We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean City

Ocean City
38 Christchurch Rd, Bournemouth BH1 3PD, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #78 of 556 Restaurants in Bournemouth
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Manchester, UK
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Better than expected!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

The food here was very good! Recommended to us by a local hotelier, the initial appearance is a bit underwhelming; but once we understood that the restaurant has recently relocated here, and that the building is a work in progress, the initial concerns driven by the appearance diminished. And good job too, as the food was really good! Will happily return here on a another visit to Bournemouth.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    65
    13
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“ocean city”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Went to this restaurant for a family do there was nine of us. The best thing about the place was the decor which was very good. The food was not too good with small portions and very over priced. The service was not much better. All in all we will not be going back here.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Chinese cuisine especially the Dim Sum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Since this restaurant is reopened by the original owner, the standards has gone up. We loved the Dim Sum in this place. The service could be improved on as the staff seem to be more friendly to the Chinese customers. Otherwise great stuff, well done.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We were in Bournemouth for a short break and, as we had remembered having a really good meal previously at this restaurant we phoned and booked a table. What we didn't realise was that it had moved! We didn't know what to do so phoned the restaurant to find out where they were. The owner? Manager? asked where we were (outside the Conference Centre) and came and picked us up!! You really cannot get better service than that. We were pleased to find the new restaurant spacious and beautifully decorated. The food was delicious with plenty of choice and the service friendly and attentive. I can thoroughly recommend this restaurant and hope they haven't moved too far out from the centre to affect their customer numbers.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Wery nice place and great food ..reasonable prices and good atmosphere :) I will recommend that place :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean City also viewed

 
Bournemouth, Dorset
Bournemouth, Dorset
 

Been to Ocean City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.