We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon Tea” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Langtry Manor Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Langtry Manor Hotel to your Saves list
Langtry Manor Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   26 Derby Road | East Cliff, Bournemouth BH1 3QB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 70 Hotels in Bournemouth
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Afternoon Tea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Had a marvellous afternoon tea with the family.We booked for 3pm yesterday but because my son needed to get back home because of the baby we turned up at 1pm basically to cancel our reservation but they prepared an afternoon tea for us at 1.30 so that they could get away earlier and the staff were wonderful - no quibbles.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    117
    33
    18
    23
See reviews for
48
402
8
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Truro, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

What do I have to say about this hotel&venue....
Everything! I do not normally leave reviews for hotels. But how could I not leave a review for these wonderful staff?! The venue is lovely and great but its the STAFF that made our stay memorable.
When we picked the hotel as the venue for our wedding reception the staffing at the hotel was going through a change over..! But the hotel only improved for the better!
The reception staff were lovely and completely professional. It being our wedding I wanted everything to be perfect for my wife-to-be, as such I had a few special requests for the night before which they carried out perfect. This brings me to the management. They were lovely and Tom helped with some other questions I had.
But the memorable person from our special time will always be Marion...
This wonderful, professional, caring and dedicated lady helped us plan out wedding with ease!
(note the word "Helped" and not "interfered")
Marion made our stay special and memorable. Everything down to the name place-mats and table decorations were arranged as planned.
everything was perfect and the day ran super smoothly. Marion and my wife had a brilliant relationship and relaxed her when arranging everything.
Marion worked in parnership with our chosen third party company service providers and ensured the flowers, cake, car, etc were arranged in such a way that there would be no delays or problems. The success of our wedding running smoothly was down to Marion and her experience of events management. I would not change a thing, everything went perfectly.
11 out of 10!
Good Luck with everything Marion & the team at Langtry Manor!
We will see you for our anniversary!
Mr & Mrs Adlem

Room Tip: We stayed in the GoldCup room in The Langtry Lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

My husband and I decided to have a one night break away for some rest and relaxation. We have children with special needs so a night away is rare and very important to us. It is important to us to have the right hotel so that we feel comfortable and a little spoilt for a few hours.
We chose to stay at Langtry Manor which looked just lovely on the web site. On arrival we were not disappointed, all of the outside areas looked well cared for and maintained to a high standard. On entering the hotel we were greated at reception by staff who asked us about our journey, if we were well and a porter who was only too pleased to escort us to our room. We were offered complimentary Tea and Coffee of arrival and show to our room.
We had spoken to the hotel about our stay while we were planning our break and to our surprise on arrival we had been upgraded to the Kings Suite. The room was a wonderful size with a four poster bed, lounge area and an en suite that offered a spa bath with a TV at the end. There was fresh fruit on the table, a well stocked mini bar, fesh bath robes and slippers and even complimentary toiletries that smelt devine!!
In the morning we sat in the beautiful dining room and enjoyed a wonderful breakfast cooked to perfection. The menu had just about everything you can imagine!!
Hotel staff showed us around the hotel and spoke of the history of the building as we expressed an interest. There is a small museum on the first floor for guests to enjoy.
I would 100% recommend this hotel. We will visit again, it's now our secret escape desination where we can feel a little bit special.
Thank you to all the staff, we loved our stay with you. x

Room Tip: If you are able to - book a spa bath room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014 via mobile

We were looking for a nice traditional english hotel so picked here. We arrived to find that every member of staff was from Eastern Europe which took away the english feel and left us feeling like we could have been in Lithuania or somewhere of that nature. Although the staff were very nice

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, Head Butler at Langtry Manor Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear Countryside

Thank you for taking the trouble to write a review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed the service.

We are able to provide excellent service because we are an equal opportunities employer. We are privileged to have staff from the UK and from twelve other countries of which 4 are in Eastern Europe. We do not select staff on the basis of race, gender or nationality but on customer service quality and reliability.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We spent the first two nights of our honeymoon here the week after we got married in July 2014. We booked through Secret Escapes and reserved the Lilly Langtry room. I couldn't be happier with the service that we were given throughout the two nights we were there.
On arrival, we were greeted politely at the reception desk, and informed that we were early for check in, but the receptionist suggested that we walk down to the beach as it is only a 10 min walk and it easy to access from the Toft ZigZag (walkway to the beach). The beach is beautiful, and long enough to not be crowded even at busy times. There are some really nice places to eat and down there (Urban Reef, and Aruba), and there are loads of activities for all ages both on land and sea.
We were shown to our room which was very pretty indeed, a very comfy four poster bed, the heart shape Jacuzzi bath, and the balcony overlooking the gardens were particular highlights. The fully stocked mini bar/fridge is also very handy, and reasonably priced if you do fancy a nightcap, or a quick bite of some chocolate.
We ate in the hotel restaurant that night, and had a fantastic meal. The service we found to be impeccable. On the second night we jumped in a cab and headed over to Sandbanks and ate at a lovely restaurant called Café Shore. If you like seafood, and watching the sunset over the water with the boats bobbing up and down as you eat, this place is a must.
The breakfast was huge, and very tasty, and there is a good selection of both hot and cold options. The hotel is also only a 15min walk, or very short drive from the town centre, so an ideal location, and excellent hotel all round.

Room Tip: Lilly Langtry room is excellent for a romantic stay, but if you really want to experience luxury try...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

As a surprise anniversary gift my Husband booked a champagne afternoon tea at the Langtry Manor for both of us . What a lovely afternoon we had, our waiter was fabulous, the food as usual of a very high quality. We had the added surprise of our afternoon tea being served with a sparkler and a lovely scroll from all at the Langtry wishing us a Happy Anniversary. The staff at the Langtry always make a great effort so that you enjoy your day. We have visited on a few occasions and each time is always as good as the last. Well done to all the Staff at the Langtry you never fail to deliver high standards of service and make your guests feel special.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

This was our third visit in a decade and the hotel retains its unique character. Booked a bargain deal for a couple of nights in a "small" room. Small it was, but still good and with some little luxuries like robes and slippers. Had dinner on one night and menu was varied and the food very good. Staff try to be very helpful, and are certainly friendly, but language difficulties sometimes got in the way. The hotel, and its annex, are showing their age, but that does not detract from what is a very different (in a nice way) hotel experience. It is great that such places still exist, and all credit to the management and staff for maintaining something that is both different and attractive.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Langtry Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langtry Manor Hotel

Address: 26 Derby Road | East Cliff, Bournemouth BH1 3QB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#9 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#17 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Langtry Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Langtry Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Langtry Manor
Langtry Manor Bournemouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Langtry Manor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.