We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large portions of Good tasting food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westbourne Tandoori

Westbourne Tandoori
42 Seamoor Road, Bournemouth BH4 9AS, England
01202 767 142
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #247 of 556 Restaurants in Bournemouth
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Edenbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Large portions of Good tasting food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Table of 4 hadn't booked but restaurant only half full on arrival. Staff seemed to be very keen to get your order placed quickly and this did annoy us slightly and the very direct approach didn't make us feel comfortable. Menu has a very wide range of dishes and is reasonably priced same goes for the Wine list. Food when it came was excellent and all dishes we ordered didn't disappoint, in hide sight we should have skipped starters as all portions delivered were large.
Great place for value vs quantity but staff didn't seem to engage and at times very off hand.
This was a Tuesday night and place was full by late evening, suggest booking especially towards weekend.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    30
    13
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
England
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A more friendly service would be welcome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

My wife and I recently had a meal here on a Sunday evening. This was our third visit. The food was generally of good quality and you could really taste the subtle seasoning of the different dishes although the Pilau rice and Poppadoms were average. The service lacked any friendliness and this was a shame. maybe it is time to try the other establishments in Westbourne?

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“very busy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

we were recomened this place by locals ,, we booked a table for 8pm it was packed food was ok they were to busy to give any good service we were sat on a small table in the middle so every meal was push past us its the first time we ve gone tfor a curry and come from there smelling like we spent a night working in the kitchen , i think they should have less tables they all looked stressed out ,

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Indian Plus”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

5 tennis mates & I get here about every couple of months after a game on a Tuesday evening. Always good & we always order & eat too much but hey what the hell when it's this good

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“delicious curries”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Fantastic value for money and the food was absolutely delicious. Nothing more to say than one of the best curries I have had in a long time

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Westbourne Tandoori also viewed

Bournemouth, Dorset
Bournemouth, Dorset
 
Bournemouth, Dorset
Bournemouth, Dorset
 

Been to Westbourne Tandoori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westbourne Tandoori, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.