We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant and unconventional Premier Inn” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Bournemouth Central

Save Saved
You added Premier Inn Bournemouth Central to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Premier Inn Bournemouth Central
Westover Road, Bournemouth BH1 2BZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 71 hotels in Bournemouth
Dorchester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Brilliant and unconventional Premier Inn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I love the fact that this hotel appears luxurious and upmarket whilst still retaining the low prices and good value of the usual Premier Inn. Each room is provided with a card informing guests that although it is a Premier Inn, the aim was to maintain the features of the previous hotel, which are fantastic! The rooms are slightly bigger than a usual Premier Inn room and have lovely decor; the wallpaper, bedhead, wardrobe, etc. are all very modern. I'm not going to lie, the hotel doesn't look up to much from the outside but once you step inside it's totally different. Some rooms have balconies but unfortunately we were on the side of the building that didn't have them. If you're lucky you'll get a room with a sea view. We were in room 216 and just about had a sea view, and a rather prominent view of the Pavilion car park also. You may want to take some blu-tac with you as the curtains in our room had a substantial gap down either side and as the hotel's on a busy street, lots of light pours in and this kept us awake on the first night. One thing I wasn't overly keen on was the lack of privacy you get in the bathroom. The door to the bathroom is a glass door, but it is translucent so you can see silhouettes through it and there is about an inch gap at the top and bottom. Also, there is no lock or even catch on the door so you just have to pull it shut and hope it stays there. One more thing I found was that each night I was kept awake by a whirring noise which almost sounded like a washing machine. This may have just been the heating in the room above/below/next door and my boyfriend said he didn't notice it so I think it just depends how astute you are to things like that. Apart from that our room was absolutely lovely and for £68 for 2 nights you can't go wrong. The hotel is so close to everything, the centre, the BIC, the seafront, and you'll never get bored or go hungry with the amount of attractions and restaurants around. The hotel is also literally just doors away from an Odeon cinema which comes in handy for late night showings! We will definitely stay here again one day.

Room Tip: The higher up the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,205 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    784
    320
    59
    26
    16
See reviews for
360
498
40
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Camberley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We had a great stay in this amazing hotel. We had dinner in the restaurant and had drinks in the bar. We did have a problem when a group of men arrived on a stag night. We were moved immediately into another room. They even bought the keys up to our room and helped us move.
Great location for the centre as well.

Room Tip: Our room was fine. A sea view is always great though. I expect everyone asks for one of those, so th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Spend 3 nights over Xmas period in this hotel. Was surprised by the beautiful huge rooms and decor. Wonderful bedding and pillows provided and housekeeping was good. Didn't expect housekeeping on Xmas day and want to thank the staff working that day. Xmas day we had the wonderful breakfast at the hotel and although expensive there was a wide range of options to choose from. Xmas evening we were all dressed to have dinner at the restaurant and got to CLOSED doors. No mention was made at check in or at morning's breakfast that the restaurant would be closed xmas evening. The second day our room was not serviced and the afternoon while taking a nap we got letter through the door that it would be serviced later the evening which would have been inconvenient. Third evening took the voucher for free starter to the restaurant and first staff member said it can't be used at this restaurant. That was the reason we had dinner there. Fortunately another staff member came past, as he heard us talk about the voucher and took it up with first staff member and said they would take the voucher.
The expensive parking that costs additional is also something to take into consideration.
A few inconveniences but all in all a wonderful stay at the hotel, reading books and relaxing and walking to the beach and through the gardens and back.
Need to be able to book a seaview room when making the booking. Never sure what room you can get makes it a bit of a gamble.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRISTOL
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We have just returned from another excellent stay in this lovely hotel.
We had booked 5 rooms and all rooms had either a balcony or were front facing with sea views all for £29 per room..You will find it difficult to find better value than that......
Its position is perfect for the beach or town.
All the staff in reception,cleaning and the restaurant were very nice and polite..

We cant wait to go back again.......

Only one very small problem in some of the rooms the lamp shades and stands need replacing due to wear tear and breakage...and the parking charge at £8.40 per day is a bit excessive but when you are only paying only £29 for the room you cant really complain.

All in all you wont get better for the price

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed at this hotel whilst attending an event at the BIC. It is in a great location for the BIC, town centre and the beach. Staff were very polite and attentive on check in. The room was very spacious and clean and we had a great night's sleep on the comfortable bed. The bathroom was a decent size and again very clean. We used the car park at the back of the hotel which was very convenient. If we ever stay in Bournemouth again we would definitely stay here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Staff at the Bournemouth Premier Inn were not able to confirm that we had pain for breakfast.
Spent some time proving we had paid. Howver the reception staff in question went into PC plod mode and we very nearly booked out.
When they were eventually presented with theiir own receipt(it appearsthat the receptionist did not understand this document) they relented but did not apologise.

I suppose you get what you pay for.
Breakfast is very poor in quality and one would be better off popping out for breakfast. At leasy one would get it fresh. The coffee was apalling.

Room Tip: Price on price go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warlingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This is our second stay at this hotel and with a family room this time we got a balcony and sea view overlooking the pier from room 606.This was a new year/birthday break and was such exceptional value for money we will be returning again sometime in the summer.The staff are polite,helpful and always happy.The restaurant serves great breakfasts and dinners ( the meal deal is a brilliant way to get buffet breakfast and a three course evening meal for £23) and the location is second to none,overlooking the sea and a five minute walk from great restaurants and shops.Thank you Premier Inn Bournemouth Central for a great start to 2013,drinks on our balcony overlooking the beach watching fireworks was a good way to see in the new year.WE WILL BE BACK!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Premier Inn Bournemouth Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Bournemouth Central

Address: Westover Road, Bournemouth BH1 2BZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#7 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#7 Best Value Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This magnificent art deco hotel is a stone's throw away from the sea front. Local to major transport links (road, rail, bus and air). Walking distance to: 7 miles of award-winning beaches, Bournemouth town centre, Pavilion, Pier, B.I.C, Gardens and great night life.Our Bournemouth Central Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an integrated restaurant serving a mix of traditional and contemporary dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Premier Inn Bournemouth Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Bournemouth Central Hotel Bournemouth
Bournemouth Premier Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Bournemouth Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.