We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous setting, great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vesuvio

Vesuvio
Alum Chine, Bournemouth, England
01202 759100
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #248 of 521 restaurants in Bournemouth
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Hove, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Fabulous setting, great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Came to spend a weekend with friends and she booked this restaurant. Such a same this weekend had bad weather as the setting for this restaurant is fabulous. Right on the sandy beach.
The food here is unbelievably good. I had mussels to start (the best ever!) and prawn with peas, Green beans and spaghetti instead on penne (delicious). Every one of us had a superb meal. The staff were also great, not pushy and very polite. Shame I can't move this restaurant nearer to where I live in Brighton. Thankfully I go to Bournemouth a few times a year so I will definitely be coming here again and again....Hope the sun shines next time...

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

57% Recommend
    84
    79
    41
    37
    48
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Burnham-on-sea, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Perfect location for seaside dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed an Italian meal at Vesuvios with its fantastic location right on the beach at Alum Chine, Bournemouth. The restaurant makes the most of its location with a glass frontage to make the most of its views of the beach and sea. The menu has all of the typical pizza and pasta fare that you would expect at standard prices (£10<) with a good range of starters and some more expensive a la carte meat and chicken dishes. We went for the pizza and pasta options and enjoyed the food. Deserts were good too and well presented. They do get busy at weekends so, if you want to eat there on a Saturday night, don't leave it until Saturday to book in the summer. We had a baby in a push chair and they had plenty of room for this and also offered high chairs. Older kids can enjoy an outdoor play area built onto the back of the restaurant and the Alum Chine car park is just one minute walk away.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great location and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

This restaurant is perfect; it has a lovely location by the sea at Alum Chine.

It feels quite up market but the prices are very reasonable, the staff were very helpful and the food was top quality, authentic Italian.

We really enjoyed eating here and would thoroughly recommend it.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verwood, Dorset
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great restaurant - a favourite, but not the 5/5 it used to be (more of a 4.5/5)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I was quite torn with what to say when reviewing Vesuvio. I've been several times before and found it to be top notch, but this last time was a little disappointing.

Ok - firstly, the positives:
- You really can't beat the location, seafront - perfect
- The food always tastes really good, really rich and tangy
- The service remains excellent - attentive and professional
- It is a true dining experience

This should be a 5/5..

The negatives from our latest visit:
- Arrived 8.20 (8.30 booking - earliest they had), didn't actually get our food until gone 9.30. This was a Saturday night, so it was busy, but we had an elderly relative with us and an hour to wait for any food isn't good enough.
- The dessert that I always look forward to has been on a diet.. What used to be a real crescendo to the meal (banana / ice-cream dish) has been cut down at the same price. I can only liken it to being given an instant coffee when you ordered filtered, instant is fine, but not what you really looked forward to..

Moaning over. Both my guests loved their meals, so we'll go again, I just wont bother with dessert.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Stunning views, excellent location and deliciously fresh food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

The combination of the location (almost directly on the sea) with the views (from the Isle of Wight to Studland and Poole), and the fresh ingredients make this restaurant a 'never-disappoint' recipe.
The waiters are very attentive and professional, unless the place is full when there may be a little bit of a delay in service sometimes. The maître D is almost always visible, chatting to customers, and directing resources where needed.
When the weather permits a stroll on the beach along the paved road is the icing on the cake.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vesuvio also viewed

 
Bournemouth, Dorset
Bournemouth, Dorset
 

Been to Vesuvio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vesuvio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.