We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff great, rooms need updating” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wessex Hotel

Save Saved
You added Wessex Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wessex Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   West Cliff Rd, Bournemouth BH2 5EU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 70 Hotels in Bournemouth
Spalding, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Staff great, rooms need updating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

This was my second stay at the hotel on a dancing weekend. The reception area looks very smart upon arrival but the rooms could do with a refresh. That said, yes the furniture looked old and shabby but the rooms were clean and well equipped with everything you could need. The bed was comfortable. I shared a room with a friend on both occasions and this time we had a mini suite with a separate bedroom and sitting room with a sofa bed so we both had our own space. The bathroom was clean and the shower mixer tap worked extremely well. They provided plenty of towels, shower gel etc. The food was good and they were extremely accommodating. We had a member of our group with special dietary needs i.e. no dairy or gluten and the chef adapted the menu for her so she still had a choice of meals. They also provided gluten free bread. The staff were extremely helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them.
We also tried out the pool this time. There is a small rectangular outdoor pool but the indoor pool is more for leisure/lounging as it is circular with a pillar in the centre. The staff at the pool were also helpful and they provide towels. However the changing room has no cubicles in which you can get dressed with a bit of privacy, just a communal space. It has 3 shower cubicles though.
The function room where we spent most of our time is a good size and air conditioned. The dance floor was mostly good but had a couple of "divots" which need to be attended to.
It is walking distance from town but down a steep hill so you might want to get the bus back, which stops outside the hotel.
There was also free wifi, accessed by means of a code reception give you on a little slip of paper. It lasts for 48hrs and then you can get a new one. It is the first time recently I've stayed somewhere where it actually works!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard B, Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the trouble to write such an extensive report. Your comments regarding the room condition is fair and we are lokking forward rectifing such negatives. I will pass on you comments about the staff and thier efforts together with the food quality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    26
    17
    16
    11
See reviews for
10
33
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Maldon
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

First the staff. Every member of staff I dealt with was friendly and did their best to help, no complaints here. When you enter the Wessex, the public areas are spacious and acceptably furnished. Check in at reception was very smoothly handled by staff who know how to smile. Now the bedroom, here things begin to change. I am sure that back in 1965 or so when the room was last decorated and furnished, the guests were delighted. However in 2014 it is not acceptable to charge for such shabby accommodation. Just a few specific observations, a window cracked right the way across, a toilet which only flushed when the handle was held town, taps which were difficult to operate, a shower which changed from hot to cold and vice versa while showering. No hook on the back of the bathroom door. No where to put towels where they were readily to hand after a bath or shower. Meals, totally inconsistent, some courses very good and well presented others terrible. Will I return? Most unlikely.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard B, Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
I am sorry that you felt your stay was so below standard. We do recognise that improvements are needed. Currently there is a new set of menus being introduced and we have expanded our maintenance team to deal with breakdowns more swiftly. Our aim is to move onto general bedroom refurbishments as soon as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey uk
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We have just come back from The Wessex,the staff were so nice and friendly,Mel in the leisure centre was so lovely and helpful she showed us around and explained the system,there was also another female assistant in the leisure area who was also lovely but we didn't catch her name.They provide pool towels free of charge,you can also join in with classes they have eg,water aerobics. Lots of sun beds around both indoor & outdoor pool.
Our room was clean and tidy,yes it was a bit dated but we slept well, the window opened wide,the bathroom could also do to be updated,but it was stocked with shower wash and hand cream,toilet rolls and lots of soft white towels all you need.There was a hair drier,trouser press,tea & coffee, TV in room.
The lounge and bar area are very smart. We had a good breakfast you could choose from cooked,continental, fruit,yogurt,cereals,toast,apple/orange juice hot drinks ample for us. We didn't eat at the hotel in the evening but the menu looked very nice and It was very competitively price something like 2 courses for £17.99 & 3 courses for £22

The hotel has ample parking,
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would defiantly stay again.
Well done to all your staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wessex_Management, Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you for your review Dawn S,

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and I will pass on your comments to Mel and Beata in the leisure club.

We have just invested in new sun loungers for the out door pool and im glad that you were able to make use of them in the great weather we have had over the last few week.

I hope to welcome you back to the wessex in the near future.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Upgraded to a superior room which was more expensive than Premiere Inn and Travel Lodge. Unfortunately, the quality of decor and furnishings was like taking a trip back to the 70's.

Room was large, bed was comfortable, Gym needs updated equipment, Pools looked nice, Sauna was good, staff (that I encountered) were all foreign and tried to be helpful.

Overall, a lovely building in a lovely location but very tired and in need of some TLC.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wessex_Management, Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you for your review Mark F,

I would agree that our superior rooms are more expensive than a Premier Inn and Travel lodge even though they are more tired that you would find in these establishments. The reasoning for this is that we include car parking, leisure facilities, wi-fi and breakfast, all of which are usually charged as an extra in these establishments.
St James Hotels took over the hotel in March of this year, we are working on an internal refurbishment program which will excellerate once we obtain the free hold. We have invested heavilly in the last few weeks on the breakfast standards, pillows, towels and sun loungers.

We hope that you will use the wessex again in the future.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Ok the bedrooms in this hotel are a little tired and need updating but if you want a good value hotel that is a short walk from the beach and town then you could do a lot worse than the Wessex. The bedrooms are clean and spacious and the staff are friendly and helpful. The pool is lovely and warm and the indoor pool is one depth (4 feet) all over which means you don't get out of your depth if you are not a confident swimmer like me. Breakfast was hot and plentiful in pleasant surroundings and for evening meals there were deals in the main restaurant that made it affordable which makes a change from a lot of hotels. On the lower ground floor next to the pool area is an Italian restaurant which serves good food at reasonable prices. Only downside was the hard uncomfortable pillows! They really need to invest in some new softer pillows! Other than that I can't fault it and would definitely stay here again (but would bring my own pillow!)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wessex_Management, Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thankyou for your review Panperry,

Im delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that you enjoyed the breakfast and food offerings and our leisure club.

We are currently in the process of carrying out an internal refurbishment program which I can gladly advise that this includes purchasing new pillows.

We hope to welcome you back to the wessex in the future.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

The receptionist called sarah very bad attitude to me and a warm welcome and a smile wouldn't go amiss. we had a drab and dirty room why is this because we had a little dog.we paid good money to stay in your so called hotel,the breakfast was rotten, the bacon was as tough as old boots.we won't be back and anyone reading this won't ether.

Room Tip: there isn't one
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wessex_Management, Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Thankyou for your review 971Lucy,

I find it quite sad that you have created an account on trip advisor just to pick fault at a member of our staff, I can only assume that if you used the attitude that you have used in your review with this member of staff that they have responded in suit, not that I condone such actions and I will have a quiet word in her ear.

Your review also states that the hotel is old and dirty and the breakfast is poor, now the decor of the rooms is in fact dated and its something we are addressing but if you read the other reviews on the hotel, they all state that although the building is dated, its clean, the staff are friendly and the breakfast is of a high quality, basically they all state the complete opposite of what you have said.

You end your review saying that you wont be back and after others have read your review, they wont either, Im sure that having read your review, most will pay more attention to more constructive reviews which have been left for the hotel.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We had a great stay here, the stay was a gift for us from our daughter for Christmas, yes the Wessex needs a refurb, the squeaky floorboards did need attention but if the hotel is waiting for the freehold lease to come through then trying to do anything about this would be a waste of time and money, so I can completely understand why this has not been a priority, apart from being in need of updating there isn't anything else wrong with this hotel. It's within 10/15 mins walk from the seafront and shops, with one of the best crazy golf we have played.
The staff were all very pleasant, polite and friendly, the food was absolutely fine, breakfast was as good as any hotel we have stayed in. It was also very clean, the beds were comfortable.
My only criticism was the temperature of our room, we were very fortunate to have extremely good weather and as a woman 'of a certain age' I really struggled with how hot our room was, we were advised by signs in the room to keep windows locked but this was not possible with it being so hot, so we took our chances and left the window open night and day as we didn't have anything with real value with us, had our stay been for longer than the two nights we would have asked to be moved, our room was 157 on the first floor, we felt comfortable leaving the window open as the room looked over a small enclosed area therefore making it hard for anyone trying to access this space. I was impressed that there was use of an ironing room, we have never had this available to us before!
I would just like to add that I feel customers should have some sort of notification on arrival as to a certain member of staff regarding the fact that he was clearly Autistic and anyone that has not had experience of this before may well have taken offense at the very direct manner in which he dealt with people, I have an Autistic Nephew myself so was able to pickup on this immediately where others may have just thought him abrupt, personally I was impressed that the Wessex had given this member of staff a chance of employment which involves working with the public, the member of staff with him was very good at the way he dealt with him. There should be more employers prepared to take on staff like this!
We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again, thank you for a thoroughly lovely weekend.

Room Tip: Room 157 was south facing and very warm, avoid if you don't like to be too warm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wessex_Management, Manager at Wessex Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thankyou for your review Tinawest5,

Im delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, we have been fortunate to have some very hot weather over the last couple of weeks, its great to be able to enjoy this weather down the beach but not so good when you try and sleep at night. We have ordered some more fans in case guests need them, which I appreciate wont cool the rooms down but will help circulate the air and make it easier to sleep.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the wessex in the future.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wessex Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wessex Hotel

Address: West Cliff Rd, Bournemouth BH2 5EU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wessex Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Wessex Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wessex Hotel Bournemouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wessex Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.