We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Year Short Break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Mayfair Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added The Mayfair Hotel to your Saves list
The Mayfair Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   27 Bath Road, Bournemouth BH1 2NW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 70 Hotels in Bournemouth
Upminster
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“New Year Short Break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Stayed at the Mayfair from 30th December 2013 until 2nd January 2014 with six family / friends for the New Year celebrations. The hotel is *** AA rated and we did not know what to expect after various reviews on trip adviser. We stayed on a full board basis, the lunch each day being a buffet. The first evening was a candellit dinner in the Dining room, the tables were very nicely decorated with Christmas crackers, Party Poppers, balloons etc. spread around the table. The menu was excellent as was the food and service. The staff all multi tasked and were very friendly, nothing was too much trouble, if the bar was unmanned at any time a call to reception had a member of staff attending within most times 60 seconds. Breakfast was self serve for cereals, juice etc.and a good cooked meal served to the table and again very happy ,friendly staff.
The New Years Eve Banquet was served in the ballroom and again lovely decorated round tables with all the table trimmings. Once more the menu and food were excellent and the Chef and staff must be congratulated on the quality of the dishes served.
The final evening was back in the dining room for dinner, once more excellently decorated room and tables, the food once more was delicious and plenty of it and the staff once more friendly and happy.
My only criticism of the whole break was the evening entertainment, all three nights we were entertained by singers backed up by their own taped music, the best of these was the last night when a lovely young lady sang and entertained ,her act i cannot fault.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front can be noisy as they overlook the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    52
    16
    4
    7
See reviews for
17
38
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We recently took a small group of dancers to the Mayfair hotel and were delighted with the warm welcome we received and the comfort of the hotel. It was a 'turkey and tinsel' break and our dancers enjoyed it immensely. The food was first-class and was extremely well presented by the excellent chef. Staff were all friendly and helpful and could not do enough to make our stay enjoyable. We can highly recommend this hotel and would definitely go there again.
Philip & Sylvia Hague Dance Leaders, Eastbourne.

Room Tip: We could find no fault. Even the single rooms were of a good size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

I was in a party of 28 ladies for a lunch time Christmas Party. 24 of the ladies had served in the ATS or Women's Royal Army Corps. We had a room to ourselves which was of ample size. It was festively decorated as were the tables. Just what we wanted. The combined age of the Service women was 2092!!!! Yes, 2092 years. The staff were kind and courteous and could not do enough for everyone. The food arrived promptly, was piping hot and nicely presented. Best of all was that the dishes of vegetables provided were just between two people so no passing hot food round in a circle. Would I go again? Certainly and I hope we have our party there next year. Would I recommend it? Certainly. The only downside was the parking as others have commented BUT where in a town or City centre would you find a hotel or restaurant with ample parking? It is well serviced with buses. Reception will always offer advice.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Very Central location, Perfect for Bus Routes, Great value for money, Warming, Welcoming and extremely helpful staff (especially Carol - we were in the area searching for a new home and she was only too happy to advise us with our every question!). Would recommend staying in this hotel to anyone and would definitely visit again. We took a discounted price from a price comparison site and the standard of the hotel was great for the price we paid. Only downside was an extremely squeaky bed and floorboards so walking around and rolling over disturbed our sleep temporarily (and perhaps people next door) but it really wasn't anything to worry about. Bed was somewhat uncomfortable but not unbearable - we compromised and swapped sides each night so one could have the good side! :). We had a big spacious room too.The location is paramount to this hotel and I'm sure its success because you can literally step outside and take a bus to the centre in 3 mins, the sea front in 2 and once in the centre you can go anywhere from Poole all the way across to Christchurch. Use this hotel if you wish to travel via bus everywhere. (p.s. get the yellow card, we paid £16 each for a week and it was a bargain!). The only slight quirk (which we found amusing more than anything) was the toilet paper ration! We started out the week with 1 roll on and 2 fresh rolls waiting, which declined until on the final day we didn't have any loo roll top ups at all! Haha. We didn't eat at this hotel as we felt the price was a bit above what we could afford but there is a plethora of cheap restaurants only minutes away in the centre. Would like to say thank you very much for a more than adequate stay :) Recommend room number 5 :)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oswestry
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

I stay here with my family, a 4 years old and my wife and the room was very clean and spacious. the hotel its got a car park and the location is very good as you can walk any where beach is just ten minutes so on that weekend really have a good fun.

i only pay for the room and as I can tell it was really good place to stay,

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

I attended a private luncheon function this afternoon. Excellent, good food, good value, good company and excellent service. The staff could not have been more helpful, nothing was too much trouble. I am sure we will return again. The only downside is the limited parking, however double parking with our own party solved any problem. Some of the lounge/bar furniture was a little worn though comfortable, the toilets were immaculate.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

If you like clean, modern no frills hotels like Premier, Holiday Inn and Marriott then forget this place, as you will be sorely disappointed. If there wasn't such demand for accommodation in Bournemouth I am sure this hotel would be cheaper and / or empty. Poorly decorated, shabby decor, this is more B&B. check in 2pm, out by 10am and breakfast in an hour and a half window between 8 and 9.30am! It isn't cheap, in fact it is more expensive than a Premier. Staff were friendly but not very efficient. We won't be returning.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Mayfair Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mayfair Hotel

Address: 27 Bath Road, Bournemouth BH1 2NW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Bournemouth
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mayfair Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you arrive, we want you to feel at home at the privately owned 3 star Mayfair Hotel. The warmth of our welcome and our friendly and efficient staff will ensure that you are comfortable and well looked after - whether your visit is for business or pleasure. The Hotel has 40 en suite bedrooms - all with TV, direct dial telephone, hair dryer and complimentary tea and coffee welcome tray. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Mayfair Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayfair Hotel Bournemouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mayfair Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.