We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another lovely Lounge” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ludo Lounge

Ludo Lounge
34 Southbourne Grove, Bournemouth, England
+44 1202 430699
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #217 of 556 Restaurants in Bournemouth
Price range: $6 - $19
Cuisines: Contemporary, British, Bar, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Ludo Lounge is an informal, neighbourhood food led cafe/bar open all-day everyday where families, friends, and locals can come for a coffee, a drink, or something to eat in a relaxed comfortable environment.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Another lovely Lounge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Although we've used the Conto Lounge in Winton many times, this was my first visit to the Ludo.
We thought that as we were going on later to the Shelley Theatre, then the Ludo was for us, mainly because of the Lounge's prompt service & tasty food.
Obviously the menus are the same in each Lounge so you know what to expect.
Fabulous atmosphere, big, bustling, & with great music.
Plenty of space, so you don't have to worry about the other tables being too close to you.
Must now try & find the other Lounges locally, I think there is two more somewhere ........

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LudoLoungeTeam, Manager at Ludo Lounge, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Hi Mike

Thank you for your kind words regarding your recent visit to Ludo Lounge. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and you also enjoy Lounging regularly at Conto.

We are pleased to hear that our aim of high standards are consistent across both venues and we hope that you also enjoy visiting our other local Lounges in Westbourne High Street & Christchurch High Street.

We'll look forward to reading your reviews!

Kind Regards

Will
General Manager
Ludo Lounge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    49
    32
    8
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A regular comforting and happy haunt ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

I adore this place. I had been to ludo so many times I can't remember and without fail I love it everytime.
This is a friendly and cosy pub and always inviting and busy.
I usually eat here and the food is always excellent, tasty and filling with a variety of options all day.

The quiz nights are also excellent and the busiest in town. If you want to get a table on quiz night get there early as you'll have no chance otherwise. Lovely to chill out in and relax with papers, games and comfy sofas. Delicious cakes and to have a drink with friends with a pot of jelly beans and spiced nuts is always to be relished.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LudoLoungeTeam, General Manager at Ludo Lounge, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Hi VurtMonkey

Thank you for your very kind feedback regarding your regular visits to Ludo Lounge. It is great to hear that you are finding all aspects of what we offer to your satisfaction.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards

Will
General Manager
Ludo Lounge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Agreat place, anytime!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Visited this lounge 3 times in a weekend, each time had a different vibe. A terrific place to meet friends, share food and enjoy fab cocktails. Did not try it, but the breakfast menu looked lovely. Really good to see somewhere packed yet relaxed on a Sunday morning, welcoming families too. Brilliant.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LudoLoungeTeam, General Manager at Ludo Lounge, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Hi Lisa

Thank you very much for your kind feedback regarding your various recent visits to Ludo Lounge.

We pride ourselves on having something for everyone and catering for any occasion so it is pleasing to know this was the vibe you got on not 1, but 3 occasions!

Sunday's are indeed a great day for 'Lounging' and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Hopefully you'll indulge in one of our Brunch menu dishes (served all day, so enjoy a lay in first!)

Kind Regards

Will
General Manager
Ludo Lounge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Consistent & welcoming ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

If you want value for money & quick friendly service Ludo is the place in southbourne.I've been in for coffee and lunches loads of times the food pretty good it's always consistent. Always welcoming & accommodate children which is appreciated. I'm infuriated by the previous review with ref to the mother breastfeeding...

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LudoLoungeTeam, General Manager at Ludo Lounge, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Hi Simone

Thank you for your very kind feedback regarding your visit to Ludo Lounge. We continuously strive for high standards and consistency so it is great to hear you are enjoying just that!

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards

Will
General Manager
Ludo Lounge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“2nd Lounge visited”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Being a regular user of the Lounge in Christchurch, I found myself in Southbourne recently and thought id pop in for a bite to eat. Although clearly a bit older and worn than Christchurch, it still has that cosy feel to it, on arrival it was busy but my order was taken nice and quickly and coffees were brought over to me. The staff were very friendly and service throughout was very good.

The food (Lounge Eggs & a Burger) came out in good time and was delicious. The Lounges seem to be doing something right when it comes to high street dining.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LudoLoungeTeam, General Manager at Ludo Lounge, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Hi ButchersHook

Thank you for your kind feedback regarding Ludo Lounge.

It is great to hear that you are enjoying your Lounge experience in some of our local sites. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards

Will
General Manager
Ludo Lounge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ludo Lounge also viewed

Bournemouth, Dorset
Christchurch, Dorset
 

Been to Ludo Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ludo Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.