We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm Welcome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carisbrooke Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Carisbrooke Hotel to your Saves list
Carisbrooke Hotel
42 Tregonwell Road, Bournemouth BH2 5NT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #77 of 151 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Rotherham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Warm Welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

Arrived at the Carisbrooke on Monday 12th September for two nights before our onward journey to Brighton on Wednesday.
We were greeted by both the hoteliers, and what a lovely warm welcome we recieved!
Both of them are are so friendly and welcoming, such a lovely couple!
Our room was nice, big family room on the ground floor (Room 4). There was a double bed,a single bed and ensuite shower room and all the other facilities you would expect to see ie tea making, tv, extra blankets/pillows etc. We were more than happy with our room, it was clean, and comfortable.
The staff are friendly and helpful and polite at all times. Nick the hotel manager was exceptionally helpful and on our first day showed us a map of Bournemouth and where all the attractions are and the restaurants in the area and took the time to speak to us when he saw us and always asked how we were and if we were ok.
The breakfast was lovely, very tastey and cooked to perfection everyday,very consistent, just wished there was a little more of some things as you only got one of everything as it was so nice but thats probably just us being greedy, and would be more than enough for most people!
Didnt see much of the communal areas such as the bar because we went out mostly but the restaurant and what we did see seemed fine, again clean and comfortable.
Had some lovely meals out in some local restaurants on Nicks reccomendations. There are plenty of restaurants within a stones throw away and a shop and pubs.
So, taking all this into consideration we were having a wonderful time when disaster struck and our car decided to break down on us on the second day!
It ended up being the head gasket and was going to have to go into a garage for a few days to be fixed which left us in a bit of a dilemma being that we were suopposed to be leaving in the morning for the two and a half hour trip to Brighton! So as the car was getting towed away Nick asked us what the problem was and immediately suggested that we could continue our stay with them if that is what we decided to do. So amazingly our room happened to be free for the rest of the week and Nick let us stay at a discounted rate for as many nights as we needed with breakfast included! We felt this was very genorous and really helped us out a LOT! Nick and his wife were so helpful in the following days and always so concerned and kind when thay saw us. We were so appreciative of there hospitality.
So we ended up staying at the Carisbrooke for four nights all in all and cancelling our Brighton trip which was dissapointing but at the same time we still ended up having a great time due to the hospitality we were shown at the hotel and dont know what we would have done without it!
We have never written a review of a hotel before as we never felt the need and consider that most of the people that write the reviews are just too eager to whine and complain and put down the places that they stay uneccessarily! But we felt we had to write to show our thanks and appreciation of what a lovely place this is and what a wonderful couple! There dedication is quite something and we couldnt believe how hard they worked. There was ALWAYS one of them avaliable if you needed to ask anything form early morning to late at night (very unusal in our experience of B+B's) and even though they have a very young son who must keep them execptionally busy! All in all, a somewhat unplanned, but wonderful time at The Carisbrooke Hotel. We wish them all the best, and a big 'THANKYOU!' : )

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    40
    20
    3
    1
See reviews for
20
31
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

We had a great time lovely propriorters including samual staff were very nice and made you feel welcome . The rooms were very clean and the breakfast filling, would definatley return and recommend to others to go there.

Room Tip: the rooms were bright,clean, and cheerful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

I booked a last minute deal to spend a few days away with my son before the end of summer. I was a little cautious as i hadnt really had the time to check out the hotel in advance, however it offered free parking and a very short walk to the beach. On arrival the hotel owner Nick welcomed us and asked about our plans. On hearing we were thinking of hiring some bikes he made a few phone calls and sorted out a lovely pair of mountain bikes to use (even letting us use his cellar to store them in) After we had unpacked and about to leave for a wander, Nick appeared with an OS map of some routes around the Purbecks for us.

The room was very comfortable and clean, breakfasts excellent, staff could not do enough for us, the route we chose to cycle on Nicks recommendation was stunning. I shall certainly stay at the Carisbrooke again and would happily advise anyone else to do so.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

I stayed at the Carisbrooke for 3 weeks while working in Bournemouth and I couldn't have wished for a better place to call my home away from home! The couple who manage the hotel, Nick and Emily, are such nice people and warm hosts! The meals were tasty and balanced, the room always clean, the staff friendly and helpful. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

Me and my wife brought our granddaughter (6) to bournmouth for a 2day trip to the seaside we picked this hotel out the many advertised what a gem.The owners were very nice and accomadating.The room was comfortable and clean,the breakfast was very good.The hotel was 5-10 min walk to beach and shops GREAT 2 DAYS.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

Having booked through an Event Company, we were unsure of what to expect. The rooms were clean and tidy but a bit old fashioned but this was okay as it was only somewhere to sleep. The bathrooms leave a lot to be desired, some no bigger than a single wardrobe and the cleanliness was a bit suspect. Upon arrival we received a friendly welcome by a lady with a baby strapped on her chest. The same lady (and baby) served us drinks in the bar later - not quite what you'd expect on a stag do!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBHotel, Owner at Carisbrooke Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2011
Thank you for your feedback. We strive to always maintain high levels of cleanliness throughout the Hotel and many of our guests compliment us on maintaining these high standards (as shown in our other reviews on Tripadvisor). We are therefore sorry if our high standards were not met in your rooms during your stay. We have taken your comments on board and we are redoubling our housekeeping efforts in this respect.

Due to staff shortages and childcare arriving late, there was a short period of time where our son “welcomed” you at the Hotel. We are a family run business and there are times (when it is appropriate) that our son is with us in the Hotel. Most of our guests enjoy meeting the new addition to our family but we understand that babies are not for everyone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

We enjoyed a three night stay at the Carisbrooke, staying in the Tregonwell suite.
Nick, the owner and Jane on reception, were very pleasant and helpful.
Close to the beach and town, with parking outside.
A cooked breakfast and choice of cereals & fruit juices available.
Although not luxury accommodation, our room and the hotel itself were more than adequate for a short break.

Room Tip: Front facing rooms more noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carisbrooke Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carisbrooke Hotel

Address: 42 Tregonwell Road, Bournemouth BH2 5NT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm, friendly hotel superbly located within a short walking distance of the beach, Bournemouth International Centre and the town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Carisbrooke Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carisbrooke Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.