We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Langtry Manor Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Langtry Manor Hotel to your Saves list
Langtry Manor Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   26 Derby Road | East Cliff, Bournemouth BH1 3QB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 71 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
“A beautiful hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Just stayed in the Langtry manor what a lovely hotel with nice staff. The rooms are beautifully decorated. They also welcome dogs (i have a boxer) i i didn't want to come home and can't wait to go back

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaraHoward, General Manager at Langtry Manor Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Langtry Manor, we appreciate your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    121
    33
    18
    21
See reviews for
50
416
9
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Braintree, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

The hotel is beautiful, we upgraded to a four poster with jacuzzi bath and it was well worth it. Our weather wasnt great so it was lovely to relax in a large stylish room and soak away the stress in bubbles. The staff are very attentive and helpful, the only disappointment was the restaurant as it did not live up to our expectations (well presented but not much of it!)
We will definately be returning.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaraHoward, General Manager at Langtry Manor Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and soaking in the jacuzzi! Sorry to hear that the restaurant did not live up to your high expectations, we shall certainly make sure you do on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We have just returned from 2 nights at Langtry Manor. The hotel is a refreshing change from the usual modern and characterless rooms found in most mid-range hotels with a lovely mix of traditional design and modern comforts.

We had a four poster and jacuzzi room in the lodge (next door to the main hotel across a quiet residential road) which was beautifully decorated and clean with antique furniture in keeping with the period of the building and a jacuzzi bath in the room. There were a couple of small issues, the main one being that there was no shower (except for a fixed shower head above the bath that produced a trickle of tepid water which was obviously more for show than use) and it was not practical to fill the large jacuzzi bath each time we wanted to wash. However, when we mentioned this to the receptionist the next morning she offered us a complimentary upgrade to a luxury room for the second night - the gold cup, which was fabulous.

The breakfast was delicious, I had a full English breakfast on the first morning and smoked salmon and scrabbled egg on the second, in addition to fresh juice, tea and pastries.

Overall, I would probably have rated the hotel 4/5 based on the first room (the grand national) mainly due to the lack of shower as I believe this is something that most people would want and expect in this type of hotel. However, I have awarded 5/5 due to the excellent customer service whereby the staff exceeded expectations to ensure that we were happy with our stay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic meal at Langtry Manor Restaurant. Not the cheapest in town but food and service was impeccable. The next stop is to stay in the hotel. Pure luxury. Would recommend this place to anyone. We have been to Bournemouth a number of times but never found this place. Stumbled on it today by accident. I'm so glad we did. For anyone interested it is just off the Christchurch Road a short distance out of Bournemouth. The hotel is actually on Derby Road.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaraHoward, General Manager at Langtry Manor Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Lovely to read that you enjoyed your dining experience Keith. We are a little of the beaten track but that just adds to the charm of this historic manor. We look forward to the next time that you visit, hopefully as a hotel guest this time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

The outside of the Langtry Manor Hotel looks great, their web site is impressive and the Tripadvisor reviews were very good - but....

Entering our room I had a sinking feeling, like I had been there before 20 years ago (possilby 30 years ago). The room had a cheap acrylic carpet and some ancient secondhand furniture.

The bed was soft and cheap.

The toilet flush didn't work and I had to take the top off the resviour and trigger the refill manually.

The radiator in the room didn't work.

In short, the room reminded me why I don't visit the UK seaside any-more. It was interesting only in so far as it shows how far our expectations have risen.

On the plus side, the staff were helpful and friendly. Breakfast was acceptable (we went for the salmon option) and the public areas of the hotel were as nice as in the photos.

I had hoped to find a gem tucked away in Bournemouth but I guess the economics of running a hotel on the South Coast are just impossible.

Room Tip: I don't think there is any reason to hope that some rooms are better than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaraHoward, General Manager at Langtry Manor Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
I was disappointed to read your comments, it does not appear that we were your cup of tea.
The Sarah Bernhardt is a lovey room overlooking the garden and includes some antique pieces it is true, the flush has been checked and a new part replaced. I wish you had mentioned at the time the issues that you had with the room as we could have offered you an alternative. We are glad that you enjoyed the hospitality of our team and if you change your mind we would love to welcome you back to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Do I need to say more? The jacuzzi in the room stopped working and what happened is that the moment i turn on the Jacuzzi, there was power failure in the whole hotel. And the hotel tried to blame it on me!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaraHoward, Manager at Langtry Manor Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Hi Muralihere

Having read your review we are wondering if you have the correct hotel. Whilst it was nearly a year ago, we have no recollection of this event. Had you mentioned something at the time, we would of course made amends.

If this is the correct hotel, we would like to sincerely apologise for your experience. Please do call us so we can discuss it further.

Regards

Tara Howard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Excellent venue for a relaxing Afternoon Tea in wonderful surroundings. Lovely gardens too if the weathers nice, Lots of yummy sandwiches, cakes, scones, mini chocolate éclair's and a few strawberries too. But best of all a good cup of tea. A really enjoyable afternoon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaraHoward, General Manager at Langtry Manor Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Hi Lindy

Great to see that you enjoyed our delicious afternoon tea. It can be difficult to work here sometimes when you are surrounded by such tempting goodies. We think a great cup of tea is an essential element and good to see that you agree. We look forward to welcoming you back next time, who knows if the weather is sunny you might even be able to enjoy tea in the gardens!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Langtry Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langtry Manor Hotel

Address: 26 Derby Road | East Cliff, Bournemouth BH1 3QB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#15 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Langtry Manor Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotel.de, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Langtry Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Langtry Manor
Langtry Manor Bournemouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Langtry Manor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.