We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short summer break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Days Hotel Bournemouth

Save Saved
You added Days Hotel Bournemouth to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Days Hotel Bournemouth
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Russell-Cotes Road | East Cliff, Bournemouth BH1 3AB, England (Formerly Marsham Court Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book Early and Save 15%!
Ranked #22 of 70 Hotels in Bournemouth
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Short summer break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Stayed here with family from 17th-21st July. First time I'd been to this hotel. I was impressed by the location and outside appearance of the hotel. The bar/foyer area is modern and welcoming. All staff were friendly and helpful throughout my stay. My room was lovely but very hot and one of the windows was broken. However the staff very quickly fetched me a fan on request for which I was very grateful! The food was of a good quality at both breakfast and dinner.
I would definitely return to this hotel and recommend to others!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosie_Wallace, Owner at Days Hotel Bournemouth, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear heidi364,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
I am so glad that you enjoyed your first stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you and your friends again in the future.
Please know that feedback such as yours helps us to improve on the quality and service we provide.
Kind regards
Rosie Wallace, Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    199
    73
    22
    13
See reviews for
77
191
8
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Drive
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

This is the third time we have been for a whist break at this hotel. We decided on this one only a few days before and were pleased that we were able to get a first floor room with shower that we requested with special thanks to Sarah. The staff are all cheerful and ready to help. I am coeliac and have always been able to have a choice on the menu which is wonderful. If the dining staff were not sure they checked with chef willingly. I was impressed. The rooms with a sea view are lovely. I am coming in August with my daughter who is also coeliac and we have booked a sea view with a balcony. Also booked with my husband for the next whist break in October ,looking forward to it already!

Room Tip: We have never been troubled by noise whichever room we have had, The sea view rooms are worth the ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosie_Wallace, Owner at Days Hotel Bournemouth, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear E L,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the Days Hotel Marsham Court.
I am so glad that you enjoyed your recent Whist holiday with us and that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again for another 2 visits this year.
The staff will always try their utmost to accommodate your coeliac diet and provide you with choice on the menu. However if you should ever find there is something not suitable or you would just prefer to have something different, I am positive the Chef would be happy to make you an omelette or something else.
Please know that feedback such as yours helps us to improve on the quality and service we provide.
We look forward to seeing you again in August.
Kind regards
Rosie Wallace, Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Been coming for many years as a family and enjoyed our recent long weekend at the hotel. Good and spacious room. Very impressed by good quality breakfast and the polite and helpful staff waiting at the tables.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosie_Wallace, Owner at Days Hotel Bournemouth, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Heidi19796,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the Days Hotel Marsham Court.
I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were impressed with the good quality breakfast and polite & helpful staff.
Please know that feedback such as yours helps us to improve on the quality and service we provide.
We hope to be able to welcome you again in the future.
Kind regards
Rosie Wallace, Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

I thought that £101 for the night was very expensive for the extremely tiny, humid room and miniscule, even more humid bathroom. We were on the top floor which was probably why it was so humid. The bathroom door was about two feet from one side of the bed and so we felt particularly claustrophobic and spent the minimum of time there. On a positive note, the location was good - only minutes from the centre of Bournemouth.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosie_Wallace, Owner at Days Hotel Bournemouth, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Sam G,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. All our rooms vary in size as we are an old building; however each of the rooms reaches the required size to meet with brand standards. If you would prefer a larger room, please just make this known to reservations at the time of booking and we will try our utmost to provide this for you.
Please know that feedback such as yours helps us to improve on the quality and service we provide.
We hope to be able to welcome you again in the future.
Kind regards
Rosie Wallace, Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pe9 2jw
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

had a very good long weekend at this hotel. The location in Bournemouth was excellent. Very comfortable, good food and service.Pool area very nicebut would think more loungers would be needed at the height of the summer.Would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosie_Wallace, Owner at Days Hotel Bournemouth, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Mary D,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the Days Hotel Marsham Court.
I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and found it comfortable.
Please know that feedback such as yours helps us to improve on the quality and service we provide.
We hope to be able to welcome you again in the future.
Kind regards
Rosie Wallace, Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L9 1jb
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

having stayed at this hotel for the past four years we sang its praises to friends saying it was four star quality .so they booked along with us for six nights .we all were so disappointed in the poor standards of service in the dining room the staff seemed lost at what to do .long waits to be served frequently having to ask for things instead of being approached by staff.room was not cleaned properly .put some dark clothes on wardrobe shelf and ended up brushing the dust off them and wiping shelf .floorboards on room above very creeky either keeping us awake or waking us up . plus on another time people shouting in car park in the early hours .all in all.standards and room quality deserve only a two star rating .we sadly along with friends will not be visiting again .

Room Tip: do not get a room at back over car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosie_Wallace, Owner at Days Hotel Bournemouth, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Mr and Mrs K L W,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
I am so sorry that your stay was not as good as your previous stays.
As I am sure you will appreciate, your stay was not to the usual high standards you have come to expect from us and I will indeed be speaking to the Restaurant & Housekeeping departments to discuss the issues that you have mentioned and rectify the training of the staff in those departments.
I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you again, where we will endeavour to restore your faith in us.
Kind regards
Rosie Wallace, Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspe Spain
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

It was a sunny day when we arrived for our 49th Wedding anniversary. Being driven by taxi from the station for 4GBP we arrived midday at the front entrance. It looked vaguely familiar until we remembered that we'd stayed here for our 25th anniversary. In reality, nothing much had changed.
Externally, the outside looked tired in spite of a new coat of paint. The inside was abuzz with activity, as people bustled around the main areas; it is a popular venue for weddings and the polite staff were coping well with what seems to be regular traffic.
We had requested a superior room on the third floor, and that is what we got. The eighteen spotlights embedded in the L-shaped ceiling struck me as being well over the top, literally, and I wondered at the cost of running them. The two 3ft beds joined together were comfortable, allowing me to count the lights before they drove me to sleep, before my wife turned them off quietly. The bedding was good, and I forgot to ask for the duvet to be replaced with a sheet, before waking up too hot each night. My fault, or was it those hypnotic lights?
That first day, I eagerly opened the Day's hotel literature, only to find that some child had drawn an outline of his or her fingers on the exact page I had chosen. I started to rub them out with my eraser (note my clever use of English), but gave up with a tut when I saw that they had scrawled on other pages too. Looking around, I could see that the sofa doubled as a bed, which explained the artistry - and dabs on the carpet and sofa cover, not that they were extensive but could have easily been removed (apart from the ones that looked like rust).
It was comforting to see that one thing hadn't changed in 24 years, I think, and that was the radiators. They had aged with us, along with those lining the corridors. Still effective though, but indicative of the dollop of money that the new owners will need to cough-up if they are to get this money-making machine to continue to perform.
Commendably, good quality double-glazing had been installed, which was a relief, but someone needs to start keeping it clean, and remove the cobwebs hanging in the bathroom and the dirt accumulating in the frames in the bedroom.
The bathroom interior was fine, although I did object to having to press my face against the glass panel on the bath, when sitting on the toilet. Eventually I got fed up and heaved it away. Not convenient if you have a kinky partner who wants a bath or shower at the same time as you are trying to have a read, but there we could go. Literally. I should mention the generous heated towel rails, which double as driers for hankies, pants and socks. Very effective.
I also loved the teapot, cups and glasses, and bought a pack of butter shortcake biscuits to accompany the cup of tea that I boiled; this was from a shop opposite the Pavilion, where our granddaughter was due to be rewarded for her academic achievements. I Paid 1.65 GBP for them, to find that they had been crushed beforehand and I could only dunk them in my tea with the aid of a spoon.
Stepping onto the balcony over the door threshold, which the staff had failed to clean, ever (?), I intended standing there to admire the magnificent seascape view, while holding my mouth open to cool my scalded tongue; the tea was too hot. My fault again. Unfortunately, I nearly tripped over the raised threshold on my way out, and only realised how low the balcony railing was as I leant over it, gripping it for dear life as I looked down. That distracted me from my pain, I can tell you.
We went down for breakfast the final morning, to be told that it would cost10 GBP per person. If we had ordered in advance the cost would have been 8GBP pp, but I never intended to take up this opportunity; we had seen an offer in the nearby, huge Brasshouse pub for the same thing for 2.50 GBP per person. However, my wife refused to go there after having her measly hip replaced and not fancying the uphill walk back. I would challenge the claim that the shops and other facilities are minutes away. By donkey maybe, but on those slopes?
I would have eaten my shortcake biscuits rather than pay daft money for a breakfast, but our elder daughter offered to buy it as a freebie and my wife made me go along and join them. It wasn't that good either, as staff were employed to take orders from us for toast and drinks, and the food was only luke-warm. It turned out to be expensive anyway, as she paid for the grub but then conveniently left me to pick up her room bill in total. Dirty trick that was.
The hotel has a phone for ordering taxis; don't use it. The return cost was 5.80 GBP, which the driver glibly claimed included an "order charge". Use your mobile.
Bournemouth itself? Stuck in a time warp, with public buildings being of the same vintage as our hotel, but in desperate need of replacement. Shops are making a brave attempt to overcome the deficiencies of the elected civic officials, but what a jaded dump of a famous resort the seafront area has become.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosie_Wallace, Owner at Days Hotel Bournemouth, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear BJEaston,
Thank you for taking the time to review the Days Hotel Marsham Court.
I am, sorry that you were not completely satisfied with your holiday. In the last 3 years we have spent over £1.5 million on the hotel and the refurbishment is on going. We are a private family run business and as I am sure you can appreciate we can't do everything at once, even though we would like too.
In regards to the taxi fares, I have spoken to the Director of the taxi firm we use and there is a charge on every taxi in Bournemouth made by any telephone of 80p which is approved by Bournemouth Council who regulate the fares in the area.
Please know that your feedback is important to us as it will help us to improve our services to make your stay more pleasant in the future.
Please do not hesitate to contact me should you have anything you wish to discuss.
Kind regards
Rosie Wallace, Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Hotel Bournemouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Hotel Bournemouth

Address: 3 Russell-Cotes Road | East Cliff, Bournemouth BH1 3AB, England (Formerly Marsham Court Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#14 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#19 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Days Hotel Bournemouth 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Days Hotel Bournemouth (formerly the Marsham Court Hotel) franchised on the 1st September 2011. The hotel is still privately owned and run by the same family for over 25 years. Days hotel Bournemouth has undergone a refurbishment programme and over £1.5 million has been spent on the bedrooms, bathrooms, foyer and bar already. Our refurbishment programme is continuous with the Restaurant due to be our next big project. We boast some of the best sea views in Bournemouth across to the Isle of Wight, Sandbanks, Swanage and Isle of Purbeck. So why not come in and try for yourself? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Days Hotel Bournemouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marsham Court Bournemouth
Hotel Marsham Court

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Hotel Bournemouth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.