We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greeted like old friends!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunhaven Guest House

Sunhaven Guest House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sunhaven Guest House to your Saves list
Sunhaven Guest House
39 Southern Road, Bournemouth BH6 3SS, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 151 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Greeted like old friends!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

My wife & I had a weekend away in Dorset and we could not fault the service we experienced: nothing was too much for Mike & Sue. Our room was spotless and even had a balcony with views out to sea, plus the bed was SO comfortable: the location is excellent being so close to the sea and is in a quiet neighbourhood. However, the highlight was our Full English breakfast and I can only echo the sentiments of previous reviewers, i.e. the sausages fantastic!
We shall return!

Room Tip: We had room 2 and this came with its' own balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunhavenbb, Owner at Sunhaven Guest House, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review it was very kind of you. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and in particular the breakfast which Mike takes great pride in cooking freshly each morning. It was very good to meet you and hope to see you again in the near future.
Regards Mike and Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
45
60
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Our first visit but most certainly not our last! Mike and Sue are very friendly and welcoming. The rooms are spotlessly clean and the breakfast was excellent. It is only a very short walk to a lovely beach. We would strongly recommend this to any age group as young and old are well served by all the facilities around. We stayed in the triple bedroom which was beautifully spacious, we will try for that one on our next visit even though there may be just two of us.

Room Tip: The triple room has sea views from the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunhavenbb, Owner at Sunhaven Guest House, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thank you for your review Janet we do appreciate that you have taken the time to make such nice comments about the Sunhaven. It was a pleasure to meet you and hope you do come back to see us again.
Regards Mike and Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Powys, UK
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Arrived as guests left as friends, spotlessly clean, warm and friendly, nothing too much trouble and lovely sausages for breakfast! We would highly recommend this guest house, a quiet street five minutes form cliff top and ten minutes from lovely beach.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunhavenbb, Owner at Sunhaven Guest House, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
It was very nice to read your lovely comments, so thank you very much for taking the time to write them. It was lovely meeting you both and glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Regards Mike and Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterthur, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Mike & Sue made us feel really welcome. The room (for 4 people... Double bed and 2 singles) was excellent. Everything was clean and comfortable and was just what we needed. Breakfast was great.. with Mike fetching special sausages from the new forest. mmmhhhh...

We can heartily recommend the Sunhaven guesthouse to anyone wanting to stay in the Bournemouth area. Just a short walk to the local shops, the beach and within easy reach to Bournemouth, Christchurch and the New Forest area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunhavenbb, Owner at Sunhaven Guest House, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments we really appreciate such positive feedback. We are so happy that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us.
Regards Mike and Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Third visit to this guest house (which is a first for us) & we have no hesitation in recommending the proprietors for providing a wonderful welcome, spotless accommodation and excellent varied choice for breakfast. The guest house is perfectly situated for the beach, shops & local pubs & restaurants which provide a variety of snacks & evening meals. Enjoyable excellent holiday stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunhavenbb, Owner at Sunhaven Guest House, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thank you Gill, it was so lovely to see you both again and glad you had great holiday with us.
It was so good to read your nice comments about the Sunhaven we do appreciate it.
Regards Mike and Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingolstadt, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights at Sues and Mikes and had a great time. Our 11month old son was very welcome and enjoyed the time at the close beach!
The family room has lots of space and a near by bathtub was perfect to use for the little one. The English breakfast was awesome!

Thanks for your hospitality, it's been a great pleasure!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

I have been staying here for 3 months during my pilot training. The owners Mick and Sue are lovely and will make your stay one to remember.

The hotel is very very clean. I have stayed in top hotels in many places but never seen a hotel as clean or well looked after, a real credit to the owners . You could eat your breakfast off the bathroom floor its so clean .

The rooms are very nice with tv and tea making facilities. The beds are comfy and again very clean.

Location is good, minutes away from a lovely beach and close to shops and places to eat .

1st class service, great value, fantastic breakfast and lovely owners . A perfect stay :)

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunhavenbb, Owner at Sunhaven Guest House, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us, your kind words mean so much to us. We are very pleased that you enjoyed staying with us and we hope that all the hours you spent studying have payed off. You deserve every success for the future.
Thanks again Mike and Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunhaven Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunhaven Guest House

Address: 39 Southern Road, Bournemouth BH6 3SS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Sunhaven Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunhaven Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.