We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Organic hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Green House

Save Saved
You added The Green House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Green House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 Grove Road, Bournemouth BH1 3AX, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free room upgrade
Ranked #7 of 70 hotels in Bournemouth
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Organic hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Very relax and organic but the hotel doesn't have air conditioner or fan , the weather was extremely hot , no refrigerator as well. If you want to come and relax , you should come, it't very fresh , peace and relax.But the facilities for the hotel are not enough ,no gym or swimming pool. Very near the beach .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    261
    111
    30
    15
    6
See reviews for
49
259
2
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We booked a large double room for a short family break, based on good reviews. We were not disappointed. The hotel was beautifully decorated, exceptionally clean and all the staff we encountered were very helpful, polite and nothing was too much trouble. We have a 3 year old and they had set up a little bed for him. There was a fridge on the landing outside our room where you could top up a flask they gave you for milk. Bottles of water were available whenever you needed them and home baked biscuits! We had no problem parking at the front of the hotel. The only downside was the slow wi-fi connection and because it is a 'green' hotel, obviously no air conditioning so very hot in the room during the rare UK heatwave. Breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON, UK
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Arrived Sunday morning early enough to have breakfast which they were more than happy to arrange. Sat on the lawn until the remainder of our party arrived and had lunch on the lawn. Very peaceful and quite relaxing especially as the sun was shining. We are 3 aging couples one of which upgraded to a 6' bedded room which along with the roll top bath in the bedroom corner was quite delightful. The room had seperate shower and usual facilities was very comfortable and I would highly recommend the "copper beech" as it was nice and cool in this heat wave we're having. The other couples were at the top of the building and did find it hot as there isn't any air-con.
Sunday evening they set up tables for diner on the lawn and we had a great evening as talking was more important than eating which was just as well as the meals were delayed due to chef shortage in the kitchen. When the food was served it was definitely worth the wait and the waiting staff Aga and Michael did their very best to keep us informed. The staff generally were very friendly and more than helpful.
Monday and Tuesday mornings as we were sitting outside waiting for our party to arrive, we were offered breakfast outside. Breakfast was more than adequate with a reasonable selection of both cold and hot food cooked to order.
We had a lovely couple of days of relaxation in a newly refurbished hotel which was helped immensely by the staff and all those involved.

Room Tip: Copper beech highly recommended as protected from the direct sunshine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east sussex
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Due to family living in the area, we make frequent visits to Bournemouth, trying different hotels when we can. This has been our favourite so far. It is a very short walk to the East Overcliff, pier, gardens and shops. We were lucky that the weather was amazing - clear blue skies and temperatures in the high 20s. The peaceful gardens surrounding the hotel had table and chairs for alfresco dining/drinking and when we arrived a jazz guitarist was playing. Reception was friendly and efficient, and we were shown to our room on the top floor. Nice touches like fresh milk in a flask, complimentary still and sparkling water and homemade biscuits were in the small but well equipped room. We had drinks in the bar - again friendly efficient service and very comfortable sofas, and prices were reasonable. After a good nights sleep despite the heat, we were very impressed with breakfast. This was cooked to order and was delicious. The hotel has gone to great lengths to be "green" and "eco-friendly". This isn't something that usually concerns me, but what a great job they have done! From sourcing their food as local as possible, to recycling old sofas and tables - not in a shabby chic style but recovered in stunning wool fabric. I just loved everything about it and was very sad to leave. We will be back!

Room Tip: we stayed in a standard double, but there is also a small double room. Our room was small, so I don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Second stay here this year. This time we stayed on a sunday night. The promotion was called lazy sunday and included a three course a la carte meal and a glass of champagne as well as bed and breakfast for 130 pounds.
We stayed in a double room which was very nice and overlooked the garden.
We ate in the garden on the sunday evening (make sure you book a table on arrival if its a nice evening and you want to eat outside as tables are limited).
Staff are all helpful, friendly and professional.
We will definately stay again and have recommended the place to friends and family.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Arriving at the greenhouse hotel, we were pleased with the looks of it, and the location, walking distance (300 meters) from the beach.
Coming at a busy weekend where they were fully booked, there wasn't an option to eat at the hotel, but there was an option to get the bar menu in the bar.
Outside is a great lawn with just a few tables, so there would have been a possibility to suggest putting an extra table next to the other 8.
The girl at the reception was really friendly, but didnt know anything from the area/ restaurants.
No concierge at the hotel. Later on a colleague came and made some phone calls, and could recommend us some places.
The manager came also by to help with suggestions.
Going to the cocktail bar, the manager who's really kind and friendly told us, there wasn't a possibility to get a cocktail, but wine and other spirits.
We had a great dinner at the print room, which was recommended by them.
In the morning at breakfast, people were really friendly, but service was not organised.
Waiting long for to be seated, forget to ask for coffee/tea.
Service was slow, while everybody was really busy, running around.
Not relaxed breakfast atmosphere.
On the other hand, the choice of your egg, I choose an omelette with mushrooms, cheese, onions and bacon, was more than fabulous.
The onions were caramelised, bug chunks of portobello, cheese melted and it was delish.

Overall we think the greenhouse has really great potentials, but need to be a bit more efficient/ trimmed to get the dots on the i.

Lovely staff, and great food.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oosullivan, General Manager at The Green House, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that your breakfast was enjoyable. I have read your comments and will share them with the team. The outside furniture is designed for our normal British weather so unfortunately, when the sun shines we could do with a bit more. It is on order and should be with us before the end of the month (hopefully we will still have the sun to use it!)

With regards to the service issues you experienced, this is not our normal standard and I must apologise for any discomfort you experienced. I am disappointed that you did not experience our normal Green House efficiency. We would love to welcome you back to the Greeen House in the future but in the meantime if there is anything further you would like to discuss please do contact me directly on 01202 498900 or email oosullivan@thegreenhousehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, England
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Stayed in this hotel over the weekend for 1 night with friends.
Hotel was very clean and tidy and decor was upmarket and minimalistic.

Reception when entering was very welcoming.
Our room was a double but very small!

The bathroom you couldn't even swing a cat in! Whoever designed the bathroom must of needed their head read due to stepping out the shower you nearly stand on the toilet to do so its that close and your even dripping water over it so someone wishing to go will have a nice wet backside!

We did have two bottles of water on arrival which was nice especially as one of them was sparkling. Two biscuits in a jar beside the bed which we are now thinking the maid got hungry as the other two of our party had 4 biscuits upon arrival.

We didn't eat in the resturant in the evening as we we're due to go elsewhere but we decided to have a few drinks before heading off.
As this was a Very HOT evening we could see there was chairs and tables put out on the front lawn of the garden, we thought it would be nice to sit outside to have them to be told "I'm sorry but they are all reserved". Very frustrating as they should cater for more guests perhaps knowing that day how high the temperature was.

The bar area had very uncomfortable chairs and the music was solem that it made you feel quite depressed! Mixed music would of been better.

Breakfast : well what can I say, the hotel wasn't that full but a snail would of been faster at serving us than the waiters/waitress's that were on this morning! Had to ask for some toast about 3 times, marmalade and butter twice. Female waitress knew I was trying to get her attention looked at me then looked away! Very rude.
Breakfast was good just the right size.

Overall the hotel aims to be very posh and upperclass but FAILS miserably with waitressing staff and shoe box size rooms especially for the price you pay!
Very expensive for what it is.

Room Tip: Premier inn?
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oosullivan, General Manager at The Green House, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave this feedback for your recent stay. I am delighted to hear that you found the hotel and the reception team welcoming. The room you are describing is one of our SMALL doubles, so I'm not sure the description is misleading. We usually leave two freshly baked biscuits in our smaller rooms and four freshly baked biscuits in our larger rooms as these sometimes accommodate extra people and we don't want anyone to miss out! I can understand your frustration, with this unusually hot weather, at not being able to sit outside but some clever guests had clearly got there before you. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast but I am sorry to hear of the poor service in doing so.

We are a green hotel, and have an honest approch to all things be it our sourcing of food or our pricing. We certainly do not aim to alienate any guests by supposing to be "posh" but rather try to take the approach of sourcing the best ingredients and furnishings in order to treat our guests. If there was anything you would like to discuss further about your stay with us I am available by phone on 01202 498900 or email oosullivan@thegreenhousehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Green House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green House

Address: 4 Grove Road, Bournemouth BH1 3AX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bournemouth
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#4 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Green House 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Award winning Green House is a stylish boutique hotel, nestled in the beautiful East Cliff area of Bournemouth town. Winner of the AA Eco hotel of the year, and now Considerate Hotel of the year 2013, the Green House lives and breathes sustainability. Home to the highly acclaimed Arbor restaurant. At Arbor our commitment to sustainability goes far beyond our menu, it’s a deep held belief that runs through everything we do. From sourcing the best quality local and sustainable ingredients to the low energy induction cookers we use in the kitchen, from the honey bees on the roof to the FSC timber on the restaurant floor, it is not a commitment we take lightly. You will see a lot of what we’ve done for yourself, but sometimes it’s the things you can’t see that make the biggest difference.The Sustainable Restaurant Association recently awardedus top marks for our efforts. If you are staying with us at the Green House then dining at Arbor is a must! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Despegar.com, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Green House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Green House Hotel Bournemouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Green House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.