We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Britannia Roundhouse Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Britannia Roundhouse Hotel to your Saves list
Britannia Roundhouse Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Meyrick Rd | Landsdowne, Bournemouth BH1 2PR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 70 Hotels in Bournemouth
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Poor”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Having booked another britannia hotel, I was moved before having even arrived. I thought I'd got a good deal, as the Roundhouse was twice the price of the hotel I'd booked and was very close to the pier in comparison. But I definitely wouldn't have paid the full price for it. The room wasn't in great condition, the carpets and upholstery were really worn down.

The tap was also leaking and it was obvious that it wasn't the first time from the brown stain under where it was leaking. I asked if somebody could fix it for me and they didn't have a clue what they were doing, and just tightened the screw with their hand, the leak starting again as soon as I used the tap. I used the metal disc on my room key in the end to tighten the screw myself.

Breakfast was included in my original booking, but in the transfer to this hotel it was missed off my booking, so I had to flag this up too. Not impressed. The only thing going for this hotel is the location.

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    80
    145
    91
    174
See reviews for
60
209
27
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Furniture that was still in one piece was from the 70's dirty dust everywhere asked to change rooms and it just kept getting worse.... this could be a great hotel if they invest in the rooms, two words DONT STAY... upgrade the rooms take a leaf out of premier inns book,, Still have not received our money back as did not stay, not a great start to my wifes birthday

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

You think I’m joking? No I’m NOT! Britannia Hotels should be ashamed at this travesty of what was once a nice [even a good middle-of-the-range] hotel in the centre of Bournemouth. The accommodation is now well past its ‘sell-by-date’!

I booked a double-room [single occupancy for 3 nights] via the phone number on www.britanniahotels.com‘s web pages and immediately became a captive having pre-paid.

The room I got [409] was dire; RuthMath’s previous review with photos of room 544 amply depicts the state of my room, if anything my dilapidated postage-stamp of a room was even worse.

Half the staff cannot speak adequate English, the buffet breakfast is poor. No fridge in room, in-room hairdryer looks like it came from a museum as does the 15” CRT TV, it costs an extra £3 per night car parking on top of the extravagant cost of room. The gents’ bar-room sit-down toilets do not flush properly. I could go on and on and on…,

The hotel appears to be taken over [at least during summer months] by endless coach loads of OAPs who appear to be paying less than half the cost and the dining room is then extended into the bar area to compensate. Nothing against the OAPs, I’m one myself but why should the coaches pay less than me and get better rooms?

The only good things are location and the WiFi works!

Room Tip: Don’t bother; Travel lodge, Premier Inns or many of the similar providers in Bournemouth provide bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

This hotel was awful! I really wish I had spent 1 minute looking at the reviews before booking. The hotel was meant to be cheap and cheerful but for £95 + parking what we got was an extremely dated room (this doesnt matter so much) but a dirty toilet, bathroom in general was dirty (no toilet roll!!), carpet looked like it was not hoovered from many guests before, even though we cannot check in until after 3pm, you would think they had time to clean?! the room smelt like stale smoke with fag burns on most surfaces. The windows were dirty ON THE INSIDE, the chair was broken and tatty. overall a shocking room. If I had not already paid in full and was extremely exhausted I would of asked for a full refund and gone else where. Cleanliness surely is the most important thing in a hotel even if they do not care about replacing decor?! I have to say the bed was clean, and was changed. Don't stay in room 650.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Stayed here for weekend with my partner, overall we was really pleased. The staff were very helpful literally bringing all our drinks food to room and this was even in the early hours of morning :) the restaurant was ok nothing great but for the price reasonable. The room we got was massive more an apartment. ..A seperate lounge which was huge a big double bedroom and a lovely bathroom. There was another room which i assume is an extra bedroom but that was locked. There are ironing facilities in a little room along the corridor. Don't get me wrong it's long overdue a make over but i wasn't complaining the price met what we recieved. It is very close to the beach too and the busy streets of clubs and shops. Be advised that the area there is quite high fir young people wanting to just get drunk

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Rather than writing any further reviews, as there are plenty to give you an idea, I have decided to simply show you a few pictures of our room.

They speak for themselves!

Only upside was the location. It's not even value for money.

Room Tip: nothing I can offer here...all of the rooms we saw were awful. All pictures were taken in room 544...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Amazing (comedy) value

Given Bournemouth’s status as one of the UK’s most popular destinations for stag and hen parties coupled with the fact that the Roundhouse is one of the few hotels in the area that provides rooms with three bedrooms, I was expecting the hotel to be a combination of What Happens in Sunny Beach and Hotel Inspectors. No reality TV show, however, could have prepared us for the reality awaiting at the Roundhouse.

Upon entering reception, we were greeted (in June) by the jolly sound of a Christmas CD and several cheerful Christmas decorations. After checking in, the lift took us to the sixth floor where we were met by some serious 80s décor. The look and feel of that period was further enhanced by a complimentary odour that had possibly lingered since that time. When entering our room, it became evident that the treats in store for us at the hotel had only just begun.

The bathroom door had on it a large brownish-red handprint, which resulted in a fun guessing game about how it originated. Our conclusions differed as it could conceivably have either been created via faeces or menstruation. In addition there was a potent smell of cigarettes which, despite the window being fully open, had not yet dissipated. I had thought that the smoking ban (given that it extends even to bus stops) would have prohibited guests from smoking in hotel rooms. Apparently not. Conveniently for anyone who enjoys smoking whilst sitting on the loo, there is an ash tray affixed to the bathroom sink. Less conveniently, the toilet was unfortunately both blocked and leaking onto the floor. The hotel kindly provided a pile of extra towels as a resolution to this.

I had misplaced a sandal strap, so had a look under the beds to see if it had dropped onto the floor. I was somewhat surprised to find that the cleaner had thoughtfully left us with some additional items in the room – a half empty bottle of whisky (with most of the contents spilt onto the carpet) and a rather large pair of leopard print knickers! We let reception know, and their response was ‘yeah, yep’. That was all.

Being certain that stag and hen parties could largely only populate the hotel at weekends, I was prompted to wonder what their other clientele might be comprised of. This question was answered at breakfast on the Sunday, when we noticed a lady on the next table sporting an electronic tag.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Britannia Roundhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Roundhouse Hotel

Address: 1 Meyrick Rd | Landsdowne, Bournemouth BH1 2PR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 70 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Britannia Roundhouse Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Britannia Roundhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Roundhouse Bournemouth
Hotel Britannia Roundhouse
Roundhouse Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Britannia Roundhouse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.