We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sad, such potential” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Bath

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Bath to your Saves list
Royal Bath
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bath Road, Bournemouth BH1 2EW, England (Formerly De Vere Royal Bath)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 71 Hotels in Bournemouth
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Sad, such potential”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

The sky was blue, the sun:scorchio! How could I fail not to have a smile on my face as we entered the Royal Bath in the beach resort of Bournemouth?....
Well, try sitting in grid-lock traffic for 45mins just entering the town and then being told that there was no car park space left. I had to swing around and find a public car park nearby which fortunately had 1 space left. £4 for 24 hours. It turned out cheaper than the £20 p.n.car park at the hotel!
Which raises my first issue: The hotel boasts: car park. fitness room, swimming pool BUT they all come at additional costs. A bit disappointing when you are spending £125 a night.
The room 244 had the MOST magnificent room I've had in a long while. Triple aspect with views of the beach & sea. The savage beast in me was placated.
This hotel is steeped in history and could be one of the best in the country, unfortunately The Britannia Group which took it over from De Vere's have run it for profit at the expense of the staff who are run off their feet.
The whole place is grand but seen better days. So sad, as this place must once have been the height of opulence but now looks like a tired shadow of its former self and has the air of frugality about it. We admired this hotel from afar 30 years ago and made a secret wish that one day we'd stay there. We won't again. Britannia Group WAKE UP!

Room Tip: Room 244 was MAGNIFICENT. Great balcony, wonderful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,069 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    478
    431
    403
    474
See reviews for
286
1,027
61
213
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (647)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrow
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We went here two weeks ago... and had an amazing stay.. had fab service and everyone is really really nice. Thank you so much for looking after us and making our trip to bournemouth even special. We were given a really large and spacious room..with a sea view..hotel location is very good two. 2 mins walk to the beach and town centre. Will def stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Needed a last minute hotel in Bournemouth - this one seemed to have it all.
Checked prices - called and checked - Hotel reservation offered to match a website offer.
on arrival : price not matched - had to speak to a manager, but this was sorted and the price was matched. B&B basis.
Hotel is charming. A Grand Hotel in the real sense. sweeping staircases, murals, a large comfortable lounge leading on to gardens and the beach view.

Pro's :
Location. Right on the beach,
Valet parking. (at a cost)
Excellent bar and gardens
Staff will go out of their way to help.

Con's:
Bar Prices - expect 5* London Prices and you'll be fine.
Decor - could do with some love
Staff - some could do with better training - Pick up the napkins - I know its not your job, but it makes the hotel look messy.
There is a charge for guests wanting to use the Swimming Pool.

Rooms - ours was a good size - a little walk away from the lift - a few stairs on the way to the room.
Hot summer. No A/C. There was a fan hidden in a closet ( we had to ask)
Ironing Board, Trouser press, phone, Flat screen TV - with an odd arrangement of channels!
Free Wifi- but this didn't work on iPad or iPhone - Only Laptops. Be aware there is hardly any Mobile phone service here - let alone 3G.

All in all, we would stay here again. It can be a little pricey - but i think its worth it.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

I stayed at the Royal Bath when it was owned by De-Vere several times, admittedly it was a few years ago but this hotel was fantastic.

We booked in recently for a 3 night break and right from arriving I knew we had made a mistake, don't know where to begin really

Service at reception - terrible, queues, slow and tables covered in paper and screens covered in dust gave me a glimpse of what was to come

Rooms - No Air, con windows that are screwed shut, door handles that fall off, Baths that don't work, just generally tired

Breakfast - Dry and horrible

Bar - no music, no atmosphere, slow service

Pool - Extra ( as is checking in 2 hours earlier) the pool steps have a rail down to them, its loose and really dangerous

I notice they are doing some work on the Hotel, great I thought they are renovating, no they are putting a pub in so they can let all the Hen and Stag parties in no doubt

Real shame but at £300 per night this is just unacceptable

Room Tip: Dont bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We used to have our work conferences here. Ok I'm talking twenty years ago but what a shame now how it has gone so downhill. Almost all foreign staff with poor English skills. Our room was a large sea view with huge balcony and a very large comfortable bed but furniture was old, paintwork dirty, carpet not been cleaned. Small bath with cheap shower curtain. I remember the grand centrepiece at breakfast, alas no more. Cheap, dried up buffet breakfast. We didn't use the pool as you have to pay another £4 each. Two of the public toilets were broken and doors shut. OMG I could go on so please someone take over this hotel, refurb it and take it back to the Grand Royal Bath it once was before you shut down forever!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Sea view but in another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, United Kingdom
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

On arrival the porter was very helpful but reception staff unable to fully understand English, annoying for first impression. Grand hotel outside, good location but what a disappointment inside, shabby and very tired. Room very over priced, poor tea/coffee facilities but the most frustrating was the key cards did not work. Complained at reception about this, no apology just yet again another card. Each time having to go to reception before entering the room from the 2nd floor. Staff uninterested and not only having to pay extra for breakfast before we was finished the staff started clearing the table, the height of bad manners. Drink prices mega over the top. The bed was comfortable but we will not be revisiting.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

First impressions at reception staff (porter and receptionist) more interested in talking to each other and no help offered in bringing in cases from the car and certainly not to room(lift out of order)...slack service and uninterested staff whom gave the impression couldn't be bothered...asked at bar about room service and were told it had finished(9.30pm?) And you can have a bag of crisp...great. Room you couldn't swing a cat. Although the hotel is beautiful and right on the beach I'm afraid the staff let it down...need customer service training asap. Won't be going back.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Bath

Address: Bath Road, Bournemouth BH1 2EW, England (Formerly De Vere Royal Bath)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 71 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Bath 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resort Hotel in turreted building located on 3-acre cliff-edge garden, with views over bay & Purbeck Hills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Royal Bath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Royal Bath Hotel Bournemouth
Royal Bath Hotel Bournemouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Bath, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.