We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful relaxing stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Great Court Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Totnes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Great Court Farm
Save
You added Great Court Farm to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Weston Lane, Totnes TQ9 6LB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 23 Totnes B&B and Inns
Essex uk
1 review
“wonderful relaxing stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I stayed on this farm for bed and breakfast - the room was very clean and comfortable The views I had over Totnes and the fields were great.
The food was very well presented and cooked to perfection, with plenty of it.
I was welcomed at the start - and felt very comfortable all through the stay. I would go there again, and would recommend this place, to all.

Room Tip: I had the room overlooking the fields at the front of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgedevon, Owner at Great Court Farm, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments. I am glad you had a nice relaxing break. It was a delight to have you to stay, and I hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    1
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
21
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

From the 1st time we stayed until our most recent stay in September this year the consistency, quality and personal attention has always been excellent. Why else would we keep going back to stay with Mrs Hooper.The facilities have always been as advised and we have always had genuine personal welcome and felt able to come and go as and when we wished. We have stayed in farmhouse B & B's in Britain over many visits and when visiting Devon, Great Court Farm has and will always be our stay of preference. Great Court Farm is quite obviously a working farm and that should and does, in our opinion, enhance it's desirability.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgedevon, Owner at Great Court Farm, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. Your comments are much appreciated.
I always enjoy your visit and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We have just spent a very enjoyable week at Great Court Farm. We have stayed many times and always find the friendly personal attention from Janet most acceptable, but not intrusive. Nothing is too much trouble. The private bathrooms are very close to the respective bedrooms and therefore do not present a problem. The breakfasts are second to none, with something for everyone. We will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgedevon, Owner at Great Court Farm, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for the review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and I certainly enjoy looking after you. Look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We have just spent our 2nd visit this year at Greatcourt Farm B and B, The experience was a delight from begiinning to end. . Breakfast menu was extremely varied and perfect in every way, served up by Janet who is the perfect cook and hostess. Accomodation at Great Court Farm is brilliant with large bedroom with all facilities and adjoining large bathroom together with a walk in shower for those who prefer showers. The whole experiece felt like home from home, We were able to walk to Totnes and go on a boat trip to Dartmouth for the day and return via Steamtrain back to Paignton and then bus back to Totnes. Unfortnately for us the week at Great Court Farm went far too quickly. Nevermind we shall be back without fail next year!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgedevon, Owner at Great Court Farm, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review which is much appreciated. It was a pleasure to look after you and I look forward to your visit next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We have enjoyed our stays with Janet. She is quite attentive to your needs and yet, gives you the space to do your own thing. We also like being able to choose from a simple breakfast or a full cooked breakfast. The rooms are big and you have your own bathrooms. A must with children. One can walk into town from the farm which suits our needs.
We have always enjoyed staying at Great Court Farm

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgedevon, Owner at Great Court Farm, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It was so nice to see you all again, and I am glad you enjoyed your stay. It was certainly a pleasure to look after you. Hope to see you again in the future when you visit England,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

fantastic breakfast, loved the pinapple and bluberries with a slight kick in the juice.
although said en-suite the actual bathroom was on landing outside door, luckerly my parents was
on the same landing but big bathroom. bedroom large and comfortable and well equiped.
accomodation although fantastic there was,nt a lot of privacy could have done with seperate
door for guests as entrance was very open as hosts accomodation was very open,as it was a farmhouse needed to be a little bit seperated from the b&b side of things.to much of an open plan.
host very regimental waiting for us to come back at night which wasn,t late. felt restricted which made us uneasy at all times.its a shame as views were fantastic.

Room Tip: front rooms have good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgedevon, Owner at Great Court Farm, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you for the review and I am glad you enjoyed the breakfasts and my spacious rooms. Guests do have their own seperate door to the property, with keys to come and go as they like.The website and adverts, plus I explain to everyone before booking that the twin room has an ensuite toilet and basin, and that the Private bath/shower room is seperate.
This is a very large house and definitly not open plan, so to avoid guests looking for me I usually see them to make sure they have everything they need before retiring to their rooms for example fresh or,hot milk for night time drinks, freezer blocks to be put into the freezer and as I provide an exstensive menu for breakfast I take their order. I like to provide a friendly personal service and am so sorry that my good intentions were misunderstood.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidcup, Kent
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Lovely working Victorian Devon farmhouse B&B ! Where to start? On arrival a Victoria Sandwich the WI would kill for - proper tea in a teapot (no teabags, oh no!) and Janet! Well, a thoroughly warm welcome, a very traditional bedroom with tea, coffee and biscuits (big hit with an 11 and 46 year old!). The private bathroom was huge and the power shower was wonderful. Breakfast - you were spoilt for choice and special requests were no problem. Advice on places to go was wonderful and impartial. The farmhouse was spotless and nothing was too much trouble. Janet may have been in the B&B buisness for over 30 years but you felt as if you were staying with a friend. One small point of note is the homemade Granola - it is amazing and highly addictive, you'll be going back for seconds !!! We are hoping to go back next year and think that Great Court Farm (and Janet) are great for anyone who wants to go to a friendly, clean, proper farmhouse holiday in Devon!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgedevon, Owner at Great Court Farm, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you for writing a review and I am so glad you enjoyed your stay. I certainly enjoyed meeting you and look forward to seeing you all again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Great Court Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Court Farm

Address: Weston Lane, Totnes TQ9 6LB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Totnes
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Totnes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Great Court Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Great Court Farm Totnes, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great Court Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.