We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amaretto

Amaretto
272 Christchurch Road | Lansdowne Roundabout, Bournemouth BH1 1PH, England
+44 1202 317007
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #133 of 522 restaurants in Bournemouth
Price range: $10 - $43
Cuisines: Italian, Steakhouse, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Amaretto is an upscale dining restaurant in the heart of Bournemouth town in Dorset. We specialize in modern Italian cuisine encompassing characteristics of various regions of Mediterranean, our menu represents more than authentic Italian menu, and it embraces the true Mediterranean lifestyle, such as Italy, France, Greece and Turkey. We bring a touch of casual elegance to Bournemouth, with classic and contemporary decor complimented by a comfortable ambiance. Amaretto’s menu features the authentic, traditional specialties of old Italian food as well as new Mediterranean fusion dishes including pastas, steaks, chops, chicken, beef, fish and other seafood dishes. Our chef creates menus very much inspired by all regions of Mediterranean, which make full use of all the excellent produce the Bournemouth town has to offer. Delicious Minestrone soup, freshly caught local fish, excellent sauces and home-made desserts, the restaurant‘s use of carefully aged beef has earned it the compliment of being said to serve the best steaks on the town. Enjoy our freshly baked garlic bread and more, desserts are made on the premises and there’s a good selection of coffees.All menu items are available for take-out, and our Special Party menu offers generous family-sized meals for your next family gathering, birthday party, School party, Hen-Stag party or office party. Amaretto restaurant is a hot spot for both locals and tourists.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Very friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Not rushed, good service, good price. My chicken was fairly dry but everything else was very good. Easy to find we walked from the Mayfair Hotel

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amaretto_restaurant, Owner at Amaretto, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Punkwatts

Thank you very much for your kind feedback. It is very rewarding for us when our guests enjoy our food and service. I'm really sorry you had the experience with the chicken dish that it was a little dry. I will definitely pass on your comment to our Chef and his team as they have a daily meeting and review each comment. Your support is greatly appreciated.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Amaretto restaurant in the near future. Please contact me directly via e-mail when you return, I will make sure we serve you the best chicken dish in your taste.

Warmest Regards,
Anna (Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

74% Recommend
    24
    27
    7
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Walton, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Stunning experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

I really dont know how this place can have any negative reviews! Service,staff and food all top drawer especially the mussells...best i've had in years. 4 x starters...4 x mains...4 bottles of wine.....£140 so bloody good value too. 5 stars from me.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amaretto_restaurant, Manager at Amaretto, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear WaltonPhil

Thank you for taking the time to review Amaretto Restaurant and very pleased to read that you make a point of negative reviews. The mussels are very popular with a lot of our customers so you will always find them on our menu. We pride ourselves on sourcing the freshly caught local fish everyday we can, meats from good local farmers, and some vegetables from our own garden.
It is very rewarding for us when our guests enjoy our food, I will pass on your compliments to our Chef Zek; he is indeed a good Chef and professional.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Warmest Regards,
Anna (Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“excellent food, great staff, great time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I eat at Amaretto regularly and find it such a great, special place. Went last Wednesday with my wife and had 2 mains in the restaurant on the 2 for 1 offer, The food is amazing, plus it's all reasonably priced, the portion sizes are always generous, Have even purchased a voucher for our next visit. We're returning with our friends on the 23th March for dinner. I would definitely recommend this restaurant, great location, good quality of food

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amaretto_restaurant, Manager at Amaretto, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Peter

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review for our restaurant and your lovely comments about food, staff and the ambiance

I am also glad you liked our voucher offer; your feedback is greatly appreciated.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Amaretto restaurant in the not too distant future.

Warmest regards,

Anna (Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“long wait not worth it”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

we dropped by last night as had tables available and looked ok. There was no atmosphere and soon it became clear that everyone was moaning about the speed of service and a couple of people walked out. Had finished the drinks by the time the olives came that I asked for so had more drinks! 40 minutes to get mushroom and calamari starters which were OK but calamari was out of a bag, then 1hr 10 mins to get 2 pizas which were not home made. One was supposed to be mediteranian vegetable but came out hawaian - couldn't face waiting for another and not vegetarian so ate it anyway. Promissed so much on looks ans setting but needs a revamp andsome energy in there - one for Gordon Ramsey me thinks.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amaretto_restaurant, Manager at Amaretto, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Peteo1970
Regarding the slow service last night have certainly been taken on board and addressed with our members of staff, to ensure not only the satisfaction of our guests but ourselves.
Please accept our sincere apologies for the delay with your food order and your entire wait last night when the restaurant was clearly unexpectedly very busy.
Firstly, this was primarily down to a new chef covering for sick leave who was a little unfamiliar with our menu and, unfortunately, this did impact on the food timings. Our regular chef is returning soon so these issues should not arise again.
Once again, we know, NO EXCUSES, so we would like to win you back!! Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience experienced during your visit. The standard of service you described is not indicative of the normal standards we strive to deliver and indeed this lapse has been addressed.
Please be assured that we are continuously striving to offer excellent service to our customers and we always take on board any comments and reviews to identify areas that need improving. If I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me directly Anna at Amaretto Restaurant.
Once again, my apologies and thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milton keynes
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Oh No”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

we dinned hear and would not recommend this place , the service was slow and the food was sub standerd and to make it worse its not good value

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amaretto_restaurant, Manager at Amaretto, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear pennypopMiltonKeynes

Please accept my sincere apologies for your dissatisfaction with your dining experience.

Quality food and service is main mission of our operations to each quest, and we adhere to high standards at Amaretto. We do, therefore, take your complaint very seriously and apologize for our poor execution. We have certainly taken them to board and have also taken the necessary steps to avoid them from happening in the future.

We always strive to provide a memorable experience to all our guests with great cuisine, service and ambiance.
We apologize for falling short of the mark with you; however we would like to win you back!!

I would welcome the opportunity to discuss the problems you described with your dining experience in more detail, so please contact Anna, Amaretto Restaurant Manager, directly at the restaurant.

Once again, my apologies and thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amaretto also viewed

Bournemouth, Dorset
Bournemouth, Dorset
 

Been to Amaretto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amaretto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.