We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Britannia Roundhouse Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Britannia Roundhouse Hotel to your Saves list
Britannia Roundhouse Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Meyrick Rd | Landsdowne, Bournemouth BH1 2PR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 70 Hotels in Bournemouth
Blackpool
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Pleasant Stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Have just spend a midweek coach break at the Roundhouse, and must say I was pleasantly surprised, especially after reading many of the reviews. Yes the hotel rooms are a little tired like all Britannia Hotels, but the beds were comfortable and clean, with the normal tv/kettle in the rooms, they bathroom was very scruffy but there were clean soft towels and lots of hotwater. However the radiator did'nt work in our room, just like many other rooms. The food was very good and there was at least 5 choices every night and I must say it was better that most of the Britannia Group

Room Tip: The higher floor rooms are in a better condition than lower rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    83
    150
    98
    188
See reviews for
65
220
29
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Well we have had yet another great five days at a britannia hotel this time at bournemouth the place is a little tired but please dont let that put you off as the place is well run and clean and the food was just perfect every day the staff also made are stay very enjojable We went on a package tour with National holidays
, so please try it your selves.

Room Tip: Well we had a slightly noisy room because it didnt fit too well and that was 313 we did mention it t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarm on Tees, null, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

i have just spent 5 days in this hotel THE ROUNDHOUSE, and i can say i will never ever go back to it,rooms dirty, bath/sink rusty stains, sheets were just thrown on the bed, dont fit, breakfast was nice, but evening meal rubbish and often cold, my partner was sick after eating a meal, the GOOD side haha was its close to town, staff were not bothered and some were rude,one growl at me because he knock the spoons on floor, very noisey at the most i had 4hrs sleep,can hear people using the toilet, i neeed a holiday to get over this one

Room Tip: heres a tip DONT GO, noisey, dirty items of clothes under bed from previous people, food horrible, s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We have just returned from a three night stay at The Roundhouse. Having read the reviews we were very concerned about making a booking but had friends who were staying at the hotel with a coach tour and we wanted to meet up . When we first went to our room it was as expected a little shabby but we did not expect to find a dirty toilet . We were immediately offered a change of room and this bedroom was a much better standard even though the window frames could have done with a coat of paint. Both dinner and breakfast were served buffet style and we couldn't fault any meal. It may not have been haute cuisine but it was certainly of a very acceptable standard with plenty of choice. All the staff were very pleasant and for the price we payed we really have no complaints.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gateshead
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Went with my partner for 4 nights, once we got there the 2 lifts were busy so we had a drink while we waited, one of the managers ask if we wanted are suitcases 2 be taken to are rooms we just said we would do it are selfs thanks.The seafront is only 10 mins away its a nice long beach lovely for a walk theres a Russell-Cotes Art Gallery & Museum along to the peir well worth a look its free Entry from October to March. The town centre is on your left from the hotel passed all the restauants. Are room was on the 5th floor bit of a walk up the stairs the room is a bit dated dont think its been done since the 70's, it was warm enough my side of the quilt cover was ripped the tv only had 6 chans, we had free wifi through out the hotel. The bathroom had a very small shower head hot enough it bath looked clean apart from the dirt was just grin in muck from years ago so my partner wouldnt have a bath.The staff were friendly enough i coulndnt understand them and they as well with me. The meals were ok buffet breakfast was all you can think of was there and for some reason they had chips on which was weird we didnt have them on th evening meal. I liked most things but my partner didnt really like didnt eat much so on one of the nights we went out for a meal. There was a Happy Hour on till 9oclock then the drinks go up a pound the bottles of wine was £10. Wear somethink warm as the bar/lounge is quite cold. There was entrainment which was ok but i had rather had a cd on for better music that was for 2 nights the other 2 you had to walk along to another Brittania. Would go again just cos Bournmouth is a nice place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

This was a 2-night dinner, bed & breakfast booked through Superbreak. On check we were hit by the £3 per day car park charge. When I offered my credit card to pay I was told there was a £2 surcharge so I paid cash and was not given a receipt. Room 550 was recently painted but over peeling wallpaper! Stained curtains, bedside unit wonky as it was falling off its fixings. Old CRT TV with just a handful of channels. The bathroom was deplorable with evidence of a leak through the ceiling that had had no redecoration. Tiles coming away from the wall, cracked toilet bowl, nasty mouldy strip behind the washbasin, dirty shower head and plug-holes. Very noisy waste plumbing. Room very warm - good for chilly January.

Buffet dinner very poor in college-canteen-like surroundings. We rejected dinner on the second night and went to a restaurant. Breakfast average but plenty of it.

No ability to charge drinks to the room account. The place runs on coach trips of elderly (even older than us!) people who don't seem to mind the low standards. The place is so tired and in need of complete refurbishment. On check oput we were challenged for the car park fee that we had paid on check-in. There was no interest in whether we had enjoyed our stay (!). Guests clearly don't count!!!

Best avoided if you have any expectation of a hotel with standards and some understanding of quality.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wareham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Excellent value for over night stay, booked through hotel.com as cheaper than Britannia website! Saver room double with b&b.
Room clean and spotless, bathroom tiles dated but didn't affect our sleep, bed comfy and room quiet.
Breakfast nice for every diet and appetite.
Staff were polite and courteous, check in was easy and parking was a bonus although we had to pay £3! For over nifty parking even though last year it was free!! Have stayed here twice before and never found anything to complain about ideal for an over night stay, location was great for our night out.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Britannia Roundhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Roundhouse Hotel

Address: 1 Meyrick Rd | Landsdowne, Bournemouth BH1 2PR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 70 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Britannia Roundhouse Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Britannia Roundhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Roundhouse Bournemouth
Hotel Britannia Roundhouse
Roundhouse Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Britannia Roundhouse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.