We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As lovely this year as it was last year!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Lodge Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Beach Lodge Guest House to your Saves list
Beach Lodge Guest House
61 Grand Avenue | Southbourne, Bournemouth BH6 3TA, England   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Special Offer
Ranked #4 of 151 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Nottingham
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“As lovely this year as it was last year!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We spent four nights at Beach Lodge last week and had a wonderful, happy time throughout. My husband, our teenage children and I love this place and, also, the owners! It is spotlessly clean and the breakfasts are delicious. It takes fewer than five minutes to walk to the zig-zag path to the beach at Southbourne. There is also a cliff lift if you are heavily laden or not very mobile. There is a long parade of shops within a few minutes of walking inland from the B&B. The beach and sea are clean: I swallowed a lot of sea water with no ill effects.There are also plenty of places nearby if you are looking for an evening meal. We have stayed at beach Lodge for two consecutive years and most certainly hope to return!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachlodge, Owner at Beach Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear JB and family
It was really lovely to see you all again and we are so pleased you enjoyed it as much as last year. Thank you for taking the time to write us another TripAdvisor review, its very much appreciated. We look forward to (hopefully) seeing you again next year.
Kind Regards
Martin and Faith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
52
65
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Beach Lodge for two nights, whilst we were in Bournemouth for a wedding. From the minute we walked in we were very well looked after, with tea, cake and biscuits - and this continued all through our stay. Breakfast was fab. Spotlessly clean room. Personal touches everywhere. Martin and Faith are very warm hosts. We will be back! Celine and Theo x

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachlodge, Owner at Beach Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear Celine
Thank you for your glowing review, we really appreciate it! It was great to meet you after meeting your parents last year. Glad you enjoyed the cakes and we are very pleased to hear you will be back!
Kind Regards
Martin and Faith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

....... that this is an exceptionally well run b&b in an ideal location. (And each stayed on separate occasions. So no collusion!) Each arrival has been met with an enthusiastic welcome and has continued with a willingness to provide for the wellbeing of guests. "Off piste" requests have been met with efficiency from the easygoing hosts who are clearly well organised and are also happy to pass on the experiences of others with regards to local attractions and dining in the area. The houses in Grand Avenue are grand and this is one of the grandest! Rooms are fastidiously maintained and a rolling programme of updating ensures that facilities meet expectations. Oh, and the Blue Flag beach of Southbourne is literally a couple of minutes away.
So it looks like that's a recommendation then!

Room Tip: Front rooms for sea view and sun in the mornings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachlodge, Owner at Beach Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Thank you LHR2MAN for writing us such an eloquent Tripadvisor review, we certainly do appreciate it! It has been an absolute pleasure to have you and your mother and then you and your wife stay with us over the past few weeks. We hope to see you at Beach Lodge again soon but in the meantime have a fantastic holiday.
Thanks again
Martin and Faith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

We booked out the whole B&B for my parents 60th Wedding anniversary - stayed for 4 nights. Fantastic B&B - Faith and Martin know how to serve without being intrusive - spotless rooms, lovely breakfasts and great location. Faith and Martin were flexible to our needs and provided great local advice over breakfast. Would definitely stay again if in the area. Thanks for making our parents 60th one to remember!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachlodge, Owner at Beach Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear Mike
Thank you for writing us a 5 star Tripadvisor review. We really enjoyed having your family group take over the whole of Beach Lodge, it was great to see all of you enjoying the house and the local area. We are so pleased you loved it and maybe we will see you again one day when you are over from Australia.
Cheers
Martin and faith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highworth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We stayed for 4 nights as a group of 11 family members celebrating our parent's Diamond Wedding Anniversary. Having the whole place to ourselves was lovely. Faith and Martin are the perfect hosts. Our rooms were spotlessly clean and extremely comfortable and we cannot think of anything that could have made them any better. Breakfast was amazing! The location was great, with places to eat and drink within a short walk which our parents could manage easily despite their mobility issues.
We will definitely be back, I have been looking at the weekend of the Airshow but not surprisingly you are fully booked. I will make a note for next year as I could not bear to come to Bournemouth and not stay at Beach Lodge - sure to be disappointed with anywhere else.
Keep up the good work, your obvious devotion to this place is going to keep your bookings book very busy for years to come!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachlodge, Owner at Beach Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear LouLuker
We really enjoyed having all of you stay at Beach Lodge for your parents Diamond Wedding Anniversary last weekend, it was just so calm and relaxed and all of your family are so nice! It's great to know that you all enjoyed it too and we hope to see you all again soon!
Thanks again
Martin and Faith :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We stayed at the B&B for 7 days and had an excellent experience as always!. Martin and Faith are very welcoming and goes an extra mile to ensure that we are made at home. The room we stayed in was spotless. Every morning we had a wonderful breakfast, our son still talks about the best hot chocolate, pancake and wonderful cakes that he had !.

There is also a wonderful shopping area where you can try out a variety of food! Most of all the quiet sandy beach is only 2 mins away.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachlodge, Owner at Beach Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Nimsai
It was great to have you and the kids stay for a week again this year. We were so pleased the weather was perfect for you again this year too.
Thank you for writing us an Excellent Tripadvisor review, it is very much appreciated and we hope to see you all again next year!
Kind Regards
Martin and Faith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

This Guesthouse is brilliant and I wholeheartedly agree with all the previous comments but here comes the Victor Meldrew in me. Had a stroke 2 years ago which left me with slight balance and stair-climbing problems and I am also over 70 and am 6'3" and weigh over 18 stone.I suppose I should have made the necessary enquiries at the time of booking but didn't but I would recommend that anyone with any similarities to mine ask before booking anywhere...I certainly will next time.We were booked into Rowan which is a room in the converted attic up two flights of stairs each with 3 turns and which was basically inadequate due to a sloping ceiling,the "wardrobe" could not even take a jacket of mine without it being bent ,and the gap between the loo and the door in front of it not really sufficient for someone of my height.This room is definitely not geared up to having six footers in it and it is on the small size but if you are happy staying in this room you will find it very clean and the daily cakes are scrummy!
Sorry to rain on the parade and I thought long and hard before writing this but I would hate it for anyone else to be as disappointed as I was.
Turn right out of Beach Lodge to the cliff road and on turning right you will find the Commodore pub and if you turn left you will find the Spyglass & Kettle and this is one we chose to have our evening meals...good value for money.

On a much brighter note,apart from the above comments about the room, this place is ideally placed for the beach (zig zag path or lift) and there is adequate parking. Martin & Faith are fabulous people and they could not have done any more to make us all very welcome, the choices at breakfast were superb and they are child-friendly...our 3 yr. old grandson had a ball and we will certainly re-book (but not in Rowan) if Martin & Faith will have us .

Room Tip: I only rated "Rooms" based on Rowan...the other room we booked on the first floor was fine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachlodge, Owner at Beach Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear psjdeqtg (or is it Victor M?)
Thank you for writing us a very good Tripadvisor review. It was unfortunate that you were booked into one of our smaller double rooms on the second floor given your above average size and health issues. Had we known at the time of booking we would have suggested that you book one of our superior double rooms on the 1st floor with more space and high ceilings. Also, had there been a more suitable room available when you arrived we would have happily moved you but unfortunately there were no rooms free. It is one more lesson we have learned and we have updated our room descriptions for Rowan and Wych Elm to state they have sloped ceilings.

It was lovely to meet you and your family. Your wife, daughter and grandson were great fun and seemed so happy all the time, it was great to have them around - and you were very pleasant too! :-)

Thank you for the 'Thank You' card that arrived in the post this morning, that is very kind. And yes we would love to see you all again soon.

Kind Regards
Martin and Faith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beach Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Lodge Guest House

Address: 61 Grand Avenue | Southbourne, Bournemouth BH6 3TA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At our guest house you are assured of a friendly welcome, its family run, well decorated, comfortably furnished, clean bedrooms all with en-suites, white towels, hospitality trays, toiletries, hairdryers, Free Wi-Fi and Freeview colour LCD TVs. We have an excellent choice of an English breakfast freshly cooked to order and/or a Continental, free parking with public transport close by. We are less than five minutes walk from Southbourne's Blue Flag Beaches, shops, pubs, cafes and cliff top walks; from Beach Lodge you can explore the New Forest and Jurassic Coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Beach Lodge Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach Lodge Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.