We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wifes 50th Birthday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spyglass and Kettle

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Spyglass and Kettle to your Saves list
Spyglass and Kettle
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   25-27 Stourwood Av, Dorset, BH6 3PW, Bournemouth BH6 3PW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #127 of 151 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wifes 50th Birthday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

excellent help andadvice on all aspects of the celebration.staff most helpful and accomodating in planning and during the party. chefs food was great and deliverd hot and with great speed to table for 50 plus guests. in all could not have wished for better, well done!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    12
    21
    13
    22
See reviews for
26
26
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clarksburg, West Virginia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

Arrived tired after travelling from the US. First impression was a little tired and dated, but once in the room plenty of room for two people, beds very comfortable, staff very friendly and attentive, and breakfast was great. Staying 5 nights, and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

My sister recently had her 50th birthday party at this venue. The atmosphere was pleasant and the staff very kind and helpful. They went the extra mile in providing decorations and making sure that all was in order. Family and friends provided enterainment (singing/African drumming) and we used a sound system that was easily accomodated at one end of the room. The garden was also used by us which was pleasant and easily accessible. Lots of room set aside for the celebration and plenty of seating for all the guests. The relaxed atmosphere reminded me of going for a good night out at a local pub, some twenty years ago - in fact I think I did go here twenty years ago!! Would definitely recommend for a birthday celebration or similar and it's so nice to see good service. Well done

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

New menu but small portions, one plate of food the chips were cold, left quite a lot of food, muddle with one order, run out of tomatoe ketchup.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

We were down for a football game, after a long journey they let us check in early and put our stuff in the room. We stayed for a drink then headed off. After the game we headed back for some food and drink. The mixed grill was really good and the atmosphere of the place is a great one to be in. The room was comfy and with fantastic views of the sea. The free breakfast the next morning was a very welcome sight. Will stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
265 reviews 265 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
399 helpful votes 399 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

after reading the negative comments, i was little bit shocked, as luckily we didn't have any nasty experiences. the food wasn't exceptional, but you get what you pay for, it is a pub!
the staff was polite and the service was quick. not sure on the smell in the pub though...

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

We were in the area to watch a band at another venue and were reccomended to stay at the Spyglass and Kettle as a budget accomodation. I think things must have changed sinced the reviews I've read on here. The food was prompt, tasty and great value. Yeh the room was a little tired but very clean and comfortable and the staff went out of their way to make us welcome. Breakfast was great too. And the room rate? Don't think you'll find cheaper locally. We spend lots of weekends away watching bands and have already decided that we'll be going back soon for two nights to watch their own live music. I learnt a long time ago, don't believe every review you read, you could just miss a gem. A lot of effort is being put in by the very pleasant Sam and all her team. Great customer service. Thanks for making us so welcome.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Spyglass and Kettle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spyglass and Kettle

Address: 25-27 Stourwood Av, Dorset, BH6 3PW, Bournemouth BH6 3PW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #127 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Spyglass and Kettle 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Venere so you can book your Spyglass and Kettle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spyglass And Kettle Hotel Bournemouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spyglass and Kettle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.