We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marsham Court Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Marsham Court Hotel to your Saves list
Marsham Court Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Russell-Cotes Road | East Cliff, Bournemouth BH1 3AB, England (Formerly Days Hotel Marsham Court)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #20 of 71 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
birmingham
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Stayed for three nights, lovley big room and massive bed spottlessly clean. the view from our balcony room was excellant. The food lovley.Staff very pleasant.Would say that the hotel bar area is decorated very modern and clean the bar is a little expensive and the entertainment was geared to the over 60 age group but to be fair most guests were over 60 so the hotel was catering for that age group, who all seemed to be really enjoying themselves.The only negative was that the room was a little cold but it was christmas and the hotel provids heaters when requested.Would stay again.

Room Tip: top floor front facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosie_Wallace, General Manager at Marsham Court Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear happyholsBirmingham,
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel.
I am glad that you enjoyed your 3 night break with us and that you enjoyed the views from your room. We have possibly one of the best views in Bournemouth.
We hope to be able to welcome you to the hotel again in the future.
Kind regards
Rosie Wallace, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    233
    86
    23
    13
See reviews for
85
221
10
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I have stayed here 3 times with my eldery parents. The staff are the true gems of this hotel, whilst there are many hotesl in Bournemouth, probaly better prices, location or whatever, the staff here are priceless. All memebers of staff seem to really enjoy their jobs, their customer service is second to none, all staff are friendly , happy and ready to help wiht whatever circumstances. Many eldery members of the population visit Bournemouth, they need tender care and attention and without doubt the team here cope on everfy occassion !! Congratulations to the Management.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosie_Wallace, General Manager at Marsham Court Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear liz186299,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
The staff are truely an asset to the hotel. We can train people to do the job, but personalities are not something you can teach. Our team is very much a close knit family which is something very important to me. Several members of my team have worked here for many years and our Head Chef has been here for over 25 years.
The staff are why so many people come back time and time again.
We hope to be able to welcome you for your 4th visit in the near future.
Kind regards,
Rosie Wallace, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed for one night - New years eve. Expecting a brilliant room having spent £135 B&B we arrived and the room was Freezing. They already provided a heater with cable too short to remain plugged in without becoming angled from the floor. But all radiators were tepid at the top and freezing over the rest of the surface. They provided a 2nd electric heater - with the same problem as the first. Floor Dirty stained. Double glazed balcony door, Seal gone so now single glazed. Door twisted and didn't fit. The wind blew through and whistled all night. Bathroom not clean - mold around the windows. And FREEZING. Breakfast - self serve - be prepared for a man singing on a stage old songs at high volume. Strange at the least.... Have photos of all and making a full complaint.

Room Tip: Book another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosie_Wallace, General Manager at Marsham Court Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear 2bornot2be,
I accept that at the time we were having a heating issue with the room you had been allocated; however you were offered another room, which was our honeymoon suite where there was no issue with any heating but you declined this offer.
In regards to the balcony door, on further inspection we have noticed that it is not the seal that has gone, but the lower hinge has broken on the door. This is being fixed by our maintenance team.
As of yet we have not received a letter from you and we have not had any complaints from any guests about any other issues with this room.
On New Year's Day, we served buffet brunch, with light entertainment to welcome in the New Year. The entertainer is a firm favourite with our regular New Year guests.
We will wait to hear from you in writing.
Kind regards
Rosie Wallace, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winslow
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We had room 331 this time. A lovely big room overlooking Boscombe Pier (in distance), good size bathroom with large bath, lovely.
Hotel had Dance Party stopping, but this didn't deter from the usual service you expect at the Marsham. We were all asked to come in half hour later for dinner so Dance Party were served, a good idea. Food, again, hot, plenty choice, couldn't fault it. Ate too much again!!!
Breakfast, again good choice of usuals and hot.
It is always nice to see the same faces at the Marsham, whether its regular Visitors or Staff.
You can never fault the staff, always helpful and polite.
Thank you once again for a great 3 day break. Oh, can you do something about weather next time please!!!!!

Room Tip: 331 was a good room, should be family, but we had it as a twin. Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosie_Wallace, General Manager at Marsham Court Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Julie R,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the Days Hotel Bournemouth, formerly the Marsham Court Hotel.
We try extremely hard to make the guests stay a memorable one and am glad that we were able to do this for you again. The main reason for guests returning is the staff and we are like a close knit family. Some of the senior staff have been here for several years and our Head Chef has been here for over 25 years.
The only thing I can't try and control is the weather!!!!! BUT I will keep my fingers crossed.
We hope to be able to welcome you again in the future.
Kind regards
Rosie Wallace, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I went to a xmas lunch last week at the Days Hotel with a club I belong to. There were about 40 of us. We quite enjoyed it last year except for the toilets which were a bit smelly and the paintwork a bit tired. This year the hotel paintwork was still a bit tired but not too bad and the toilets were possibly modernised (I can't remember) and certainly a lot more pleasant smelling. It all seemed well organised. I liked the way the meat was served separately and the vegetables were put on the table - not plated up like in some places. I thought the food was pretty good for a large party of us. The staff were very professional and I would be very happy to come back to the Days Hotel next year.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosie_Wallace, General Manager at Marsham Court Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Dextrasol,
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel.
I am glad that you enjoyed your Christmas lunch last week with your group. The kitchen team work extremely hard, especially at this time of year to make sure that they provide a high quality and large volume of Christmas dinners, with homemade Christmas puddings.
Enjoy the festive season and we hope to be able to welcome you again in the future.
Kind regards
Rosie Wallace, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

visited this hotel many years ago in previous format: Marsham Court. Was so impressed by the refurb, lovely fresh modern bar area that was welcoming too. As previous reviews have said, staff really make this hotel, attentive at just the right level. Attended works xmas do, wasn't the cheapest deal we'd seen but the food and service delivered excellent value for money. would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosie_Wallace, General Manager at Marsham Court Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Dextrasol,
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel.
I am glad that you enjoyed your Christmas staff party. The staff try extremely hard to make everyone's party a special night where the guests can let down their hair so to speak.
Trust me, I am sure my team will do the same after Christmas.
Enjoy the festive season and we hope to be able to welcome you again in the future.
Kind regards
Rosie Wallace, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is a 3 star and a lot better than some of the 4 stars I have stayed in. The hotel is in a fantastic location a 5 minute walk to the town, pavilion, beach etc. The room was small, but more than adequate for our needs. The staff were all very polite and accommodating. I paid just under £70 for a night b&b the breakfast was good and parking is free which is a bonus. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosie_Wallace, General Manager at Marsham Court Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear worldwideuk,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and as an old building all our rooms are different sizes. Please ask reservations for a larger room if you are staying more that a night and they will do their utmost to allocate one for you.
I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welocme you again in the future.
Kind regards
Rosie Wallace, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marsham Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marsham Court Hotel

Address: 3 Russell-Cotes Road | East Cliff, Bournemouth BH1 3AB, England (Formerly Days Hotel Marsham Court)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#16 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#17 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#19 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Marsham Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marsham Court Hotel Bournemouth is a privately owned Hotel and run by the same family for over 25 years. The hotel has undergone a refurbishment programme and over £1.5 million has been spent on the bedrooms, bathrooms, foyer and bar already. Our refurbishment programme is continuous with the Restaurant due to be our next big project. We boast some of the best sea views in Bournemouth across to the Isle of Wight, Sandbanks, Swanage and Isle of Purbeck. So why not come in and try for yourself? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Marsham Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marsham Court Bournemouth
Hotel Marsham Court

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marsham Court Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.