We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, restaurant could be better” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marsham Court Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Marsham Court Hotel to your Saves list
Marsham Court Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Russell-Cotes Road | East Cliff, Bournemouth BH1 3AB, England (Formerly Days Hotel Marsham Court)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #20 of 71 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bradford
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, restaurant could be better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

We visited the hotel as part of a group holiday. The entrance is modern, clean and stylish but not exactly to our taste - we prefer traditional. The bedroom was clean well equipped and well serviced. The staff were always attentive and helpful. The only downside was the restaurant. The food was good but the décor is not very inspiring. The service the first night was slow and disappointing although the subsequent three nights was much improved. We were also not impressed with being shunted into a side room for the last dinner and breakfast so the hotel could use the restaurant for a main function. Whilst we understand the need to do this type of thing the food quality deteriorated being served "cool" due to segregation from the kitchen.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosie_Wallace, Owner at Marsham Court Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear topcat8566,
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel.
As a large hotel we very often take functions within our main restaurant; however I am sorry that you felt as if you were shunted into a side room. The Dorset & Bay Suites are very often used for house restaurant when large functions are being held within the hotel. The room is also not segregated from the kitchen as it has direct access.
The restaurant was being used as the dance group had private use of the Ballroom that week and that particular function has been coming to us for years and only had to move rooms due to the date change of the Dance Championships. We tried our best to suit all parties concerned.
I am sorry to hear that the food was cool and I will speak to our kitchen and restaurant team to improve on this for the future.
We hope to be able to welcome you again in the future.
Kind regards
Rosie Wallace, Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    233
    86
    23
    13
See reviews for
85
221
10
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sunbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Although our stay was not terrible, since the hotel changed from being Marsham Court to Days, we feel that some standards have definately gone down. In the restaurant, not once did any of the staff ask if everything was OK. Extra sauce/gravy was not offered until our meals were almost finished and no sorbet course any more :(
We were supposed to have chocolate mints with our coffee after dinner but none were supplied until the last night as apparently they had been forgotten.......not good enough Days!!
New Year entertainment has still not changed so we definately won't be back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosie_Wallace, Owner at Marsham Court Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear jbirdthebowler,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the hotel.
I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay as much this year as in the past.
The hotel was franchised in September 2011; however it is the same family that own and operate it.
I am sorry that you felt our standards had slipped and I will indeed bring up the chocolate mints with my management team. Extra gravy is always available upon request; however not normally offered. In regards to the soup and sorbet course, the consensus of most guests where that 4 courses plus coffee was just too much for people to then go a dance straight afterwards. The company therefore made a decision to reduce the menu to 3 courses plus coffee.
We do try wherever possible to change the entertainment for Christmas and New Year by asking guests to complete an Entertainment questionnaire. The Entertainment you had on your Twixmas package was organised by your group and not by the hotel.
The New Year entertainment, for which you did not attend was booked by the hotel due to the majority of guest requests made last year. We have however changed quiet a lot for next year based on the comments of our guests that attended this year and the overall majority. I can therefore only assume that you did not book for this due to the fact the Entertainment was the same.
I am sorry that we have not been able to offer you the service that you have come to expect from us on this occasion but hope that we will be able to restore your faith in us in the future.
Kind regards
Rosie Wallace, Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisbech
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

we stayed here on a dancing holiday run by Kingshill holidays.We were welcomed by pleasant staff who soon gave us our room and details like parking,plenty of space,where and what time meals where and the bar of course!!Our room was very nice and overlooked the museum and the beach,wow!! although the roof of the museum was being repaired at the time we still had a good view of the ferry going in /out of Poole harbour,great.The bed was very comfy,nice linen and the onsuite bathroom very clean and enough room for two.We showered and changed ready for dinner which was in good time to allow us to enjoy our meal,nicely cooked and served with a smile.Overall our 4night stay at the hotel was very enjoyable,their staff very helpful,its fairly close to the sea front/beach,downhill but of course uphill back maybe not for the elderly,but if you use the back entrance its possible to get into town and the shops on a more level walking area.The falcilties at the hotel are fine with a small unheated pool which I tried all good,with sunloungers as well.So to sum up an ideal hotel well located,nice views,lovely walks,towards Boscombe etc,ps wife enjoyed the museum(not my thing!! and hopefully we`ll be returning this autumn,always ask for a seaview room,thanks

Room Tip: ask for seaview at front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosie_Wallace, Owner at Marsham Court Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear rodWisbech,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the Days Hotel Bournemouth.
I am so glad that you enjoyed your dance holiday with us. We do several specialised interest groups throughout the year and look forward to welcoming Kingshill again this year.
You will be pleased to know that work on the museum roof has now been completed and our sea views have been reinstated.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the Autumn.
Kind regards
Rosie Wallace, Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

room very good although bathroom small. safe in the wardrobe at no extra charge. good car parking (free) but difficult access to rooms at far end of the hotel i.e. even if you go in the lift to the correct floor (away from the lifts) long passage with four stairs up then down about 10 and up again another 10 stairs

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosie_Wallace, Owner at Marsham Court Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear junem139,
Thank you for taking the time to review the Days Hotel Bournemouth.
We have several rooms that are level walk from the lift and would be happy to accommodate your requirements. Please make us aware at the time of booking and we will do our utmost to provide the requirements you would like.
Please know that your feedback is important to us as it will help us to improve our services to make your stay more pleasant in the future.
Please do not hesitate to contact me should you have anything you wish to discuss.
Kind regards
Rosie Wallace, Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

In mitigation our stay at this hotel coincided with the appalling weather along the south coast. However the window both rattled and leaked ( plastic bucket and paper towels were provided) - as result very little sleep was gained. Of further concern was that this room was not on any list for attention.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosie_Wallace, Owner at Marsham Court Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Peter B,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
I am sorry that you were not entirely happy with your stay. All our rooms are on a rolling maintenance scheme and are checked every 3 months for remedial work to be done if required.
In regards to the windows, we have been in discussions with the local council for over 10 years, trying to change the windows, but without much luck due to being in a conservation area; however we finally received planning permission to change them in December and we are hoping to start work shortly in changing our front facing windows.
We try our best to improve on guests experiences and rely on feedback such as yours to do this.
I do hope that we will have the opportunity to change your opinion of us in the future.
Kind regards
Rosie Wallace, Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Po9 2ph
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We had a Bridge break in January. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the accommodation was clean and comfortable. The food was varied and served with a smile. We enjoyed the break and would return again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosie_Wallace, Owner at Marsham Court Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Janet C,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
I am glad that you enjoyed your Bridge holiday here with us and that you found the service, accommodation, staff and food to a good standard.
We hope to be able to welcome you again in the near future.
Kind regards
Rosie Wallace, Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Re59 Wbk
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

I come for the bridge and this is the fourth year that I've been. The staff are very helpful and friendly and the food is very good. My room was very warm but a couple of my friends had cold ones. However they did get a heater which helped when they complained.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosie_Wallace, Owner at Marsham Court Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Mary B,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
I am glad that you enjoyed yet another Bridge holiday here with us and that your friends heating issues were dealt with promptly by the staff.
I know that our maintenance team have looked into the issue and resolved it.
Please know that feedback such as yours helps us to improve on the quality and service we provide.
We hope to be able to welcome you again in the future.
Kind regards
Rosie Wallace, Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marsham Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marsham Court Hotel

Address: 3 Russell-Cotes Road | East Cliff, Bournemouth BH1 3AB, England (Formerly Days Hotel Marsham Court)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#15 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#17 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#19 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Marsham Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marsham Court Hotel Bournemouth is a privately owned Hotel and run by the same family for over 25 years. The hotel has undergone a refurbishment programme and over £1.5 million has been spent on the bedrooms, bathrooms, foyer and bar already. Our refurbishment programme is continuous with the Restaurant due to be our next big project. We boast some of the best sea views in Bournemouth across to the Isle of Wight, Sandbanks, Swanage and Isle of Purbeck. So why not come in and try for yourself? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Marsham Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marsham Court Bournemouth
Hotel Marsham Court

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marsham Court Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.