We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunchtime stop” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Vesuvio

Vesuvio
Alum Chine, Bournemouth, England
01202 759100
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #267 of 556 Restaurants in Bournemouth
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Fareham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Lunchtime stop”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

My friend had spaghetti and I had the cod with Mediterranean vegetables. We had cheesecake for desert, a glass of wine each and cappuccinos. The bill came to £45. The view is fantastic being right on the beach. The staff were friendly and service was good.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    103
    55
    42
    66
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Appalling service & appalling attitudes”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

My children ordered ice creams and were made to wait over an hour. Staff did not acknowledge my dissatisfaction in this and I got no eye contact from manager, he simply walked off, came back with a revised bill saying ''ive taken the ice ceams off, now pay this!'' No apology, no liaison with waitress concerned, no CARE. Waitress gave me a filthy look as I exited and I was made to feel like I was the one at fault! Disgusting all round.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“So much potential”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Considering the prime location you'd think that this place would nail their customer service and menu..... But sadly not.

There was no warm hospitality when we went in, the owner was rude to my guest and we had to approach a member of staff to take our order after waiting a while at our table. I could understand if the place was busy, but it was not!

Being next to the children's park I would have thought that the restaurant staff would be welcoming of customers with children. The kids meal came out really hot and looked very dry, there were no childrens drinks available either.

There was no discussion with the waitress about the menu; what was available to order on the lunch menu.

This place has so much potential and could be very versatile with the service they offer to their mixed customer base. But sad to say it's another typical Bournemouth venue that's happy to take the money.... As long as there's people spending their money there, there's no incentive on improving their products and customer service.

Some of the younger members of staff are hospitable, shame the owners/managers aren't leading by example

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Appalling service and attitude”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Oh where to start with this experience - firstly no record of the table being booked but we still get a table so all is good.
Once sat at the table have to wait at least 15 minutes for our drinks order to be taken so quickly decide to order meal while we have their attention. Starters ok but not sure how they expected soup to be eaten with a knife and fork.
Main course arrives and gets promptly sent back as the steak was not cooked as requested - very apologetic Assistant Manager and Manager come over to say sorry and new steak will be cooked straight away - slight blip but feel like it could still be a good night - spoke too soon and got that wrong.
New steak arrives and still not cooked as requested - now comes the change in attitude from the Management - get told its because we've come on a Saturday and we should try a Monday if we want the meal as requested. Then get told by the 'Assistant Manager' that the steak looks fine ( asked for medium rare and this was well done) and why don't I order something else that's not steak as I won't be happy whatever they do - great service so we ask to see the Manager and have the bill as we don't fancy staying any longer. The bill very promptly arrives but the Manager now seems to be trying to find anything to do apart from coming to speak to unhappy customers.
Have been charged for wine that we've barely touched as we would have liked to drink this with the meal and get told it's staying on the bill and we can just take it with us - the 'Assistant Manager' again displaying some more of his customer service skills.
Ask to see the Manager again and get told again that he's busy ( we can still see him standing around) and then get the bill snatched up and it's now on the house - thanks for that - some soup and 3 prawns - cracking Saturday night meal.
So if you want the worst service I've ever experienced and a complete disregard for anything 'customer' here's the place to go.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Shambolic service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

We've been to Vesuvio several times, so let's give the good stuff first: great location, good food, (usually) friendly staff...but, oh, the service...it is truly the most Shambolic place I have ever come across.

Normally, we put up with it, as it never seems bad enough to complain about - and, hey, it's an Italian place, on the beach, so it's always good to linger.

But the last two visits have been terrible - and the most recent was appalling. It took half-an-hour to get our first drink (we ordered the food at the same time, as we could see how it was going to be), then another 20 minutes to get our starters (bread and olives, not exactly a gourmet request).

Our main courses eventually arrived after an hour and a quarter; cutlery then took another five minutes to be delivered, and the Parmesan (promised for the bolognese) never came at all. After finishing - there's no way we were going to order dessert - we had to go to the bar to pay, as we were ignored three times when we asked for the bill.

Throughout this whole pantomime, the poor serving staff never stopped - we saw our "waiter" running around inside, outside, in the conservatory; but not once did he return to our table - we had to grab other staff as they rushed past.

There seems to be a total lack of organisation by the management - most restaurants allocate staff to specific areas, and get them to fill in as necessary. But at Vesuvio, it appears to be a free-for-all, with no control, and certainly no idea about where customers are sitting, what they've ordered, or how long they've been waiting.

Sorry, Vesuvio, we've given you enough chances - we'll be trying out the competition in future.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vesuvio also viewed

 
Bournemouth, Dorset
 

Been to Vesuvio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vesuvio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.