We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love It” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Green House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Green House to your Saves list
The Green House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 Grove Road, Bournemouth BH1 3AX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 76 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Love It”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The Greenhouse is a really nice venue - beautiful rooms, clean, complementary fresh milk (nice touch), friendly staff, quality bar, great breakfast. complaints? - None!

Buckets and spade available from the reception area are a nice touch!

Green Features: this hotel is all about being friendly to the environment - they have considered every aspect and minimised potential environmental impact.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dansvotremaison_com
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Guernsey, Channel Islands
Level Contributor
90 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

My wife and I have stayed here many times over the last 4 years whilst our daughter has been at university and we have one more night booked later in the year for her graduation. Whilst it is great to stay in a hotel which is not part of a chain and that tries to be a little bit different it would also be nice if their systems were sophisticated enough to pick up returning guests. There is no sense of being made to feel as if you are anything other than just another faceless guest through the door. When we first stayed it was a really good hotel that was very welcoming - now it is just a hotel that could do with a bit of a freshening up. It is certainly good enough for us to stay one more time but not enough to make me feel like I will miss not going back.

In terms of location etc within Bournemouth it is still spot on - after all, that is something that cannot change!.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BigMac58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

A pleasant experience all round, with comfortable rooms, friendly staff and tasty bar snacks for an afternoon of playing backgammon to avoid the rain. The breakfast was pleasant too, but the dinner restaurant was very expensive. I would return.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We stayed here for our wedding anniversary and were beautifully looked after, lovely staff, very comfy room and well equipped. Would very happily stay again. All the hotel rooms are named after trees which reflects the eco-ethos beautifully. Thank you

Room Tip: We had a room on the second floor at the side of the hotel
See more room tips
Green Features: Very well executed and without stinting on comfort.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kawana, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We recently stayed five nights and was very impressed with the quality of accommodation. We stayed in a large double room which was a large room with clawfoot bath in the main room as well as a large shower in the ensuite. Service was good as were facilities with bar and restaurant. The only slight criticism is the lack of variety of bread rolls at breakfast and the variable size of the cooked breakfast. Parking available on site for those with a car.

Room Tip: Treat yourself to a large room with bathtub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greentoow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We stayed one night for a wedding in a luxury double room. It had a roll-top bath in the room and spacious shower en-suite. The bed was really comfortable with soft feather pillows and quality cotton sheets. Everything in the room is tastefully done and eco friendly which is good to see in a hotel where wastage and bog standard amenities are the norm. There is a jar of home made biscuits, bottles of house water, flat screen eco telli and solid quality furniture provided in the room. The staff are really friendly and helpful, nothing is too much. It is a lovely venue for a wedding or just for an overnight stay. We had an easy walk to the town centre and seafront from the hotel. All in all I would thouroughly recommend this excellent hotel.

Room Tip: I only saw our room on the front of the hotel - lovely.
See more room tips
Green Features: Fantastic eco friendly. No dreadful waste of food at breakfast.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kate m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for my mothers 80th at the weekend. I had told the team in advance, and they made mum feel special with wishes, little touches and attention.
The Arbour dining is fantastic with stunning food, tasty and well presented.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank MatthewandIan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#10 of 76 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 stars 2,623 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Langtry Manor Hotel
Langtry Manor Hotel
#2 of 76 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 stars 676 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Bournemouth Central Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Green House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green House

Address: 4 Grove Road, Bournemouth BH1 3AX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#7 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — The Green House 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Award winning Green House is a stylish boutique hotel, nestled in the beautiful East Cliff area of Bournemouth town. Winner of the AA Eco hotel of the year, as well as Considerate Hotel of the year 2013, the Green House lives and breathes sustainability. Home to the highly acclaimed Arbor restaurant. At Arbor our commitment to sustainability goes far beyond our menu, it's a deep held belief that runs through everything we do. From sourcing the best quality local and sustainable ingredients to the low energy induction cookers we use in the kitchen, from the honey bees on the roof to the FSC timber on the restaurant floor, it is not a commitment we take lightly. You will see a lot of what we've done for yourself, but sometimes it's the things you can't see that make the biggest difference.The Sustainable Restaurant Association recently awardedus top marks for our efforts. If you are staying with us at the Green House then dining at Arbor is a must! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Green House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Green House Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing