We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap & Cheerful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Mayfair Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added The Mayfair Hotel to your Saves list
The Mayfair Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   27 Bath Road, Bournemouth BH1 2NW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 70 Hotels in Bournemouth
A TripAdvisor Member
“Cheap & Cheerful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

A lovely 2 night stay with great service & quiet comfort. The shower was powerful too -a bonus! Would definitely return & recommend. In the heart of the town centre, only minutes walk from all the bars, restaurants, shops & seaside :)

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    53
    16
    4
    7
See reviews for
17
38
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here last night, they were very welcoming and our room was very clean, it's a bit out dated and there is no pictures of the rooms on their website so found the one picture they had very deceiving. The tv worked well until the signal cut off and wouldn't work at all. The bathroom was lovely, very clean and I had a lovely bath with amazing hot water! The bed was comfortable and the pillows provided were great. Tea and coffee was also provided, but they needed a new kettle as the one we had was extremely old. The breakfast was lovely although the beans were warmed up and didn't taste so good. Car park is convenient however it can get very busy and lots of cars get blocked in. Overall we really enjoyed our stay and the price we payed considering we got it cheap from late rooms, I wouldn't have payed full price for the room. We stayed in room 8.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bromwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Held our ladies weekend here for a second year what an incredible event. Staff great (and friendly), food good and well presented with a good choice. Hotel small yes but we felt this added to its charm. Will cater for any requirments if you are having a function here to ensure it goes well which it will. Very well done

Room Tip: Have stayed here three time now in differnt rooms and all are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Another great stay at the Mayfair hotel . The hotel where even as a driver you are treated as a guest . Excellent good, great staff, always recommend to others . To Alan and all the staff THANK YOU . See you at Easter .

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Booked in for a 2night stay as attending a function. Its ideally located with plenty of parking, the food and service is very good. The hotel its self is very dated when you look at the decor, fixtures and fittings throughout. But its the bedroom that let us down. I have never had such a restless, noisey and painful attempt at a night's sleep in all my life ..the pitiful excuse of a mattress that is in room 5 is older then I am .. you feel every metal spring digging into you, then with every movement you try to avoid making, the noise (creaking) the bed makes just speaks volumes as to how old it really is. The hotels attempt at making our second night's stay more comfortable was to place a folded duvet on top of the mattress to try an give a cushioned affect ( which failed ) and to top it all off when pure exhaustion takes hold the traffic noise kicks in. Room 5 faces the main road and the windows fail in keeping out any of the road noise or noise from passers by. Its a shame because with a few changes this could be a gorgeous hotel. It's just a shame it spoilt what should have been a great trip.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

We visited this hotel as a couple in a large group for Sunday lunch. Although being a large party we were split between two rooms the actual meal was very good, especially given that we had a limited choice of food which we ordered in the restaurant. The food itself was good with reasonable portion sizes and came hot to the table which is not always the case when in a large group! Service was excellent and the seating arrangement comfortable even if it did seem odd to be seated in same restaurant as "residents". The hotel can certainly be recommended for a very good Sunday Lunch at a ver reasonable cost.

Room Tip: Cannot advise on quality of rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glos
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for five nights on a business trip. From the time myself and colleagues arrive we were well looked after. We were on a full board basis and the quality of the food and selection was excellent. Some reviews say the fittings are dated, the rooms were immaculate on arrival and kept that way throughout my stay. All in all a good location and no complaints from me.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Mayfair Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mayfair Hotel

Address: 27 Bath Road, Bournemouth BH1 2NW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Bournemouth
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mayfair Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you arrive, we want you to feel at home at the privately owned 3 star Mayfair Hotel. The warmth of our welcome and our friendly and efficient staff will ensure that you are comfortable and well looked after - whether your visit is for business or pleasure. The Hotel has 40 en suite bedrooms - all with TV, direct dial telephone, hair dryer and complimentary tea and coffee welcome tray. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Mayfair Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayfair Hotel Bournemouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mayfair Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.