We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over priced poor quality and not trust worthy” 1 of 5 stars
Review of West Cliff Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added West Cliff Inn to your Saves list
West Cliff Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 Westcliff Road, Bournemouth BH2 5EX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 71 Hotels in Bournemouth
Watford, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Over priced poor quality and not trust worthy”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

I said at this hotel recently on arrival I was given the key to a room and while I was in the shower (which had no shampoo other than a bar of soap) I was rung up and told I was given the wrong key after I while I worked out they meant the wrong room - I said that's ok this will do and we agreed on this. I then turned up next day for my breakfast which was termed a full English which turned out to be cereal and toast! On leaving I was asked to pay £8 for the breakfast and a adminstrive charge of £24 for the room change. I refused pay the charge and paid for the overcharged breakfast. The thing I noticed about this hotel was it was overpriced and the staff seemed prefer to sit outside smoking rather than working. I am now considering writing to the tourist board for the town to discuss its view of admin charges for the hotel mistakes.

Room Tip: Select another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestCliffInn, Receptionist at West Cliff Inn, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you for your time to review our hotel.
You moved to our Standard double room because you were complaining about the size of the one you have booked originally. You have been informed there is an upgrade charge for it if you would like to move.
Our full English breakfast price is £8.00. One of our staff confirmed he served you a full English breakfast, that's why you have been charged the full price.
We are sorry about the misunderstanding and hoping to see you again in our hotel.

Kind Regards,

Zsoka Ralik
Receptionist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    79
    45
    35
    35
See reviews for
16
153
18
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed for one night. The receptionist was very friendly and helpful at check-in and the room was a good size. It was reasonably decorated and had a large flat screen telly and a comfortable sofa, but no safe and the bathroom was very small (although it was clean and the shower was lovely and hot). Unfortunately, the room was at the front of the building and it was quite noisy at night. Breakfast was nice but it was seriously overpriced. We enjoyed our stay but felt that we could have got better value for money.

Room Tip: Request a room on the south side of the building - it will be a lot quieter.
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed for a night . When we checked in the clerk seemed inconvenienced that we were there , we had an economy room , it was very small but it was lovely and warm . The shower was amazing .

We did not have breakfast as it was very very expensive , the bar was dead . Nice room but not much of an atmosphere .

We did get a very good deal online.
A great location and one of the cleanest hotels I have stayed in

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Stayed here for a weekend and must say that the hotel was very comfortable and catered to our needs. Absolutely wonderful staff, very very friendly and were always available to help. Room was very satisfying, shower was brilliant and the tv was a great size. I would have ordered breakfast twice as it was amazing and literally brightened up the rest of my day. Good price, fantastic hotel. RECOMMENDED TO ANYONE!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestCliffInn, Receptionist at West Cliff Inn, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you very much for your time and your review.
We are hoping to see you again in our hotel.

Kind Regards,

Zsoka Ralik
Receptionist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

Very good hotel in good location. Off road parking at front and rear of building. Nice clean, well decorated rooms. Stayed room only as couldn't book breakfast online, could of booked when checking in but Wetherspoon not too far away. Excellent value, rooms very nice. Only stayed one night.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Booked this hotel for a few nights sept 2012 as the rooms looked nice at a good price. When we checked in everything seemed good. The room was a good size and clean. The staff really work hard, they were non stop cleaning whenever we saw them and friendly. However at night time it was like sleeping in a factory. The water pumps make an awfully loud noise and we didn't sleep at all. Breakfast was nice though, just not quite warm enough though but good quality food. Served well by friendly staff, can't fault the staff at all. The bathroom door didn't shut and there was no fridge.

I wouldn't stay here again though and I wouldn't recommend it only for the noise.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

For an overnight stay where you just want a comfortable bed without any frills this is ideal. Its a budget priced hotel so don't expect anything more. The room and particularly the bathroom was a little small and it wasn't the cleanest hotel iv'e stayed at. However, the staff were so nice and friendly that it kind of made up for its shortcomings.
I would stay here again but only for the one night.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to West Cliff Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Cliff Inn

Address: 15 Westcliff Road, Bournemouth BH2 5EX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — West Cliff Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The West Cliff Inn is totally refurbished three-star hotel in Bournemouth. The hotel is situated in the prime west cliff area, within short walking distance to the beach as well as the town centre, shopping and the BIC, which makes it a perfect location both for leisure and business guests. We believe that the strategic position, our decent contemporary style rooms - which is quite a unique feature in the West Cliff area, as well as our friendly and helpful staff, can make your stay as enjoyable and comfortable as you expect. The hotel comprises of 42 en-suite rooms with a wide range of types and sizes to cater for your needs. Our rooms are decorated in a simple contemporary style using soft, neutral tones and attractive fabrics. Each room is equipped with 32" LCD free-view television, central heating, tea/ coffee making facilities, ironing facilities, hair-dryer. You can choose between three types of rooms, depending on the comfort you are looking for:• Our standard rooms are good sized rooms, perfect for couples.• However, if you are just looking for a place to stay overnight or are on a tight budget, you can go for an economy room which is slightly smaller. These are also suitable for single occupancy. We can also offer you a range of rooms depending on how many you are - we have single, double, and family rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your West Cliff Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Cliff Hotel Bournemouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Cliff Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.