We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FAULTLESS..” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bed & Breakfast by the Beach

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bournemouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bed & Breakfast by the Beach
Save
You added Bed & Breakfast by the Beach to your Saves list
7 Burtley Road, Burtley Manor | Southbourne, Bournemouth BH6 4AP, England   |  
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Our rooms in 360 degrees
Ranked #1 of 152 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“FAULTLESS..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We couldn't have had a more perfect stay at Bed & Breakfast by the Beach. Christine & John offer an excellent personal service. Nothing is too much trouble for them - and they immediately make you feel like you're at home.

Im pretty picky when it comes to rooms - but theirs offer so much more than a standard B&B, you feel like your staying at a luxurious boutique hotel. The bedding is lovely, the beds so comfy (i want their memory foam mattress!) and the towels white and fluffy. Everything was spotless, and every facility you could wish for was provided in the room - i also loved the little in rooms touches like the bottled mineral water.

Breakfast was a complete treat - smoothies, waffles and the best scrambled eggs i've had in a long time, all accompanied by the hosts lovely chat.

If your looking for accommodation in the bournemouth area i would look no further - better value, better rooms and better service than anywhere else i've stayed for a long time.

Thanks again for our stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
42
176
11
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed here for one night last weekend on our way to a friends wedding and had an absolutely wonderful stay.

The owners are great hosts; very friendly and helpful and the location is fab, with no more than a five minute walk down to the local beach, which is lovely. The room we stayed in was spacious, clean and comfortable and very peaceful for a great nights sleep. The breakfast was truly delicious - with so much choice from fresh smoothies, home made jams and toast, to a full English.

This B&B is great value for money, especially as we stayed in a very expensive hotel in the New Forest for our second night, which wasnt a patch on this; we'd certainly recommend you to stay here if you're visiting the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Excellent welcome from two great hosts. There was plenty of information and advice on hand to help with your local dining and entertainment experience. The breakfast was very special. Fresh fruit and a hot breakfast cooked individually to your requirements provided an excellent start to the day. Attentive service where nothing was too much trouble. We have travelled to this area many times and only wish we had discovered this place earlier. A great three night stay and we intend to return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

This is the best bed and breakfast I've stayed in - better than most hotels. The welcome is the best - Chris and John are charming and extremely helpful hosts. All the rooms are lovelly and breakfast is absolutely wonderful. We will definitely stay again.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012 via mobile

We have stayed at Chris & John's wonderful B&B several times & I can honestly say this is the best B&B / hotel experience we have ever had! There is always a lovely greeting on arrival & the rooms are all fantastically appointed. Yes we've stayed in them all. Nothing is too much trouble & the breakfasts are out of this world. We have been known to move our holiday dates in order to stay there rather than go to another B&B. Thank you both again for looking after us & we hope to see you very soon.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edenbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We have been visiting Bournemouth for a number of years and stayed in various different hotels and B&B's. Since finding Bed & Breakfast by the Beach last year we have since stayed on four different occasions and it is the only place we will stay in Bournemouth.

Chris and John are the most convivial and kind hosts you could ever wish to meet.

The rooms are lovely and the breakfast is the best we have ever had (including when comparing against five star hotels around the world.)

I cannot recommend this highly enough.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

My wife and i have just returned from a stay here celebrating our Wedding Anniversary and all we can say is we will definitely be coming back. John and Chris were fantastic hosts and made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived on there doorstep.
The room we stayed in was beautifully furnished very clean and had everything you required.
The new conservatory is fab and we really enjoyed the smoothies and my wife especially enjoyed the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs both mornings.
The choice of fresh food is superb
The first evening we wanted to try a local restaurant and John gave us some advice regarding some local ones.
We opted to go to the Larderhouse in Southbourne about 5 mins in a Taxi as the weather was poor , we thoroughly enjoyed the food there.
The only downside of the weekend was the weather that meant we didn't get an opportunity to sit outside and enjoy the lovely garden.
All in all an excellent B&B the best we have stayed in.
Book it!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bed & Breakfast by the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed & Breakfast by the Beach

Address: 7 Burtley Road, Burtley Manor | Southbourne, Bournemouth BH6 4AP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winners of Channel 4 'Four in a bed,' We are superbly situated 200 meters from the beach on a very quiet road. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bed And Breakfast By The Beach
Bed & Breakfast By The Beach Hotel Bournemouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bed & Breakfast by the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.