovations being out of staff members control but that shouldn't effect customer service!
We would return as the location is excellent for the beach, shops and visiting family, free car parking and free wifi are excellent too!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wessex_Management, Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Thank you for your review Batman 1966,

Im delighted that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your feedback on the areas we still need some work on.
Weve sadly had a high volume of staff turn over in the last few weeks and its clear we need to carry out some more training, particularly with our breakfast service.
As you have pointed out in your review, the hotel is under new ownership and the company are in the process of improving the hotels dated decor, sadly the hotel has suffered from years of under investment and we have rather alot of work to carry out.
We hope that you will try us again once we have completed our property improvement.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We had a lovely time here. For the price we paid in August, with full leisure facilities, massive breakfast, near town and shops, free wifi and parking it was a bargain! Yes the building decor needs updating but the important thing is that the room felt clean. We honestly couldn't have asked for more. Except the toilet roll was on the wrong way aaaahh!!!!!!

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wessex_Management, Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thank you for your review Tim G,

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wessex Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wessex Hotel

Address: West Cliff Rd, Bournemouth BH2 5EU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wessex Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Wessex Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wessex Hotel Bournemouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wessex Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.