We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superior room??? Ha” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Britannia Roundhouse Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Britannia Roundhouse Hotel to your Saves list
Britannia Roundhouse Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Meyrick Rd | Landsdowne, Bournemouth BH1 2PR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 71 Hotels in Bournemouth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Superior room??? Ha”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Upgraded to superior room
Guy on phone said jacuzzi so I thought must be good.....terrible spa bath!
Wet carpet,shower broken,broken wall tiles,mouldy silicone,very dated room and freezing cold at night!
Next day complained about these things and the guys response was "did you use the bath?" Of course I did! The shower was broken!
No apology he just phoned maintenance
Never again will I use this hotel!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    88
    158
    103
    208
See reviews for
69
234
31
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

My parents stayed here at the beginning of Feb & were a little worried due to the reviews on here but they needn't have worried the rooms clean & comfortable the location was good for them & food excellent so all in all good value for money

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed in the hotel, which is centrally located in Bournemouth. The bedroom room was clean and tidy and the meals well presented and satisfactory. It was good value for money and we enjoyed the stay - we found the staff helpful and polite. Thank you.

Room Tip: Try to obtain a room with a window facing the exterior of the hotel rather than the central paved ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South England
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

The first thing that annoyed me about this hotel was the 'free' parking that had been advertised on several websites. It is not free. And has not been for months. Saying that, it is still only £2 I think. The rooms were very dated but big and mostly clean. Breakfast was lovely and the location is very good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

i stayed here for two weeks whilst contracting for RBS, its a nice clean hotel which needs some updating,but for the money if well worth it.i paid £25 per night through hotels direct website. free sercure parking and its right in the haert of the town centre,so lots of bars and club around it.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebden Bridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Dirty bathroom. Torn furniture in the lobby. Disgusting food. Cant check out before 07:30 if you've charged anything to your room. You have to fight past suitcases from coach travelers.
Give this place a miss.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We went to The Roundhouse prepared for the worst having read some terrible reviews. However we certainly did not find it as bad as most of the reviews. Our room was warm and clean and the bathroom was more than adequate. The bedding and towels were spotlessly clean and the coffee and milk were replenished daily. The breakfasts and evening meals were very good. We found the restaurant staff polite and helpful although very overworked which occasionally meant that we had to wait for clean plates and trays of food to be replaced. The reception staff were very helpful. On the downside there was only one lift working during our four night stay. This was not a problem to us but there were many people staying who had mobility problems. Even when taking the lift up to the right floor there were still short flights of stairs to negotiate. The carpets in the public areas eg stairs, restaurant are very dated. The position of the hotel is a distance from the centre of Bournemouth but there is a bus stop outside and buses every few minutes. I would have no hesitation about staying there again.

Room Tip: People with mobility problems should make the hotel staff or their booking agents aware of this fact...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Britannia Roundhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Roundhouse Hotel

Address: 1 Meyrick Rd | Landsdowne, Bournemouth BH1 2PR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 71 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Britannia Roundhouse Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Britannia Roundhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Roundhouse Bournemouth
Hotel Britannia Roundhouse
Roundhouse Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Britannia Roundhouse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.