We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In defence of Langtry's wedding arrangement appointments with weddiing coordinator.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Langtry Manor Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Langtry Manor Hotel to your Saves list
Langtry Manor Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   26 Derby Road | East Cliff, Bournemouth BH1 3QB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 71 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“In defence of Langtry's wedding arrangement appointments with weddiing coordinator.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

I would like to respond in defence for: Langtry's meeting with the Wedding Co ordinator to discuss wedding plans, as opposed to, Marta L's surprisingly bad review on 25 th March 2012, titled 'Wedding Enquiry' 3 mins to understand, it wasn't worth it'

I too, with my fiancee, had a meeting with the wedding co ordinator a year ago. We were arriving to stay in Bournemouth for Easter 2011 and she kindly fitted us in for an appointment on Easter Saturday afternoon.

I used to live round the corner years ago and always admired the hotel. Now based in London, this was my dream wedding venue, what better, than the love nest of a king? My fiancee and I, were and are, having a smallish intimate wedding, taking advantage of the special midweek offer (if at time still avaliable!) at Langtry Manor, and just about stretching to an evening reception there too, which was recently decided, as we'd like the whole day and evening to be at the hotel, as its beautiful and is pure definition of elegance and good taste. Unfortunately, we have yet to set a date, as my fiancee has to relocate.

When we met with the wedding co ordinator, she was very welcoming and most helpful, showing us around the hotel and explaining the wedding options. In no way, were we made to feel inadequate that we could only afford a small midweek wedding for maximum of 25 guests as indicated in the special offer. At that time, may I add, we had not even financially considered an evening reception there too. Yet, we were treated very cordially and made to feel welcome. Considering we had no concrete wedding date to offer, some hotels may have seen this appointment as a waste of time. Here at Langtry Manor it was not the case.

Since then, a year later, only quite recently, I have emailed quite a few times with enquiries relating to 'Our Dream Wedding' (one day at Langtry's, in the hopefully not too distant future!) and have always had an informative, friendly and most helpful reply. We were in Bournemouth at a friends at Easter and dropped round to the hotel for a drink, to refresh our memory of the place. Hazel, at reception,, on hearing we intended to wed there, got a delightful member of staff, Biata Lukowska to show us around 'the wedding venue' again.

We did have a lovely experience with the wedding co ordinator last year, and she is one and the same now. In response to Marta L's negative review, I, say: don' be put off by it. If you are thinking of a wedding venue, make your own mind up. Go and visit the wedding co ordinator. I personally ( and my fiancee) don't think you will be disappointed.

A small, friendly quietly grand country hotel by the sea and yes, it caters for the smallest wedding budget...with a smile!

From Helen and Jason

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    120
    33
    18
    21
See reviews for
50
413
9
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Durban
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

A rather belated review after staying at Langtry in mid-December 2011. There are very mixed reviews of this hotel on this website, and I am also aware of criticism leveled after the Hotel Inspector TV programs in the UK. All I can say is that the room we had (Langtry Suite) was perfectly adequate, warm in mid-winter, a nice size, and reasonably well equipped. Two criticisms would be the in-room spa bath which was large but many of the nozzles refused to work, and the tiny cupboard of alternative "bathroom" to supplement the spa bath. Also although the room appeared quite clean, there was a thick layer of dust on top of the canopy of the 4-poster bed.

The service was excellent, from reception to check-out. No complaints at all. We were welcomed into the bar pre-dinner and offered snacks and drinks, and even advised by reception to arrive for dinner the second night a little earlier than booked to try to avoid service delays from a large non-resident block booking that had been made for dinner. As it happens, the block booking were awfully slow and indecisive in making orders etc and service was still delayed, so the chef sent out a complimentary intermediate course for us to offset the delay in our meal. A nice, unexpected, and very considerate touch.

The only other room we looked at was the main feature King's Room, which looked excellent - very impressive. I understand some of the other rooms are small, but can nor comment on them.

Being an old mansion house, the hotel layout was understandably somewhat disjointed and there were a lot of stairs which did nothing for old arthritic legs, but overall it was a pleasant, if rather expensive stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

We stayed at the beautiful Langtry Manor for a murder mystery weekend and had a lovely time. Its our second time going for the murder mystery weekend and once again everything was perfect from the lovely welcoming staff who always made you feel nothing was too much trouble to the excellent "murder". We ate the finest food and had a lovely room and all in all a great weekend!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

My husband took me for my 40th birthday. We stayed in the lillie Langtry room. The room was nice although smaller than I imagined. The jacuzzi bath was ok but not very powerful and takes ages to run!! Breakfast was lovely. The main thing about this hotel was the staff were excellent - nothing was too much trouble for them. I would say it was very expensive.

Room Tip: We stayed in the lillie Langtry room in the main part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

I was really looking forward to our stay in Langtry Manor over the easter holiday.
However for £260 even over easter for 2 nights bed and breakfast we were expecting a good quality room. Although they did make it clear that it was small it was no way worth this amount. We decided to check out other hotels on the same day and found superior rooms in bigger and better hotels in Bournemouth for the same amount with Sea views and a la carte dinner included. They even tried to put us off using the swimming pool down the road by saying it was dirty and was not up to the standard of their hotel. I wonder why this was or did they have to pay for each time we used the pool. We decided to leave and take up another hotel in Bournemouth which was fabulous - Do not stay here it is a rip off.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WALES
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

Bought a deal and for the money it was well worth it despite having to send the porridge back twice on the first morning uncooked and then sludge. The boiled eggs were also uncooked. The second morning breakfast was better apart from the toast - why serve up cheap and nasty bread - makes such a difference to a quality breakfast. We were in the Annexe (across the road from the main hotel - Sandown Room with a jacuzzi in a lovely bathroom. Think this was an upgrade as we stayed midweek. Comfy bed and a great telly on the wall. The reception staff were very nice and when i complained about the poor breakfast and that we were now not considering using the restaurant that evening as we were meeting up with old friends in the area. Her response was "There are different chefs on the in evening". Had Iwe been offered a sweetener to eat in the restaurant i.e10% off the total bill we might have eaten there. There was a lot of very sorrys but of course that doesn't cost anything. Enjoyed our stay but would I stay there again - probably not.

Room Tip: Ask for a free upgrade to a room with a jacuzzi
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VickyMicky, General Manager at Langtry Manor Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2012
Hello

We are so very please that you enjoyed your stay with us, the history, the room and the staff and I would like to apologise that the breakfast that day was not as it should have been.

We have investigated what happened that morning to ensure that it never happens again. Thank you so much for your feedback.

Regards

Tara Howard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

Came on a Groupon deal, the front desk sure made you feel cheap, no friendliness or warmth. Room tiny, telly only works when you retune every time, told it was a Bournemouth thing as they're resetting to digital, really, didn't have this problem at our next hotel. Bathroom smaller than tiny, brushing your teeth to be above the sink you'll hit your head on the wall when you lift your head.
Lovely setting, but day we arrived there was a wedding going on and the guests made sure no one was welcome to sit outside near them so nowhere to enjoy a cup of tea outside.
Dining staff were brilliant, maybe the front desk could be a bit less haughty and copy their manner.
Did not eat there so cannot comment, though we had breakfast there and that was good.
If you're into history of the house sure thing, else recommend you try somewhere else. Stayed 2 nights then moved to another hotel for rest of stay in Bournemouth which made the trip worthwhile, but we won't be returning here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VickyMicky, General Manager at Langtry Manor Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2012
Hello Oz

Thank you so much for the possitve feedback on the history of our beautiful hotel and the staff in the restaurant and the breakfast - its a shame that you didn't get round to experiencing our Fine Dining in Langtrys Restaurant also.

I apologise for the problems you experienced during your stay with us. We like to ensure all of our customers are happy. Due to the nature of the historic building, all of our rooms are unique, with different features and different sizes. We would be happy to offer a selection of different rooms, we just need our customers to let us know what they would like and we will do what we can to accommodate.

Again, than you for yor feed back as it is feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Langtry Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langtry Manor Hotel

Address: 26 Derby Road | East Cliff, Bournemouth BH1 3QB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#7 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#14 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Langtry Manor Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Langtry Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Langtry Manor
Langtry Manor Bournemouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Langtry Manor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.