We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family weekend away at the Living room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Living Room Bournemouth

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Living Room Bournemouth to your Saves list
Living Room Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   2 Drury Road | Alum Chine, Bournemouth BH4 8HA, England (Formerly Thanet House)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 151 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
St. Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
“Family weekend away at the Living room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We spent an excellent couple of days at the Living Room. Anna and Andy, and their team couldn't have been any more welcoming. We used their family room, which had a separate room for the Children, including a tv which was a revelation to them!!

The breakfast was great and huge! The whole house has a very welcoming, family feel to it. The location is amazing, being only a short walk from Alum Chine beach, and Westbourne is close by for food and shops.

We will definitely be back if we are staying that way again

Room Tip: If you have a family with opt for the family suite. The childrens' room has 2 beds, and you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    58
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
64
121
34
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Very enjoyable stay in September, breakfast was very tasty and offered different choices.
Bedroom was of a nautical theme, and bathroom was very clean and modern. The location was very easy to walk into main Bourmemouth, and in Westbourne lots of places to eat.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent, but our room was on the first floor and at the back which was very quiet at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We visited the area when we visit our student at Bournemouth University. We wanted to stay at a more personal place than a typical hotel. And we really got what we wanted in The Living Room! We had a very nice weekend stay. The rooms are very cute and clean, the staff is extreamely welcoming and friendly, and the brekfast was just great in a home style dining area. We will for sure go back next time and stay at Living Room when we go back to Bournemouth.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardigan, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We visited the area to visit my sister and her daughter. The Living Room was ideal as my sister lives three doors away! Lovely room and the staff were helpful and welcoming. Quiet location which is important for us. Breakfasts were delicious. Lovely walk to the beach! Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

This B&B is clean and comfortable beds. The room and bathroom were rather small but nevertheless comfortable. The location is quite nice, near the Alum chine. The charming atmosphere of this B&B and the sympathetic staff really made our weekend abroad extra nice. These people know how to run a B&B!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed at the Living Room for a total of two nights, one before our trip to Jersey and one after. We requested a quiet room and that is exactly what we got.
The accommodation ticked all the boxes for a one night stay being small but containing everything required.
The dining room for breakfast doubles as a cafe during the day and this proved popular with what I would guess were local regulars.
On our arrival we were asked if we wanted a cup of tea; I don't like ordinary tea but was offered rooibos which is what I drink all the time at home, and which is rare to find in most establishments. Breakfast was excellent with a wide range of options.

We were given directions to the walk down Alum Chine to the beach which we greatly enjoyed.

We were also given directions for the walk to the Westbourne shopping area and also to "the best chip shop in the town, Chez Fred, which lived up to the billing..

We will certainly stay there again when we next go to Jersey.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Yorkshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We were visiting Bournemouth for a wedding and our family were staying at a large national hotel. We decided to look for something more personal and came across The Living Room, so glad we did. The room was lovely, comfortable, large and well equipped. The coffee shop was great; good coffee and cakes and the breakfast was substantial and really delicious. If we ever visit Bournemouth again this will be our choice of place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Living Room Bournemouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Living Room Bournemouth

Address: 2 Drury Road | Alum Chine, Bournemouth BH4 8HA, England (Formerly Thanet House)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Living Room Bournemouth 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique award winning gem of a Bed and Breakfast and Coffee Lounge in Alum Chine, Bournemouth. Winner of Bournemouth Tourism Guest Accommodation of the Year 2012 & 2013 as well as Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence 2012, 2013 & 2014. The B&B has seven spacious, individually styled rooms with modern en-suite bathrooms. As a family run business we specialise in providing a friendly, informal service tailored to individual requirements. The AA Breakfast Award winning breakfasts offer delicious full cooked options from the classic to the more unusual like Ham Hock Hash, homemade granola and plenty of tasty vegetarian or gluten free options. We promise you, you will not find anywhere else like The Living Room in Bournemouth for value for money, quality food, its unpretentious quirky environment or the pleasurable experience. Our emphasis is on helping customers feel relaxed by offering comfortable beds, clean and well maintained rooms, amazing food and caring, attentive service. The experience is added to by us being situated in the undoubtedly best part of Bournemouth ten minutes' walk in between the glorious Alum Chine beach (accessed by the peaceful chines) as well as the boutique and independently run businesses of Westbourne. As Bournemouth has been voted one of the happiest places to live in the UK we feel that we have no option but to pass on the infectious and rejuvenating vibes! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere and Booking.com so you can book your Living Room Bournemouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thanet House Hotel Bournemouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Living Room Bournemouth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.