We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a lovely place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Carlton Lodge

The Carlton Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Carlton Lodge to your Saves list
The Carlton Lodge
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   12 Westby Road, Bournemouth BH5 1HD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 151 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
“Just a lovely place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

We found this place on the internet, and we couldn't have stayed in a more welcoming guest house. Thankyou to Jill and Norman! Lovely, clean and comfortable rooms, with added touches i.e. fresh bottle of water every morning, as well as the tea/coffee/hot chocolate and biscuits, all very much appreciated.
Wonderful, comfortable beds! Nicely furnished room!
Breakfasts were so good, we didn't eat very much for the rest of the day! AND...an Easter Egg on Easter Sunday morning...that's what I call going the extra mile.
So thankyou Jill and Norman...I'm sure we'll be back, and we've spread the word!!
We always stayed at the Salvation Army's Cliff House, which has now been sold, so we know a number of folks who would be more than happy to stay at your place. Thankyou - hope all goes well for you both in the coming year whatever it may hold! Mary and George Scott.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
18
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barnet
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

We stayed here as an overnight stop after going to Bournemouth FC.

The hosts were most welcoming and the our room on the first floor was large with a double bed and an additional single bed with en-suite shower room. There was tea and coffee making facilities , with biscuits and a bottle of water each. There was driveway parking for 4 cars.

Breakfast was delicious.

We recommend this guest house and would definitely stay here again.

The ground is about 15 minutes walk away and if you walk in the opposite direction you get to the beach and there are a couple of nice bars and restaurants on the way.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Had a lovely stay here. The owners couldn't have done more for us; when we mentioned it was our wedding anniversary several minutes later a cyclamen appeared as a present for us. The room was large, and so was the breakfast. Would visit again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Jill and Norman were very nice and friendly.
Great breakfast. Lovely muffins
Rooms were clean, with en-suite, TV and free tea/cofee making and buscuits.
Good location for away fans - 10-15mins walk to the ground.
5-10 mins walk to shops, bars etc
Driveway parking.

Would definitely stay here again next time I visit Bournemouth!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

I stayed here for one night with my boyfriend after coming to Bournemouth for the football. We were met by Gill, who showed us to our room and was very helpful in explaining how to get to the ground, and the pubs for the away fans. She was also able to advise on the best places to eat locally. The room was big, with a double bed and a single bed, and en suite bathroom. The bed was comfy, the wardrobe spacious and there were tea and coffee facilities, together with bottles of water and biscuits.

The breakfast in the morning was superb, cereals, juice, tea and coffee and amazing homemade blueberry muffins. The jam and marmalade were also homemade which is a lovely touch. You can then order a cooked breakfast from the menu, it was beautiful and certainly fills you up. Gill and Norm were both very attentive and looked after us, making sure we had everything we needed, cannot fault their hospitality at all. Lovely couple, and this is definitely a place we plan to stay at again in the future. Listen to the good reviews, this is a great place to stay. Good locality if, like us, you want to go to the football.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

...how to run a B & B. These people should go to The Carlton Lodge and learn how things should be done! As nearly all of the reviews say - very friendly reception, clean rooms, super breakfast. Norman and Gill have the right balance between being professional and friendly at the same time. We stayed in room 3, which was large and quiet.If there was any nitpicking, it would be that the shower was a liitle "tight". However, given a choice between cleanliness or size, give me the former every time!
Free WiFi (not mentioned on some sites).
We would make this a first choice if we were to stay in the area again.
Ideally located for The O2 Academy.

Room Tip: Room 3 - Double bed + single bed + chaise longue. Quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

spent one night . found the room spotless and very comfortable bed .and a lovely warm greeting from norm and gill. and you cannot fault breakfast a full english . outstanding and personalized to your liking. this b. b is a short walk to the beach and boscombe pier . we walk to bournemouth along the beach to harry ramsden for his fish and chips . then walked back it was a lovely stroll.would stay her again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Carlton Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlton Lodge

Address: 12 Westby Road, Bournemouth BH5 1HD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Carlton Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family run AA 3 Star Highly Commended Guest House just 5 minutes from the golden sandy beaches and Europe's 1st surf reef. A short car ride away you can explore the New Forest National Park or the Jurassic coast. Whether on holiday or business come and let us spoil you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Carlton Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Carlton Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.