We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very "green" from an environmental point, clean, relaxing and spacious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Green House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Green House to your Saves list
The Green House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 Grove Road, Bournemouth BH1 3AX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 71 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very "green" from an environmental point, clean, relaxing and spacious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

This hotel met all expectations. We stayed two nights 11 and 12 July for the International Cheerleading competition held at BIC. The hotel is quiet, comfortable, modern and well presented and the staff service excellent. I found this hotel on the internet and chose by the ratings which were all good, so this lived up to its online reputation. I would recommend this hotel to friends and would definitely book again. It is only about 100 yards from the wonderful Bournemouth beach and within easy walking distance of the BIC and town centre.

Room Tip: The standard room was very good.
See more room tips
Green Features: Very environmentally friendly in all aspects. See their own practices on their website.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    143
    35
    16
    6
See reviews for
67
311
5
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Faversham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

It’s hard these days to find a good hotel in Bournemouth (that will make me popular with the other hotels) as the standard has dropped over the last few years. When trawling the internet for a one night stay I found this hotel and booked three rooms and hoped it would be as described.
The hotel is very good, the staff are welcoming, polite and extremely helpful, rooms are smart, comfortable and spotless, beds are good and the little touch of a folded sheet on the end of the bed for use if the duvet was to hot was most welcome in 27 degrees of heat.
We had two smaller doubles with walk in shower and a one large double with role top bath and walk in shower all of adequate size, wardrobes could be a bit bigger as don’t offer a lot of space just enough space for a one or two night stay.
Bar is light and smart the selection of drinks is good and a fairly priced wine list was most welcome.
Restaurant food was the only real negative maybe trying to bat above their weight, all three main dishes had some cooked and some seriously under cooked food on the same plate, lack of sauces was also apparent which were desperately needed to bring the plate together. My first and last experience I hope of slowly cooked pig cheeks served dry, were was the lovely cooking sauce?
I would have no hesitation booking this hotel on my next trip to Bournemouth and recommending it others

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

A last minute business trip brought me here after my usual Premier Inn was booked up.
So glad I found the Green House. For not much more I got a large comfortable, beautiful room.
The room came with still and sparkling water in large bottles, tea and coffee and biscuits.
The bed was large and comfortable and as the weather is scorching you are also presented with a sheet if the duvet is too much. Blinds also keep the room cool.
Breakfast in the restaurant is a great selection of pastries, fruit and cereal followed by the usual array of cooked breakfast, omelettes, and porridge and for an additional fee a champagne breakfast....shame I was working.
Also has a lovely bar with great friendly reception and staff.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

I stay in this hotel regularly and always look forward to going back.

The rooms are superb, albeit a little strange with the bath tub plonked in the middle of some rooms. Every room has a difference to the other which is nice. The beds are quite soft, not for everyone but I like that.

The food is good, however I'd like to see a better breakfast with wider variety.

It's about a 15 minute walk from the centre of town which is ideal and has free parking outside which is adequate considering how many rooms the hotel has.

To be pedantic it would benefit them to install a lift, those stairs are a trek when carrying bags to the top floor.

All in all it's a great hotel, I'll always go back.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The Greenhouse is a really nice venue - beautiful rooms, clean, complementary fresh milk (nice touch), friendly staff, quality bar, great breakfast. complaints? - None!

Buckets and spade available from the reception area are a nice touch!

Green Features: this hotel is all about being friendly to the environment - they have considered every aspect and minimised potential environmental impact.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, Channel Islands
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

My wife and I have stayed here many times over the last 4 years whilst our daughter has been at university and we have one more night booked later in the year for her graduation. Whilst it is great to stay in a hotel which is not part of a chain and that tries to be a little bit different it would also be nice if their systems were sophisticated enough to pick up returning guests. There is no sense of being made to feel as if you are anything other than just another faceless guest through the door. When we first stayed it was a really good hotel that was very welcoming - now it is just a hotel that could do with a bit of a freshening up. It is certainly good enough for us to stay one more time but not enough to make me feel like I will miss not going back.

In terms of location etc within Bournemouth it is still spot on - after all, that is something that cannot change!.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

A pleasant experience all round, with comfortable rooms, friendly staff and tasty bar snacks for an afternoon of playing backgammon to avoid the rain. The breakfast was pleasant too, but the dinner restaurant was very expensive. I would return.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Green House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green House

Address: 4 Grove Road, Bournemouth BH1 3AX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#11 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Green House 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Award winning Green House is a stylish boutique hotel, nestled in the beautiful East Cliff area of Bournemouth town. Winner of the AA Eco hotel of the year, and now Considerate Hotel of the year 2013, the Green House lives and breathes sustainability. Home to the highly acclaimed Arbor restaurant. At Arbor our commitment to sustainability goes far beyond our menu, it’s a deep held belief that runs through everything we do. From sourcing the best quality local and sustainable ingredients to the low energy induction cookers we use in the kitchen, from the honey bees on the roof to the FSC timber on the restaurant floor, it is not a commitment we take lightly. You will see a lot of what we’ve done for yourself, but sometimes it’s the things you can’t see that make the biggest difference.The Sustainable Restaurant Association recently awardedus top marks for our efforts. If you are staying with us at the Green House then dining at Arbor is a must! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Green House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Green House Hotel Bournemouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Green House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.