We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THANET HOUSE NEVER FAILS TO IMPRESS” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Living Room Bournemouth

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Living Room Bournemouth to your Saves list
Living Room Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   2 Drury Road | Alum Chine, Bournemouth BH4 8HA, England (Formerly Thanet House)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% discount voucher
Ranked #25 of 152 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
madmaggie44
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“THANET HOUSE NEVER FAILS TO IMPRESS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

Another great family weekend away. This time eleven family members spent a wonderful weekend here. As always it was a great experience. This really is 'home from home' and Andy and Anna are great hosts. Nothing too much trouble. Accommodation is first rate and the breakfasts have to be experienced to be believed. Location is fantastic with the beach only a short walk away. Westbourne shops just a short walk away with fantastic restaurants. All in all a great place to stay and we cant wait for our next visit.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    59
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
64
127
35
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

We booked this the night before for a weekend away from London. We were lucky to get the last bedroom, which was at the top of the house and very comfortable. We can confirm 100% that the breakfasts served up are indeed very good and prepare you for a walk along the beach!

Andy and Anna are very friendly and really do make an effort to make you feel at home.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge UK
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

Everything about this place is great, friendly people and very clean and comfortable.
Rooms very nice with large flat screen TV x

Room Tip: all rooms good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Found Thanet House to be exceptional...Friendly family hosts...Nothing too much trouble...Packed lunch should you require...Drinks up to 22:00...En-suite shower room spotlessly clean...Lovely light and tastefully decorated room...And breakfast was a superb...We would definitely return...On site parking is limited although there is street parking in this quiet residential area.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portsmouth
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

We have just got back from a two night stay, and I have to say that it was perfect.

The room was lovely, and the attention to detail is amazing. Humbug sweets, and a vey high standard of cleanliness. Breakfast was excellent.

We will definitely be returning on our next visit to Bournemouth.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middx
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

Our room was excellent value, large and comfortable. Fabulous en suite shower room, lovely bathroom fitments, especially the very large shower head. Our hosts were very friendly and attentive, We have stayed at many similar establishments around the UK and this was the first time we were offered a pot of tea on arrival, a very nice touch and we appreciated it. We looked forward to the breakfast every morning and thought it was well cooked and nicely presented. We did find the mattress firm, bordering on hard, but maybe that's because our one at home is quite soft, we would also have liked bath sheets and not bath towels as we found they came up a bit short on us, but they would be OK for smaller people. I'm typing up this review whilst watching "Four in a bed" and I have to say based on the programmes I have seen so far this week, I am rating Thanet House as excellent on sheer value alone. We love Bournemouth its one of our favourite getaway haunts and we would most definitely consider staying at Thanet House again and would recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

Excellent quality and reasonable price for midweek stay on business.

A very modern, upmarket B&B with tastefully decorated rooms and very friendly hosts.

Room Tip: Try the muesli and the poached eggs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Living Room Bournemouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Living Room Bournemouth

Address: 2 Drury Road | Alum Chine, Bournemouth BH4 8HA, England (Formerly Thanet House)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Living Room Bournemouth 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique vintage boutique award winning Bed and Breakfast and Coffee Lounge in Alum Chine, Bournemouth. Winner of Bournemouth Tourism Guest Accommodation of the Year 2012 & 2013 as well as Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence 2012, 2013 & 2014. The B&B has seven spacious, individually styled rooms with modern en-suite bathrooms. As a family run business we specialise in providing a friendly, informal service tailored to individual requirements. The AA Breakfast Award winning breakfasts offer delicious full cooked options from the classic to the more unusual like Ham Hock Hash, homemade granola and plenty of tasty vegetarian or gluten free options. We promise you, you will not find anywhere else like The Living Room in Bournemouth for value for money, quality food, its unpretentious quirky environment or the pleasurable experience. Our emphasis is on helping customers feel relaxed by offering comfortable beds, clean and well maintained rooms, amazing food and caring, attentive service. The experience is added to by us being situated in the undoubtedly best part of Bournemouth ten minutes' walk in between the glorious Alum Chine beach (accessed by the peaceful chines) as well as the boutique and independently run businesses of Westbourne. As Bournemouth has been voted one of the happiest places to live in the UK we feel that we have no option but to pass on the infectious and rejuvenating vibes! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, LateRooms and Hotels.com so you can book your Living Room Bournemouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thanet House Hotel Bournemouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Living Room Bournemouth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.