We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flaky wifi, great tub” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Mayfair Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Mayfair Hotel to your Saves list
The Mayfair Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   27 Bath Road, Bournemouth BH1 2NW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 71 Hotels in Bournemouth
Montclair, New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Flaky wifi, great tub”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Good location, clean modern room, tired public areas. The WiFi was unusable from our room and a bit flaky elsewhere in the hotel. Wife raved about how nice the tub was. The Continental breakfast option (Good) was unexplained. Breakfast was great if you like grapefruit and prunes.

It's conveniently located. This would be a great place for a 30 person family gathering, but otherwise a bit boring.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    69
    22
    4
    7
See reviews for
19
55
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I recently stayed at the Mayfair Hotel. It is very good value for your money, it is very clean, the staff very friendly and efficient.
I had a lovely room and a good supply of tea, coffee and milk every day, and you could request more if required.
The food was exeptionally good quality, well cooked and presented and a varied choice.
There is a bus service outside to the shopping centre and the seafront is a short walk away.
I would recommend this hotel as excellent value.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

As soon as You arrive You are made welcome . The bedroom was clean, bright ,and good quality bedding and Towels .
All the meals were well presented. and very good choice
all the staff very helpful and friendly nothing was to much trouble I travelled with a coach trip and we were treated the same as any other guest

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stay at The Mayfair every year as part of a large group; it is a lovely hotel, very clean and comfortable and the food is excellent. The staff are friendly and helpful and go out of their way to make us welcome and accommodate our needs. We thoroughly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor are nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Cannot beat location, friendly staff and EXCELLENTLY presented delicious food. Easy walk to seafront. Bus stop right outside the door. Room decor a little tired but the rest more than makes up for this. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Stayed here a couple of weeks ago. Found it a perfect location as it is only minutes of a walk away from the beach and town centre. I've noticed many complain about the downhill walk to the beach from the hotel but it honestly is not bad at all as Bournemouth in general has quiet a few up and downhill walks. The hotel itself was a cute little place, parking was easy and though the rooms could probably do with bit more updating overall we was pleased with the cleanlinesses. If you're looking for somewhere to stay which isn't to far from beach/shops/bars/restaurants and comes at a decent price then I would definitely recommend Mayfair!! Also there are very good transportation links if need be.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed a few days for a singing Convention. All quite clean and resonably comfortable. The food and service were particularly nice, especially the evening meal. Beds a bit hard and slighly dog-eared here and there but generally quite tidy. Recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Mayfair Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mayfair Hotel

Address: 27 Bath Road, Bournemouth BH1 2NW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Bournemouth
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mayfair Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you arrive, we want you to feel at home at the privately owned 3 star Mayfair Hotel. The warmth of our welcome and our friendly and efficient staff will ensure that you are comfortable and well looked after - whether your visit is for business or pleasure. The Hotel has 40 en suite bedrooms - all with TV, direct dial telephone, hair dryer and complimentary tea and coffee welcome tray. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your The Mayfair Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayfair Hotel Bournemouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mayfair Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.